We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scarman House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scarman Training and Conference Centre
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2009

I found myself at Scarman House whilst taking exams with Warwick Business School. The rooms are small and basic (smaller than Travel-lodge but of the same standard) and not good value for money. The leaflet in the room refers to a fridge - but there isn't one in my room.

The restaurant says they have award winning chefs - but I am guessing the awards arent cookery awards after my (just abandoned) evening meal. They were very quiet, but I thought that should have helped. The food was very average, cold starters arrived in around 90 seconds, followed by the main course swiftly afterwards, including mushy cauliflower and hard potatoes - reminded me of hospital food!

Dessert was disgusting and was left on the table hardly touched.

On the positive side, it is a great location for my conference / exams and the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T4Tinkerbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2008

I stayed at Scarman House which I had booked through the exam board OCR and was due to take part in a very boring course about marking exam papers online.

Scarman House is a conference hotel - I don't think you can book directly and stay there for leisure purposes. It was easy to find with plenty of parking and check-in was very easy.

However it is quite expensive - it cost £90+ for bed and breakfast. Breakfast was a buffet affair which was excellent and you could eat as much as you wished - and food was very good. Unfortunately the rooms are not special. The beds were small and the room very hot. You also have to lock the room from the outside when you leave as the doors don't lock automatically which I found strange.

A very average hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank vicki1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Pierre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickconferences, Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Stefania N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRIPLEJ92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jérémy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bloginfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickconferences, General Manager at Scarman Training and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
1.7 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
2,418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radcliffe Training and Conference Centre
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
3.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#19 of 39 in Coventry
527 reviews
2.1 mi away
Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarman Training and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarman Training and Conference Centre

Address: Gibbet Hill Road, Coventry CV4 7AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range: £101 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering over 54 specialised meeting rooms and 204 luxury en suite bedrooms, Scarman is one of the largest residential Training and Conference Centres in the UK. Size isn't everything, however - and at Scarman, we agree. It's our dedicated, professional team that truly makes this venue unique, working tirelessly and efficiently behind the scenes to ensure that your event runs like clockwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Scarman Training and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarman Training And Conference Centre Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing