We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuk!”

Brighton Arms Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brighton Arms Hotel
Ranked #23 of 54 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Totally agree with Kevin J. I don't know where those with positive reviews stayed. Filthy, room stunk of disinfectant, dirty brown stains of something on bed, carpet filthy, threadbare, cigarette burns, derelict condition. Should be embarrassed to accept guests. Doesn't the local authority have a legal responsibility to certify these places fit for human habitation?

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 124HotelInspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

Me and my mates booked this place when we couldn't find anywhere else to stay due to Christmas shoppers. I am so glad that we did!

The rooms were relitavley spacious and very comfy. The bathrooms were clean and the shower is lovely!

But what made our stay was that Chris and Wendy are wonderful hosts! After getting back from the gig we went to, we joined the locals in the pub downstairs and drank till the early hours listening to Irish folk music and of course the Courteeners which Wendy put on just because we mentioned that we saw them! Didn't even have to ask!

Thank you Wendy and thank you Chris! You made our weekend a truly memorable one! x

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikewright430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We arrived late and thought the place was shutdown completely but we banged on the door and then got the best quality and service we have ever gotten from a hotel. Absolute bargain, not too far from airport. Parking nearby too.

Room Tip: Its difficult to get three separate single beds on the one room in most hotels but they have them he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanF307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Those who have reviewed before us have done us a disservice. The immediate area around the pub looks like its from war torn Sarajevo. The pub from the outside looks derelict and does not improve much once on the inside. The room was neat but that is as good as it gets. The twin beds had no head boards, very puny pillows and no valance.The mattresses could not be described as comfortable. The furniture was rickety as were the windows, which had cracks in them and appalling curtains. Unless you live in a major city you will find the noise from the street during the night unbearable. The lid from the toilet cistern was on the floor and the flush mechanism hanging out. The walls were dirty and there were cobwebs in the ceiling corners around the room.
on the plus side, the staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at the Brighton Arms, made feel very welcome on arrival and the standards were maintained during our short stay. Met two real characters in the bar named Sid and Leeds, would happily have paid double just for their company!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leedsy1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The Hotel was good quality for the price. The service was amazing, really friendly staff and management. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean. The hotel provided a good and timely cab service, and is located only 10 minutes from the town centre. I Would stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tgiwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Our first look at the Brighton Arms nearly convinced us to keep driving - it looks like a fairly run down back street boozer in a down market part of town. Once we got inside, that opinion was reinforced...

On the plus side, the greeting was friendly, our rooms were ready early and the pub is seemingly open until all hours. The standard of hospitality throughout was great, chatty staff and owner (Wendy), breakfast cook/server/barmaid. And the kitchen seemed spotlessly clean.

As the rooms cost us an average of £18 per person per night, our expectations were pretty low and they were fully realised. The rooms were pretty shabby. Wardrobe doors hanging off, shower cubicles falling apart, fire alarm point hanging off the wall, door handles wobbly. They were clean ehough, showers were hot, bedding clean - but the place screams out for a bit of basic maintenance that could be done in half a day with a basic toolbox and by someone who gives a s**t.

What I will remember forever were the bar regulars - more tattoos then LA Ink and a seemingly inexhaustable appetite for strong lager. If I had just walked in off the street for a beer I would have walked straight out again - but they were all actually very friendly and after the initial impression not scary at all!

Would I recommend it? Although it has provided one of the most outstanding memories of my Stag weekend you would need to have a pretty strong constitution and sense of adventure to enjoy a stay here. But thanks to Wendy anyway for a fun time!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kevvywevvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,301 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Genting Hotel
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
2,033 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brighton Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brighton Arms Hotel

Address: Ladypool Road | Balsall Heath, Birmingham B12 8LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range: £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing