We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smallest room ever / great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Coventry South (A45) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Smallest room ever / great breakfast”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This Premier Inn is on a roundabout outside Coventry, a convenient location for exploring the area, if not the most attractive neighbourhood.
The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.
The breakfast was great, it had the full Premier Inn range, including the Costa coffee machine, and the cooked breakfast really good, better than at other Premier Inns.
What really let this hotel down was the size of our room. It was totally unsuitable for a family of 4. By the time the double and 2 singles were set up they took up the whole room and we could barely move. It should not be advertised as a family room. Our 12 year old had to sleep on a rollout that was basically an uncomfortable mattress on the floor.
The bathroom was also a tiny corner room with just a shower, sink and loo, very cramped, and there was a bad drain smell from the sink.
We wouldn't stay here again as a family, even with the great brekkie!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OffWeGoOnATripAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    117
    30
    7
    7
See reviews for
123
101
17
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I am reading reviews by other guests and wondering if we are talking about the same hotel! Yes, the room was clean and comfortable, and the reception was very friendly and helpful. BUT, we did not expect that the hotel did not have a lift. The gal at the front desk offered to help us up the long, winding staircase with our suitcases. We managed, as we are fit seniors.
THE BIGGEST SHOCK was learning that there was no telephone in our room! We spoke to the gal at the desk, and her answer was that most people have a cellphone, so would not need a phone. REALLY? Yes, we had a cell phone, but are we going to use it to make a local call?What if there were a medical emergency? There was a pamphlet telling us to call if there was anything at all that they could do for us. A long phone number was given to call! Would you call this number to call an ambulance? I would think that not having a phone would be illegal! We are Canadian, so not familiar with the protocol for emergency situations. We feel secure that the hotel would help us if need be. Thankfully, we had no problems, and did not have to crawl down the staircase for help at the front desk. Once settled in our room, I went downstairs to get some ice, for a cold drink. Sorry, no ice! REALLY! The very pleasant gal at the desk said we could go to the restaurant next door and ask for ice. I said, "will we need to show our hotel key?" She said, "no they are not associated with our hotel". That made me feel silly asking them for a favor.. The bartender was very busy, but after a wait, he gave me a glass of ice. I promised to return the glass when we came for dinner later. This hotel is fairly new, and it is obvious it was built with cutting corners, to keep the price down. We have been in England for over 2 weeks and paid less for better facilities. What is Lacking?............: no shaver outlet in the bathroom,..cheap toilet tissue dispensed one small square at a time........no kleenix tissues, no shelf in the bathroom to house our toiletries. 30 minutes of free internet, then charged for any use beyond that. Of course, breakfast was an extra charge. The breakfast was good, and the gentleman that was serving was very pleasant, but by morning, we had a bad taste in our mouths, due to the above. On check out we received a receipt printed in small, small type on a piece of paper the size of a toilet paper square. Really! It costs the hotel too much to print on a regular size page? Too bad the amenities of the hotel did not match that of the very fine staff. No more Premier Inn's for us!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Coventry South (A45) Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Really helpful staff on check in. Friendly and helpful staff for breakfast as well. The Harvester next door is also good. Another example of great value from Premier inn.
Harvester had a problem with a grill but made every attempt to offer a meal highlighting what they did have rather than what they couldn't. well done!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 1StEveChaDwicK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We have stopped here before & were looking forward to our return. We were not disappointed, the staff are warm, friendly & welcoming, and the Hotel is clean & quiet with good facilities. The breakfast was excellent too!! But it is the staff who stand out, they are always helpful & cheerful, giving service of a 5 star quality. We will definitely stay again, & recommend to anyone else visiting Coventry.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Brilliant, lovely hotel, friendly and helpful staff, clean and quiet room, good facilities, good breakfast in hotel and restaurant close by. Easy to find, close to main road. We would definitely stay there again.









  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torpoint
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Very good hotel, clean and quiet and would definitely stay here again. Minor concern over size of breakfast room, very small and would be a problem if everyone turned up for breakfast at the same time

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The satnav found it but didn't know where the entrance was - it's not easy to spot. Apart from that this was a good 3 nights. Very quiet despite being on the A45. Staff very helpful and everything up to usual Premier Inn standard. The room seemed to be smaller than average but that didn't really matter as it was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mk_webman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
2.1 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#9 of 39 in Coventry
2,228 reviews
5.2 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,917 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
4.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#20 of 39 in Coventry
506 reviews
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Coventry South (A45) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Coventry South (A45) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Coventry South (A45) Hotel
Address: Kenpas Highway, Coventry CV3 6PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Coventry
#3 Best Value Hotel in Coventry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#9 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Coventry South (A45) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, quiet hotel. We serve a range of breakfasts including the all you can eat Premier Breakfast, Continental, Grab and Go, & 2 children under the age of 16 can eat for free if 1 adult purchases the Premier Breakfast. Most guests take dinner at the Harvester which is located just a short walk away from the hotel so very convenient & great value for money. All rooms have showers provided (no baths) & have been refurbed to the Premier Inn standards. It would be advisable to pre-book in advance as we are very popular, serving Warwick University, Stoneleigh Park & the Birmingham NEC amongst many other attractions & facilities. We offer free car parking facilities, Wifi is available for 30 minutes for free our you can purchase extra Wifi time at reception or from the comfort of you room online. No pets, assistance dogs are welcome. Breakfast is served in our onsite breakfast area & is a great place for our guests to relax together or catch up on work. This area is available for small meetings if required. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Coventry South (A45) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Coventry South (a45) Hotel Coventry
Holiday Inn Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing