We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Yummy Brummy won't disappoint!!”
Review of Purnell's

Purnell's
Ranked #8 of 2,226 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Ladywood
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“The Yummy Brummy won't disappoint!!”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

As you can see from the places my wife and I have eaten we are lovers of fine dining, this was one of the best meals we have had and certainly well up there for service and the experience.
As it was my birthday and we spoke to Glynn, who was brilliant, we had a mix of the two tasting menus some old favourites and some new.
As others have said as well as great food all the staff were great, very efficient but not stuffy and obviously knew there stuff.
Congratulations everybody we will be making the trip from Chester again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peterschofield37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,136
    177
    89
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Not been to Purnells for some time but was pleasantly suprised at how the recent redecoration has made the place look so light and airy. Very chic. The atmosphere was vibrant and waiters very focused and attentive but not in an obtrusive way. Sonal, the Maitre' D, had some big shoes to fill when JB moved on but fill them he has. Such a welcoming and knowledgeable young man with a manner to put you at ease and such fun with a fab sense of humour. We had the Now taster menu and the cheaper flight of wine. Both Sonal and the Sommelier provided such evocative descriptions of the wines and their history . It was mesmerising. The food was sublime, superb and the blend of wines and dishes was exceptional. I couldn't fault a thing. Fantastic. In addition, Glyn Purnell was a visible chef who popped front of house to speak with every table. Very down to earth and affable guy who clearly runs a happy ship Won't leave it so long till my next visit.

Helpful?
Thank StaffordshireMrsMopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lunch of a Lifetime”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We're longstanding "friends of Purnell's" (and we love "Ginger's" too). The consistency of Glynn's cooking and the front of house service is a hard act to follow - let alone match. Last October we had a family lunch in the Private Dining area for my mother-in-law's ninetieth birthday. From start to finish their input and service was first rate - including putting together an illustrated commemorative menu for the guests, offering a personalised menu to accommodate people who had not previously tried this style of cuisine and numerous other touches which culminated in an exceptional - if latterly somewhat boisterous - experience. Their professionalism, knowledge and sense of humour made it a meal to remember.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fine Dining@ Purnells”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I on three occasions that I have dined at this restaurant the experience can only be described as excellent. The front of house service was both professional without being too intrusive . The first occasion was a tasting menu that provided five courses which suited my guests differing palates and was offered at a fixed price. Although the wine was expensive the quality was of the highest standard. The second occasion was our wedding anniversary to which we invited some sixteen guests and we were allocated a private dining area which allowed us to relax in the company of some of best friends and family. As previously experience the service was excellent with special notice being given to our guests specific dietary requirements. The third occasion was my daughter's birthday and the special event was celebrated by the five course tasting menu being upgraded to a seven course menu which was absolutely delightful. This is probably the best restaurant I have ever eaten in ,...... So we'll to Glynn and all his dedicated staff. Mike Angell

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST MIDLANDS
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Birthday present of lunch was just fantastic. Food, atmosphere, service. Can't fault anything. Highly recommended so give it a try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SIMPOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Purnell's also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Purnell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing