We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best in Birmingham for food and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asha's Indian Resturant and Bar

Asha's Indian Resturant and Bar
Ranked #48 of 2,187 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$75
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Ladywood
Description: Birmingham now has its very own brimful of Asha right here on Newhall Street. We're not kidding, Asha's is the latest addition to legendary Bollywood singer Asha Bhosle's empire. Following on from the success of restaurants in Kuwait and Dubai this is a place where fans of Indian music and Indian food can combine their passions. The space is large but intimate, decorated in a warm, welcoming style. And if you were concerned about theme-ish menus worry no more, from the fabulous Tandoori kebabs to the unmissable curries you'll be singing the praises of Asha's food all the way home.
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One of the best in Birmingham for food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Ive been to Asha's on a couple of occasions now - about a year in between visits.

The first visit was with family (4 people) was great, ordered the lamb shank and also tried their biryani. The food was fantastic especially the lamb shank... the meat just fell off the bone....beautiful.

After such a great first visit I raved about this to friends and we decided to have have a birthday meal here (12-15 people). However the second time i was slightly let down. Being in quite a large group we booked ahead. It took a while for our group to settle and decide what we wanted and I have the feeling this delay annoyed some of the waiters. The food was ok but disappointingly not as good the first time. Some dishes were only luke warm and some dishes were forgotten altogether! However this was understandable as there was some confusion when the orders were being taken.

After the second experience I avoided this restaurant for about a year until I was in town and a friend recommended we eat here again. The third time the food was again like the first...food was great and waiters were top!

In summary if you are eating here in a small group its great - but beware if its a group larger then 10 its probably best to download the menu and send it to your party to browse over before hand.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank -_-_dharms_g_-_-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshasBirmingham, hostess at Asha's Indian Resturant and Bar, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear Mr Frost,

Thank you for a positive review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal at Asha's and decided to come back to dine with us again.

Thank you for your positive comments on our food and staff as well as the constructive criticism which we will make sure to take into consideration and improve.

Once again we are very grateful to hear you enjoyed Asha's experience and we will be looking forward to seeing you again

Best Regards,
Asha's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    766
    334
    146
    52
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Very nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Visited Ashas for the first time and had a great meal, with excellent ambience and service.
Will definately go again when next in Birmigham.

Josh

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jotshna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshasBirmingham, hostess at Asha's Indian Resturant and Bar, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Dear Josh,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience at Asha's as well as for the positive review!

We were all pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you at Asha's again very soon.

Best regards,

Elena
Asha's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food and trousers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

Visited for a second time had the executive lunch again quality is really good kebab starter is second to none, love the fish curry will always visit here when we are in Birmingham would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone. We love the waiters trousers add a touch of authentic dress. Only thing we would suggest is change the dishes on the lunch menu a bit more often, that being said would be gutted if fish curry wasn't available

Helpful?
Thank dillwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshasBirmingham, hostess at Asha's Indian Resturant and Bar, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive feedback!

We are all happy to hear that you decided to repeat your visit to Asha’s and found it just as good and hopefully better than your last lunch here!

We have indeed looked at changing the lunchtime menu, but have postponed it for now as it would mean removing proven favourites as you said. Thank you for noticing the uniforms :))) - they were changed recently with the same idea in mind.

Looking forward to seeing you at Asha’s soon!

Best regards,

Elena
Asha’s Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Excellent food, particularly the starter kebabs and Chingli Chap...very good service as well. Have been going for the kebabs and stuff over the mains which are good but these are just superb!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SiddharthaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshasBirmingham, hostess at Asha's Indian Resturant and Bar, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear Siddhartha,

Thank you for the positive feedback!

It is always a pleasure to hear when people enjoy Asha’ food so much!!! We are currently looking at extending our menu by adding a number of new and exciting dishes including a variety of kebabs and seafood starters.

Looking forward to seeing you at Asha’s soon and hopefully the changes would have made the menu so you can try them!

Best regards,

Elena
Asha’s Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great decor and great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

It's not easy getting good Indian food in Paris (the Parisians/French tend to prefer it a little on the "bland" side) so we especially wanted to have some good quality, tasty and spicy food whilst we were in Birmingham. This beautiful looking restaurant did not disappoint...the food, atmosphere and staff were all excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening here!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paris-not-Hilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshasBirmingham, hostess at Asha's Indian Resturant and Bar, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive review!

It is always great receiving such a positive feedback. We are happy to have been able to serve the tasty and spicy quality food you expected from us and hope to have not only met but exceeded your expectations!

Hope to see you at Asha's on your next visit to Birmingham!

Best regards,

Elena
Asha’s Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Asha's Indian Resturant and Bar also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Sheldon, Birmingham
 

Been to Asha's Indian Resturant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing