We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value stay and comfortable!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lodge Hotel

The Lodge Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge Hotel
Ranked #11 of 54 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Runcorn, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value stay and comfortable!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Good location. Hotel staff very friendly. Rooms really comfortable - best night's sleep I have had in ages. Watched the dog racing from our room window! Fantastic! Cooked breakfast the next morning was a lovely way to end our stay! Thank You The Lodge - Birmingham. :0)

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the hotel so you can see the racing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    53
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
25
39
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bidford-on-Avon
Level Contributor
411 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed for one night as we went to the dog racing at Hall Green. We paid £49.95 including breakfast as a special rate because we had booked into the Grandstand restaurant to watch the racing.
The hotel doesn't look great but the welcome you receive from the receptionist soon puts you at ease. The hotel has some modern looking parts and then some throw backs to the 80's with floral curtains and patterned carpets.
The rooms are a good size,clean, have a large tv and tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast is buffet style continental or cooked and ok. The bar open at 6pm but they will get you drinks before this time and they serve until the last residents stop drinking which was actually 10am!!
All the staff were really really friendly.
would i stay again? Yes if i was in the area!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank delacourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Spent 1 night at the Lodge while going to the dog racing with friends.
The area doesn't look too great when you get there and we were slightly worried about leaving the car overnight but they have good lighting and security cameras so it wasn't a problem.
Reception staff where some of the friendliest I have come across, they made us feel really welcome throughout our stay.
Room was big and comfortable, flat screen TV and additional sofa bed a real bonus. Spotlessly clean and looked like some of the furnishings were brand new. Our room was next to the bar and as it was busy we thought we would have a disturbed night but once we shut the door it was really quiet - only issue is that we like to leave the window open overnight but we could hear everyone going out to smoke, would ask for a room on the other side of the building next time.
Breakfast was ok, some items a little dry and overcooked but that was probably because we were some of the last people to get up and go down for breakfast.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and it was brilliant value - only a couple of mins walk to the racecourse so would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the racecourse - will be much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karensolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Friendly staff, very clean, easy to find and great value for money

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohdear_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Room was great we had a triple room overlooking the race course ,room was clean, plenty of tea and coffee to make a drink also cadbury hot chocolate sachets and biscuits .
The breakfast was very good indeed , pletny of choice,.

The ceiling in the bathroom could do with a repair really as it seems the shower probably leaked from upstairs .
Could have done with more staff as the poor woman on reception had to keep running upstairs to open the bar to serve people then close it up again and go back to reception.
We would stay here again

Room Tip: ask for room overlooking dog track
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evening-sunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Tucked away near a housing estate, The Lodge at Hall Green has very close similarities to a Premier Inn. Do not let its location put you off. In fact, if you are intrerested in greyhound racing, the back of the hotel is actually part of the ground! Good, clean room, hot and cold breakfast, bar, friendly staff. Also, much cheaper than many of the other hotels of a similar nature.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, as there may be some people starting off early in the morning in their c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenOLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

I stayed there with two colleagues (in a triple room) on business as we were visiting the NEC.

This has to be one of the best value places I've ever stayed at: £87 for a triple room including a good sized breakfast with plenty of choice, served by really welcoming staff who obviously cared about the guests.

They even threw in free entrance to the greyhound stadium next door (I mean literally next door, our room was on an eye level with the dogs as they were running round the track!). All of this was a bonus.

All in all, pound for pound, this has to be one of the best VALUE places I've stayed in for business when you take the standard of accommodation, the food, the welcome and the price into account. Would certainly stay again when visiting the NEC, which is only about 15 mins away by car.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AssetDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel
BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel
#67 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
5.0 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Tour
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
4.6 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Hotel

Property: The Lodge Hotel
Address: 151 York Road | Hall Green, Birmingham B28 8LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your stay is business or pleasure one thing you can be sure of is comfort, convenience and customer care. Visiting the NEC or holding an event or conference? Business meeting in the Birmingham area? We’re perfectly located with 48 rooms available, all en-suite. Our rates are inclusive of Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing