We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coventrys Finest”
Review of The Ocean

The Ocean
Ranked #31 of 582 Restaurants in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Coventry
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Coventrys Finest”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Having tried a great number of Indian restaurants in my home town of Bradford and here in Coventry, the Ocean in Jubilee Crescent is by far the best. Excellent food in wonderful surroundings and attentive staff. The owner is a real character and backs the whole experience memorable. Friends have been introduced to the Ocean and they too are becoming regulars. Looking forward to our next meal. Well done Ocean.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank dgudge68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    25
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food,service and atmosphere!!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Me an my fiancé went here for my birthday meal and had a lovely meal and brilliant service, we're made extremely welcome from the moment we entered to the moment we left! Staff we're really friendly and nothing was too much trouble! Manager was funny an very entertaining! Left restaurant with full belly sand big smiles! Will definitely be going here again and again would recommend to anyone looking for a great place to eat out! 10/10

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Leigh6572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very interesting restaurant”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I went to this Indian restaurant because of the reviews on TA and wasn't disappointed at all. The owner makes this place he is full of life and very amusing. I asked his opinion as I wanted a semi hot, spicy curry with cream & coriander,and he said leave it to him.
I started with poppodums and accompiments, followed by chicken tikka and then a lovely king prawn curry.
The food was wonderful and the manager was fabulous would defo go back next time I'm in Coventry.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank mcfcfanBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No better way to spend an evening. ”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

No better way to spend an evening than in a restaurant that offers excellent food in and a welcoming atmosphere. To six geordies away from home this ticked every box. We had a great evening here and reccomdnd it highly. Thanks to all at "The Ocean".

Helpful?
6 Thank tony h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We (2 adults and a teenager) have just return from what I can only describe as one of the best dining experience I have ever had.
The staff are genuinely fun, friendly and attentive, absolutely nothing is to much trouble.
The food tastes devine, cooked exactly to your personal liking with exceptional flavours.
It has been a night out we will be repeating time and time again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Fussy_Traveller0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ocean also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing