We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude service! ”
Review of Akbar

Akbar
Ranked #64 of 582 Restaurants in Coventry
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Rude service! ”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

This was meant to be a birthday "treat" for me from my husband. It was our second time visiting and just as before, the service was horrendous. We only came back in the hope we would have another waiter and the service would improve. I had only been sat for 10 minutes and the waiter complained to me TWICE that I was taking too long to order my starters and mains, he then said the restaurant was due to peak and basically wanted us in and out ASAP to make room for other couples. The food is average and the service is atrocious, I really can't believe the manager still has the same waiter even after several people have complained. It really is worth going out of Coventry for a special meal just to get away from poor service at Akbars.

Helpful?
6 Thank Hunger_Gamez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    101
    41
    27
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Super always a delight at a reasonable price”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Attentive service always on hand and only too happy to please you with another drink. Very pleasant for my daughters birthday with her friends and boy did they enjoy it - Thanks again Noswal. Just looking for another excuse to go back. Maybe a quieter night !!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank depudydawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Saturday nite blues”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Lets go out tonight I said to my wife, I really feel like an Indian meal.

Our favourite venue has alway been Akbar in Coventry.

Unfortunately, this excellent restaurant with a huge following has become a victim of its own success. Recently extended, its seating capacity increased, never known to turn anyone away, always full on a Saturday nite, there seems to be additional staff but the kitchen can obvious not cope.

When will restaurants learn, maximum capacity and good food does not mix. Do not over stretch your staff and resources.

A pleasant evening out to our favourite Indian restaurant was spoilt by poor bad tempered service, a long wait in between courses, our two course meal took 2 hours.

We were hungry we did come to while away the nite, we wanted good food delivered at a reasonable pace.

End result, good food but evening spoilt due to terrible service and staff unable to offer a sincere "I give a dam".

Yes our friend the Owner was apologetic, he knocked 12% off the bill, but that still left £50 for a very unhappy nite out.

We will certainly think twice in future as to whether eating out on a Saturday nite is worth the hassel. A crowded restaurant is a good sign but who suffers as a result ?

No doubt about it this place is good, but the service, and its not the first time, needs real attention otherwise regulars like us will seek other places.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spencerstephen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Poor food and Service”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

8 of us visited on a Friday night. The service was poor and the food poor also. £180 for 8 of us will not be returning here! Shimla Spice is better and cheaper.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Excellent service, food and atmosphere. Very friendly staff fell at ease.Best meal had out for years! Cannot wait to return

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank r9mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Akbar also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Akbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing