We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Conference Venue at Great Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scarman Training and Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Scarman Training and Conference Centre
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Chiswick, London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Conference Venue at Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

I have stayed at the Scarman Centre, University of Warwick twice over the last 2 years and on both ocassions my expectations have been considerably exceeded. The rooms have been refurbished and now include a nespresso machine although remain functional rather than boutique hotel. The lack of sound insulation between rooms is my only criticism of this venue as you can hear noises from neighbouring rooms.
The conference facilities are good and they have a variety of well equipped meeting and training rooms.
The food quality and variety are the thing that really make the Scarman Centre stand out though. I was spoilt for choice at every meal on the 3 days I stayed at the venue. Even the snack and coffee break options are comprehensive - including ice lollies and gluten free biscuits.
The staff were really friendly and helpful and although busy you do not wait long at the bar as they provide enough staff to ensure swift service at reasonable prices. (fairly decent wine at £23 a bottle)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vantyghem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Scarman, Warwick Conferences. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Myself, and all the team look forward to welcoming you back to Warwick Conferences again soon.

Kindest Regards
Richard Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    59
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
8
4
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We were in Coventry to watch "The Prodigals" production at the Belgrade theatre and were put off by the lack of parking or the expense of it at the hotels in the centre of town. Then we found Scarman House and the excellent reviews, so we booked it. It was very comfortable and quiet, and breakfast was very good.

Getting to the centre of Coventry was a fifteen minute (or so) drive and it was nice to be able to get quickly into the town centre but be able to retire for the night in the "countryside".

We enjoyed ourselves and would recommend Scarman House for any event for which you need to be in Coventry not just conferences in the University itself.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WoleKolawole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your complimentary review following your stay a Warwick Conferences. It's a pleasure to hear that we have met your expectations and you enjoyed your stay.

Myself, and all the team look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,
Richard Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
121 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

I have stayed in this centre for many years now and I have never been disappointed. The food is excellent including breakfast, lunch and dinner and overall the facilities are second to none. The only criticism I have is the bar is not great it is not very relaxing and a bit institutionalised but the staff are nice and friendly so that's a small point. The grounds are pleasant and although it is a bit out of the way the centre is supplied with a good taxi service. Internet access is free and there is a small fitness suite but no swimming pool.I can recommend this conference centre highly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Scarman, Warwick Conferences. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Myself, and all the team look forward to welcoming you back to Warwick Conferences again soon.

Kindest Regards
Richard Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Attended a Training Course held at the Scarman run over 2 days.

Room - Was big, very comfy and spotless. Iron, Iron board, trouser press, TV, radio, brew kit, water, towels and toiletries are provided. The only fault was cold showers in the morning, evening showers were fine. Reported this to reception.

Food - Breakfast and lunch were provided as part of the course, lots of choices and very nice, evening meals we had to order and pay for these (claimed on expenses on return to work). Choice was either restaurant meals or bar meals - went for the bar meals, less fuss - had the Omelette and chips with green stuff on 1st night - very good, but fish and chips the next night, was not great, so not recommended.

Meeting Rooms - As requested, the hotel staff had the rooms setup for our arrival, pens, paper, and cold water provided. Laptop (loaded with our power point presentations), projector and audio equipment provided with assistance from the staff if problems occurred.

Reception staff - We needed a few bits and bobs printed from emails, memory sticks etc, the Reception Staff were 1st class by printing and copying these course papers and were more than happy to assist us and also helping with reallocated team members into rooms.

Location - Hotel set in the grounds of Warwick Uni, not a lot see or visit apart from a couple pubs, which I didn't visit.

Will probably do the same training again next year and would be happy for it to take place at the Scarman again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimb053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very detailed review following your stay a Warwick Conferences. It's a pleasure to hear that we have met your expectations and you enjoyed your stay.

Myself, and all the team look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,
Richard Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Had an overnight stay here after moving our son into the university which is on the same grounds.

This is a business raining centre and has that air about it. The rooms however are spacious and clean. The staff are all friendly and helpful and breakfast was very good. There are cheaper hotels in Coventry but to be able to walk from the bars and restaurants on campus is a big plus. I would class this as a good 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Guest,

It's a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay at Scarman, Warwick Conferences.Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Myself, and all the team look forward to seeing you at Warwick again in the future,

Kind regards,

Richard Harrison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
622 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night for business. It is very easy to find, although my sat av placed me the opposite side off the A46! To reach you have to go to the roundabout and come back on yourself . Only 2 mins off A46. There is a large car park.

My room was huge with a lovely comfy bed and spacious bathroom. I had a nice view overlooking the grounds.

Breakfast was a good choice and freshly cooked.

A nice stay and good location for Birmingham, Stratford, warwick and Coventry.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Stumpy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Scarman, Warwick Conferences. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay.

I hope to welcome you back to Warwick Conferences again soon.

Kindest Regards
Richard Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

To begin with my stay at the Scarman this weekend was good. The reception staff was nice and the bar staff helpful. The dinner was good too. Then at 5am in the morning the fire alarm went off. My colleague and I got up and out as well as advising some of the many teenagers staying for a football tournament what to do. Then about 100 of us stop by the fire assembly point. However we did not see one member of staff. No one checked that everyone was out of that all guests were accounted for. We went back in when we saw others go back in. As a fire warden I was shocked by the lack of care. When I checked out and spoke to staff I was told I was lucky (lucky?!) that two people were on duty and that someone could be outside with customers in the car park. I pointed out that we were at another fire point and was backed up by another man checking out. The staff didn't seem to care that if there had been a fire people could have died and many of them would have been children. I was angered and they didn't care at all. It is terrible and policy at the hotel should be changed. On top of this they also run of breakfast for everyone as they were not prepared for the young boys staying.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to thank you for your review, and secondly apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay. I completely understand the disruption this will have caused to your stay.

Your comments will be taken seriously and fed back to our teams here at Scarman.
I do hope we have an opportunity in the future to compensate for your experience on this occasion and can assure you that the problems you experienced are far from our normal guest experience.

If you wish to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact the venue and ask to speak to me.

Kindest Regards,

Richard Harrison,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry South (A45) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Belgrade Plaza) Hotel
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarman Training and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarman Training and Conference Centre

Property: Scarman Training and Conference Centre
Address: Gibbet Hill Road, Coventry CV4 7AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering over 54 specialised meeting rooms and 204 luxury en suite bedrooms, Scarman is one of the largest residential Training and Conference Centres in the UK. Size isn't everything, however - and at Scarman, we agree. It's our dedicated, professional team that truly makes this venue unique, working tirelessly and efficiently behind the scenes to ensure that your event runs like clockwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Scarman Training and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarman Training And Conference Centre Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing