We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of Purnell's

Purnell's
Ranked #5 of 2,206 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Ladywood
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Voucher deal from one of those sites and me and the wife were in. On seeing that we were 'vouchers' the staff didn't turn up there noses and treated us like any other customer. The staff were spot on.
Starters and mains included in the price gave us scope for a quality bottle of wine to accommodate our excellent food. good portions as well. Pudding was allowed as well which again was excellent.
This is the third Michelin starred restaurant we have been to and was worth every penny and a must. Highly recommended

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mchammers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,121
    175
    87
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I've been here twice for lunch, the first time was faultless amazing food & fantastic service, top notch! The second time - amazing food, but the service was a little off, they had a large private dining event on and the service in the restaurant seemed to suffer from it. It was markedly less attentive than the first visit and felt quite rushed, which is a shame considering the price you are paying here! The food however, was faultless and the taste menu is really good fun. I will go back here but I'll check first that they haven't got a private event on before booking!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BiscuitDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very posh”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

The service and food was superb, this is a posh restaurant so don't expect huge portions! Also quite expensive, but if you want quality then give it a go!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ManiKaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sublime food and fantastic service”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great food and service. Expensive but a great experience. Catered well for our vegetarian friend which is sometimes a struggle.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adsrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“great birthday meal”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

3 of us visited Purnells for my friends husbands 50th birthday. We had the taster menu, accompanied by the wine taster menu. Thoroughly enjoyed the food but had expected the wine tasters to be very small. They weren't, half full glasses every time, and by course 4 we were more than tiddly which probably dulled our appreciation of the dessert courses! Previous comments about the atmosphere are correct, I found it a bit clinical and dull. Overpriced

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daffodil025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Purnell's also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Purnell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing