We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food not very good” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of China Court

China Court
Ranked #569 of 2,185 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food not very good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We've been here for dimsums several times as a family so I am fairly confident of my assessment. Firstly, the food on average is poor. The deep-fried crispy squid was positively limp! The deep-fried custard buns were not crisp outside and was soggy. (There must be something wrong with their deep fryer.) Chicken feet was okay, spare ribs in blackbean sauce was very fatty, cheung fan was over cooked, siumai was not that great. Probably the only ones I can commend as 'okay' were their noodle soups with roast meats.
The service is patchy - several times they either missed our order or brought out the wrong dish. And it happened everytime we went there. We're so gonna avoid this place now.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mgravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    43
    19
    11
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Food / Poor Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

My fiancée and I tried this restaurant before a show as my partner recently got a Taste Card and we thought we would give it a go. As per instructions we rang and booked before we came along and told the staff member it was a Taste Card booking which was fine. We arrived and were seated, the decor was dated, but the ladies serving were very helpful and the food was tasty and delicious. The problem came when we tried to pay the bill, it took 15 minutes of arguing for the restaurant to accept the Taste Card, they said first that it was impossible to change the bill on the system, then it was our fault for not telling them, and as a good will gesture we could use our Taste Card next time we visited! Happily when it was insisted the booking diary is checked right beside my partners name in big letters was TASTE CARD. Such a shame because the food was good. If they do not want to honour these types of discounts then they should not join the schemes! Also, be aware that two flights of stairs to get to restaurant so not great if mobility problems.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Berkshire_Chap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worse than awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I would not recommend this restaurant to anybody and would encourage anybody to make an alternative choice and visit the local Chinese restaurants in the surrounding area which are great. This establishment are rude, will make any excuse not to accept a groupon bought I'm good faith and exceptionally poor, i would never go back and encourage friends and family to go anywhere but china court. Without doubt the worst restaurant I've ever had the misfortune to go to.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RLD83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Rather disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Had Groupon voucher and visited first time for many years. Went early in evening, and did not appreciate the GROUPON menu!! However, all was well with the starters, but when main course arrived, where was the rice? Ah! Rice extra cost!!!!! Ever known a Chinese meal with no rice?
Very disappointing - voucher meal at 2 for £17 without rice!!

Cannot be as enthused as others have been - quite the opposite.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank footmananglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor Staff treatment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Went to visit the restaurant with my son and a female friend. When we was placing our order we was told we have too many sides lool. Rubbish service, seemed like it was the first time they have seen black people. Left the restaurant and went to cafe soya where the food was brilliant. Service was excellent in cafe soya.

China court should be taken to court.

Shaunsclub

Helpful?
2 Thank Shaunsclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Court also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to China Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing