We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great all round venue, excellent food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scarman Training and Conference Centre
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Fairlight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great all round venue, excellent food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights for a conference, had breakfast lunch and dinner. The quality and choice of food was exceptional. Bed and room spotless and confortable but very hot as we stayed during a heatwave. Fans provided in room and air con in classrooms. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Only downside was the layout of the building. It was like a maze but signage pretty good. I would definately stay here if I needed to in Coventry!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixie813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Scarman, Warwick Conferences. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Myself, and all the team look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Richard Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    62
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
8
4
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The good:
(a) Exceptionally helpful, competent, and friendly staff.
(b) Generally clean and well run.
(c) Airy, easy-going atmosphere.
(d) Good bar with real ale; good food.
(e) Really good comfortable beds (mattison excelsior deluxe)

The bad - these points prevent a higher rating:
(a) excessively complicated, slow, and unreliable wifi access
(b) absolutely awful work chairs at the desks in the rooms: too low, saggy, poor support, no adjustment - surprising in a business/academic environment
(c) Light-transmitting curtains (management please check in to an Ibis soon to see how to do total blackout)
(d) The jeton system in the car park is a bit of a pain if you need to go in and out a lot
(e) The toiletries may or not be great but why are the labels in such tiny print that no-one over 40 can read them without their glasses? - Many hotels share this annoying and unnecessary fault.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John Gilmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Scarman, Warwick Conferences.

I am sorry to hear that you had problems when using the Wi-Fi network, this is something which we were not aware of and will now investigate and improve.

In regards to your other feedback, we are always looking at ways to improve our facilities to meet our customers’ needs to ensure a relaxed and enjoyable stay, so feedback like this is much appreciated.

Again I would like to sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused and hope to welcome you back to Warwick Conferences again in the future,

Best regards,

Richard Harrison
Head of Conference Centres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for an evening on business. Good size room, great bed all mod cons including expresso machine in the room.

Service was good as was the food.

Hotel was well kept and clean.

Please note that if you intend to book this is a business hotel in the middle of the university. But please don't let it put you off.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Scarman, Warwick Conferences. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Myself, and all the team look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Richard Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Used the Hotel facilities here. Rooms were very good with plenty of space and very modern. Walls could have done with a bit of sound proofing as seemed a bit noisy. The restaurant was excellent. Breakfast quite exceptional I thought. Plenty safe car parking and easy access. Sat Nav didn't take me exactly to venue so had to phone to get directions. Make sure you have a good idea where it is before setting off and relying on Sat Nav. Staff really nice and helpful. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your complimentary review following your recent stay at Scarman, Warwick Conferences. We're currently working on a project to update the postcodes on Sat Navs at Scarman, so this should be sorted for your next stay.

I look forward to seeing you at Scarman again in the future,

Kind regards,
Richard Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I've been to quite a lot of residential conference centres, but this one was by far the best. The rooms are of excellent quality - lovely toiletries and comfy beds, and we even had patio doors and a wee balcony! Check-in was easy and all staff were friendly and helpful. Scarman does what it is supposed to do very well indeed and I would jump at the chance of returning. Best of all, there were kidneys in the breakfast buffet, which tickled me no end as I love kidneys at breakfast and can't remember the last time I saw them! All in all we had a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a wee balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJANDRU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Scarman, Warwick Conferences. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Myself, and all the team look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Richard Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbury
Level Contributor
104 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed at Sharman Conference centre as attending a meeting. The reception staff were very welcome and a quick check in with everything prepared in advance.

Room was very pleasant with good amenities. The free wi-fi was appreciated as was such nice touches as trouser press and complimentary toiletries. There was also tea and coffee making facilities and flat screen television with stations that actually worked.

The restaurant had many groups booked in but the service was quick, efficient and friendly and the food delicious.

A good place to stay with easy free parking most certainly recommended

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsnewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review following your stay at Scarman, Warwick Conferences. It's great to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

Myself, and all the team look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Richard Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed here on a business trip for a conference. The room was clean, of a good size and the bed was comfy. Room also had a hairdryer and a good kettle - only negative was the very thin walls; could hear next door going to toilet, coughing and talking on phone, etc.
Food in the evening was buffet style, with very little choice - we had beef and we felt it had been hanging around a little too long: very dry. Breakfast and lunch were both good with a wide variety of choice for both meals.
Reception staff were really friendly and helpful both on check-in and out.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RecliningBuddah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Scarman, Warwick Conferences. It's a pleasure to hear you enjoyed the overall experience and would highly recommend us.

Myself, and all the team look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Richard Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
1.7 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radcliffe Training and Conference Centre
0.5 mi away
Arden Training and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry South (A45) Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
2.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarman Training and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarman Training and Conference Centre

Property: Scarman Training and Conference Centre
Address: Gibbet Hill Road, Coventry CV4 7AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering over 54 specialised meeting rooms and 204 luxury en suite bedrooms, Scarman is one of the largest residential Training and Conference Centres in the UK. Size isn't everything, however - and at Scarman, we agree. It's our dedicated, professional team that truly makes this venue unique, working tirelessly and efficiently behind the scenes to ensure that your event runs like clockwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Scarman Training and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarman Training And Conference Centre Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing