We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home Away From Home!!”
Review of Madeira Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Madeira Hotel
Ranked #21 of 52 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Home Away From Home!!”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel last December, and have since been back two further times. For a low-priced hotel I can't fault it: extremely comfortable bed, perfectly adequate room, and a thoroughly friendly easy-going atmosphere. The staff are accomodating and welcoming. The rooms and bed linen are always fresh and clean, and my breakfasts have been most enjoyable. I am so pleased I found this hotel, it really does feel like a home away from home, and I'm looking forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    18
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
15
15
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We visited our grandson at QEH upon his sudden return from Afghan. We were very upset and travelled from Seaford as fast poss to be with him, we saw the Madeira as we were searching for anyware to kip, despite the lateness Stell made us immediately welcome and eased our fears. Room a wee bit cramped but we had stayed at 4 star that wouldnt rate 2, brekky was lovely and sharon was ever attentive to whatever we needed, as g/son will be in QEH for some time recovering we will be coming back to the Madeira.
We have recommended this hotel to other members of the family.

Room Tip: for the price one could not do better, location is excellent, staff very helpful and understanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank douglas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Sorry to be negative but I really didn't enjoy this hotel- I found the room slightly smelly- The bed was fine. Only instant coffee at breakfast. I know this was low budget but I like my real coffee beans- I will not return

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cro_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

In a way I am sorry to have to write a negative review as the staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. The owner was away at the time and her daughter was running the place for her. On the positive side the location was good, as was the breakfast and the rooms were clean. On the negative side our twin bedded room was minute as was the en-suite which was accessed by a ¾ height louvred door – not a lot of privacy! The ‘Reception Area & Lounge’ was too small to be comfortable. Fortunately our room was at the rear of the property as friends who were at the front who said the traffic noise was disturbing, their twin bedded room was marginally bigger than ours but at least ours was quieter. It is a pity that in my opinion the problem with this hotel is that it has been overdeveloped in order to maximise the number of rooms at the expense of comfort.

Room Tip: Rear of property to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flagman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I stayed here for a couple of nights and found the hotel to be very clean and comfortable. The en-suit was a little tiny but the bed was comfortable also the breakfast was very good. They have ample car parking spaces and the internet works fine. For the price which I paid I would recommend this hotel. There are many worse places in Northfield which you could stay at the same price which don't provide an en-suite, communal microwaves and information about places to eat, visits and delivery take-aways.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGilpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

i stayed at the madeira in march to see family. they were so friendly the girls did all they could 2 help us. the breakfast was excellent.. sets u up four the day. the rooms was very clean.will be back thats for sure thanks for every think.

Room Tip: room 7 was great it over looks the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nannamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florianopolis, SC
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Clean, compact, budget rooms with all you need. Pretty restauarant with fresh food and deck overlooking lovely big garden. Proprietor and staff serve and help beyond the call of duty. All Hotels have hiccupps for the compensation seekers, but I didnt see any. If you want a cheap room in an annonymous concrete bunker with plastic food and no service or english, which some do, you know where to book, check out the T.V Ratts n Lou

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rattyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Westmead Hotel
#47 of 117 in Birmingham
631 reviews
The Beeches
#84 of 117 in Birmingham
171 reviews
Hillscourt
#1 of 1 in Rednal
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
The Conference Park from venuebirmingham
Prince Hotel
#20 of 52 in Birmingham
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Hotel

Property: Madeira Hotel
Address: 85 Bunbury Road | Northfield, Birmingham B31 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW OWNERSHIPThe Madeira hotel is a small hotel in Northfield Birmingham. Just 10 minutes from the motorway network, and located 5 minutes walk from Northfield town centre and train station. Easy access to Birmingham city centre and the National Exhibition Centre. For those visiting the Royal Orthopaedic Hospital or Cadbury World we are just a few minutes away.We have a range of rooms to let including singles, twins doubles and family rooms. Rooms are equipped with tea and coffee, making, colour televisions and most rooms have en-suite facilities.Within the hotel we have a conference / meeting room with will accommodate up to 20 delegates. With ample free car parking and easy access its a ideal location for your meetings and training events. With free wifi and lunches, tea, coffee provided. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing