We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Coventry
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was awful”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We booked a disabled room for three nights for my elderly parents who had come to visit to celebrate their diamond wedding. They found the room so uncomfortable that they only stayed two nights although the room was already paid for. The bathroom had been adapted for a wheelchair user but the rest of the room was completely unsuitable for people with limited mobility. It was very small, the bed was too high and moved about and there was only one chair provided. The room was on the first floor accessed by one small lift and someway down the corridor. The breakfast buffet, for which they wanted to charge £9 was a shambles. It took them 15 minutes to replenish the sliced bread for the do it yourself toaster and someone who ordered boiled egg was presented with a raw egg! The sexist cartoons in the lift advertising the hotel bar, which were like dirty postcards summed up the ambiance of the place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    766
    741
    441
    172
    118
See reviews for
414
716
109
664
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I stayed at the Village Hotel during a business trip in Coventry and on the whole it’s nice.
Good points
Pool
Food
Clean

Not so good points
My key opened the door of someone else room (bit embarrassing!)
Rooms aren't that big (twin)
It's not the best place to stay without a car.

I will be staying at the hotel again, however this is because it convenient for work.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daveyboy1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast England
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Overall our stay was good, the room was clean modern and comfortable, were amazed there were no tea and coffee making facilities and told on check out "you had to pull out the draw". Also we didn't receive our early morning call. Apart from these things my only other comment was the noise late into the evening as our room overlooked the carpark and people were waiting for taxis after leaving karaoke night in the pub/restaurant.
We had dinner in the pub/restaurant which was mediocre quality, rather than the grill room which we would have preferred but they were fully booked so best to book a table in advance.

Room Tip: Beware noise ask for a room away from the main carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettypringle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I still don't get it why there are rotary wheels on the bottom of bed. The bed move around when you lean to it. This is the most ridiculous design I've ever seen.

Resturant is expensive and the food is not that outstanding.

Highlight is the swimming pool. Enjoyed it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simondx85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed at the village on the way down to the British Gp at Silverstone july 8th.The hotel is great value for money with its adequate rooms and lovely leisure facilities. The breakfast was good. Overall a very good stay

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NIELD8969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales south
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

this hotel was one of the best i have stayed at the hotel was clean modern comftable, the staff were so helpfull, food great beds so comfy wanted to sleep for ever !!! my grandaughter had a good time in the leisure facilities especially the pool , we loved it and want to go to more village hotels in the uk well done to all .... and 42 inch plasma tvs wow !

Room Tip: family rooms were big
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jandaz06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We had read the revues and went with some trepidation. However the rooms were clean and comfy, the service in the restaurant was a little slow but the food was great. Our friends room was very noisy and they were moved without fuss. The staff were mostly great, housekeepers a little surly, but all in all we loved our stay and would go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LynneRSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
1.7 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
557 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,921 reviews
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
2.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#19 of 39 in Coventry
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Coventry

Property: Village Hotel Coventry
Address: Coventry Business Park | Coventry Business Park, Coventry CV4 9GZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Coventry)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Coventry 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Coventry is located just 5 minutes from Coventry City Centre and an ideal location for accessing the M42 - M6 - M5 and M40 motorways. Birmingham International Airport is 10 miles away and Coventry Train Station just 2 miles. Nearby attractions include Warwick Castle, Bull Ring Shopping Centre and Planet ice skating rink. Village Hotel Coventry has 146 comfortable bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Village Hotel Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Coventry
Village Hotel Leisure Coventry
Hotel Village Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing