We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful - We NEED to go again!!”
Review of Purnell's

Purnell's
Ranked #5 of 2,207 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Ladywood
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Just wonderful - We NEED to go again!!”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

What a perfect night.

First time here and I know it won't be our last. I won't bore you with the details but we ate off the brand new 12 course taster menu which was amazing along with the wine flight.

The atmosphere was great - the staff so engaging and interesting to chat with. Glynn has an honest hard working team who are 'normal' folk which I loved.

See you 2014 fingers crossed and thank you !

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pootle7473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,121
    175
    87
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Magical Experiences”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This is my favorite fine dining restaurant in the Midlands and it would make waves in London. Purnells cooking is clever, precise and fun. His take on cheese and pineapple is magical! Staff are friendly and efficient. His cooking has been super consistant over the years and every time has been a wonderful experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EdiWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

An amazing experience, I want to go back. Mr Purnell came out after service and wished my husband a happy birthday. The food was fantastic and the staff were very attentive without being obtrusive. Thank you making a special birthday even more so.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janeroliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A proper treat!”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Having been three times, now is the time to review this place.
We always have a great time here and really enjoy the whole experience. The Purnell Tour taster menu has remained pretty much the same over all of our visits BUT the same dishes were served differently each time making for a new experience to remember. The staff are very welcoming and friendly, although you won't be offered another drink when they remove your empty glass, even when you're on course 2! I questioned this and apparently they do not wish to be pushy on sales (especially alcohol). As long as you're aware, you know to ask for another!
The food is fabulous!!! Some people have said the portions are small, but if you're eating 8-9 courses they are spot on! We have never left hungry. You get all the flavor without being over stuffed. The bread you receive on arrival is phenomenal! We took a loaf home it was so good!
The extensive wine list makes for an exciting read and the wines we've tried we're beautiful.
It's an expensive night, but not overpriced for what you get. Great night out for a special occasion.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible experience”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

What can I say. Our children bought us a voucher for Purnells as a Christmas present and we were looking forward to a great night out. We decided to have the Purnells Tour dinner. Wow, wow, wow, what a fantastic experience. Each course was a delight. Amazing combinations of flavours each course explained as though it was a piece of art. Not knowing quite what to expect was all part of the magic. If you want a very special evening and amazing food try Purnells. The tour is not cheap but it is worth every penny.Glynn Purnell and David Colcombe have created a menu that is pure genius.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda9179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Purnell's also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Purnell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing