We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst meal ever”
Review of Cocked Hat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cocked Hat
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“worst meal ever”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

can honestly say this was the worst meal i have ever had out, There was 9adults and 3 kids eating, FIrst starter came out was finished then we waited a further 20mins for second and third starter, then a further quarter of an hour for the next two, KIds garlic bread was bought last after all the adults had finished eating. Most of the mains were sent sent back for various reasons, sour cream for veg burritos had curdled under hot lamp, 7 out of 9 meals had thing missing. Sent my food back for being cold, waited another 15mins for it to be returned still cold and with mushrooms missing but didnt want to send it back again and eat after the whole table had finished thier meals. The whole party was waiting for staff to clear the table after the meal so we could complain but it appeared obvious they were avoiding clearing the table for this reason. Glad i had a five pound voucher or i would have been even more annoyed, worst £10 ive ever spent! Safe to say i dont think any of us will ever be returning!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beth621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Cocked Hat, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear beth621

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Cocked Hat in regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Fayre & Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    98
    65
    30
    26
See reviews for
65
87
10
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We ordered 4 meals @ 8.10 pm,40 minutes later they were brought to the table,2 of which were Cod Fathers,chips were cold,my wife's fish had little or no batter underneath,the fish had been slapped on top of the chips,presentation was poor,we asked the waitress to return them,then waited over 20 minutes before having to ask where our meals were,by which time my son and grandaughter had finished they're meal,so the whole family experience was shattered,they had to sit at the table watching us eat as we did with them,we weren't the only ones tonight,there were many complaints,we were told the chef was new,at the very least my son and granddaughter should have been offered a soft drink whilst waiting for us,the 40 minute wait was fine,the service,need I say,######

Paddy

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coventry hotels

1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Today was the third consecutive poor meal we've had here. We like the venue, but have been constantly let down, so that's it for us now.
Waited 15 minutes in the queue to order, then 40 minutes for 2 medium steaks, which when they eventually arrived we're actually beyond well done.
Yes, they were busy, but they clearly knew the food wasn't up to standard as no one came to do a check back on how our meals were!
It's a pity one has to pay first here as I'd certainly be arguing about it if I was expected to pay after (maybe more care would be taken if it was paid after?).
All in all a very disappointing experience once again from a restaurant that used to be so good.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Covboyste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Cocked Hat, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Covboyste, thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. Your comments were a concern to hear and I would like to investigate your visit further with the Management Team of the pub. I have sent you a direct message to discuss this further and look forward to hearing from you soon. Kind Regards, Fayre & Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We booked two rooms here and both were as bad as each other.
Good points, Free wifi. Clean beds and reasonable comfortable. Thats about it.
Bad.
Damp and musty smelling rooms. Wall paper peeling because of the damp in the walls. Shower working but the shower head broken. Had to improvise with plastic cups to make it work. Soap dispenser needed to be fixed by me. One towel for two people. Yes I could have contacted reception, but when you are ready for a shower and then find all these problems and with no phone to contact reception, it makes it easier just to cope. Both rooms were as bad as each other with different problems.
So all in all a very poor quality hotel.
The manager of this place needs to wake up and do his job, he should be checking the rooms, he should be checking to make sure the cleaners are doing their job. There is obviously a lack of discipline, care and interest here. Im sure head office wouldn't be happy about the place and someone needs to do a surprise visit and check the rooms.
We have stayed in some dumps in the past, but this place is close to being one of the worst,
Would I stay here again? nope. Even the old Campanile in Walsgrave is a better hotel than this.. Very surprised and disappointed with it.

Room Tip: Dont. Find a different hotel..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlabamaRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Cocked Hat, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear AlabamaRon

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Cocked Hat in regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Fayre & Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham england
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

we booked one night at the cocked hat,because we were attending a function at coombe abbey so it was very near for us.the room was very nice and modern,clean,flat screen tv,plenty of tea,coffee,milk etc.lovely shower.we inspected the beds and there wasnt a bit of dust or bits on them or indeed anywhere for that matter.the breakfast was full english and you could help yourself to all the trimmings.toast cerial,juice etc.i must say the receptionist and the young lady that worked in the restuarant couldnt have been more helpful and lovely.10 out of 10 for everything cocked hat !!!!!!! thanks

Room Tip: we were in number 11 on the ground floor, which looked over the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soulsister1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Having booked this hotel at short notice for my sons graduation and paid a very low rate we expected very little. We were very pleasantly surprised, large car park out side hotel very clean pleasant room with nice bathroom. Plenty of coffee and tea, good pub restaurant next door with simple good food plenty of variety, staff very nice. Recommend for short stay or business use.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I really like the cocked hat. Stay here for business in Coventry. Good price and comfortable rooms. I have dinner and a nice bottle of wine in the restaurant and then a good nights sleep. Don't expect anything to fancy but it's great for the money!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
6.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#20 of 39 in Coventry
505 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Coventry Binley Hotel
2.4 mi away
Premiere Classe Coventry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Chace Hotel Coventry
The Chace Hotel Coventry
#26 of 39 in Coventry
498 reviews
1.9 mi away
Citrus Hotel Coventry by Compass Hospitality
2.4 mi away
Ibis Coventry South
Ibis Coventry South
#31 of 39 in Coventry
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocked Hat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocked Hat

Property: Cocked Hat
Address: Rugby Rd | Binley Wood, Coventry CV3 2AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocked Hat 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cocked Hat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocked Hat Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing