We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, and convenient for Warwick University”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scarman Training and Conference Centre
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I have stayed at the Scarman House twice, with visits about ten years apart. About 5km from Coventry City Centre, but beside the Warwick University Campus, this is ideal for activities at the University. Rooms are a good size, comfortable, and quiet, while bathrooms are roomy and well equipped. Meals in the restaurant are first class, and there is a good selection of wines too. Breakfast is good with a huge choice of things to eat, just like in a large hotel. Since it is self service you can go back to try other things too. Staff were friendly and helpful. If you want a drink before supper, the bar is at hand too. A super experience both times.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nodrog252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent complimentary review of Scarman Training and Conference Centre.
It's a pleasure to hear you have enjoyed both stays at Warwick Conferences and would describe them as 'Super Experiences'. We pride ourselves on offering the highest standard of catering, so I am very pleased that the quality of our offering was apparent.

Myself, and all the team look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest Regards
Richard Harrison, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

I have spent 2 weeks at this venue for business purposes on two different occasions. Scarman is a first class venue for conferences and the accomodation is excellent. As a group we have found the service from all the staff to be of the highest standard and efficiency. The food is notable and is worthy of at least a 4 star hotel rating. It is of little surprise to see that the venue has numerous awards in the UK.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craighungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Scarman Training and Conference Centre. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and it is also a delight for you to mention our awards, we work hard to continue achieving accreditations based on our service and facilities.

Myself, and the team look forward to welcoming you back to Warwick Conferences very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Richard Harrison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Stayed in the hotel as my training venue was elsewhere on campus, but what a lovely place to stay! The campus itself is lovely, the hotel/conference center makes a very positive and professional impression when you enter. My room was perfect, with all you would expect of a good quality hotel. Very clean and spacious too. Breakfast was excellent with good quality food and a wide range to choose from. Would definitely recommend Scarman House to anyone, and would happily return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent complimentary review on Scarman Training and Conference Centre. I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay at Warwick Conferences and would definitely recommend Scarman House.

Myself, and all the team look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest Regards
Richard Harrison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I attended a meeting at the University of Warwick and was recommended to stay at Scarman. It is situated within the University campus hence very nice environment and quiet. It's probably not a choice for tourist as it is far from the city centre and you need to take a bus to go to the train or coach station.

The room is of good size and clean. Amenities are adequate and staff seem to be nice. Free and high speed wifi is great. There is a restaurant nearby and Tesco is about 20-25 mins walk - it is a nice walk on a sunny warm day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kolukolu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your complimentary review and recommendation on Scarman Training and Conference Centre.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay at Warwick Conferences and look forward to welcoming you back again soon in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Richard Harrison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

Stay here a few times a year and the refurbished rooms are much improved. Bathrooms a little tired but always clean. Complimentary toiletries are a bad 80s throwback - brand ok but scent/colour just yuk. I'd requested a fridge for medication - via our booking company - which hasn't been a problem previously. The female receptionist gave off a couldn't care less attitude and said they didn't provide fridges for anyone since the refurbishment. Patently not true as I'd had one a few weeks before. I explained it was for medication and was told sorry I can't help. Actually was more a case of didn't want to help. Company checked for me afterwards - venue would have been happy to help, just not this employee clearly.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlieksays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Scarman Training and Conference Centre. Your feedback is valuable to us. It is our policy to supply fridges for this purpose.
Please accept my apologies that this policy was not adhered to this time round, however I can ensure that it will be in the future.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Scarman again soon.

Kind regards
Richard Harrison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I have now stayed at Scarman and its near neighbour Radcliffe on a number of occasions for business meetings and it has never disappointed. The rooms are specious with comfortable beds. Wi fi is available and there is plenty of side table space to work, though a comfortable chair for relaxaton would be a welcome addition. The bathrooms have good showers though the bath may be a bit deep for more elderly users. The buffet breakfast is excellent with a wide choice of both hot and cold items. The rerstaurant serves good quality meals and there is a wide and fairly priced wine list, and a modest selection of beers and lagers. If you DO want to sit comfortably and read a book there is a large public lounge with complimentary tea/coffee and sometimes cakes/pastries/biscuits/fruit available 24 hours.All in all if you have business in Coventry or are on a course at the University yoyu couldnt do better though you do need a car as it is about three miles from the station.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your complimentary review and recommendation on Scarman Training and Conference Centre. I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your most recent stay at Warwick Conferences.

Your feedback regarding our bedrooms and bathroom facilities will be passed back to the appropriate teams.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Scarman very soon.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

Loved staying here. Walking distance from The Varsity. Friendly, helpful staff. Great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank souper71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Scarman, I am very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.2 mi away
Radcliffe Training and Conference Centre
1.7 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#9 of 39 in Coventry
2,561 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#19 of 39 in Coventry
534 reviews
7.1 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
3,096 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arden Training and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarman Training and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarman Training and Conference Centre

Address: Gibbet Hill Road, Coventry CV4 7AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range: £98 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering over 54 specialised meeting rooms and 204 luxury en suite bedrooms, Scarman is one of the largest residential Training and Conference Centres in the UK. Size isn't everything, however - and at Scarman, we agree. It's our dedicated, professional team that truly makes this venue unique, working tirelessly and efficiently behind the scenes to ensure that your event runs like clockwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Scarman Training and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarman Training And Conference Centre Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing