We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable good quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Coventry
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Reviewed 20 December 2011

In the past 6 weeks we've stayed twice. It's a great hotel with everything we needed. Starting with plenty of free parking, friendly welcome at reception, good size room, comfy bed, more than adequate bathroom and perfectly fine buffet breakfast. We haven't used the swimming pool and gym so cannot comment on those facilities. This hotel is one we return to time and time again. Perhaps we're not that adventurous, but at the end of a long day out this is just what's needed. We made a point of asking in advance for a quiet room away from the function rooms (and Party Night!) and this was taken note of. The staff we met at reception and in the Verve Restaurant and Victory Pub are friendly and helpful. The advance room and breakfast rate we paid was really good value for money.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor rooms are quieter if there is a party night on, but be prepared for a possible long wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FordPumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,259 - 2,265 of 2,429 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2011

This was our second visit for an 80s party night. The previous stay was for a Take That Tribute night. On both occasions we were extremely impressed by the attitude of all the staff we encountered - very helpful, friendly and cheerful (particularly on reception) and found both evenings excellent value for money. The food was surprisingly good and entertainment excellent. Both evenings, which included accommodation, were excellent value for money and I will definitely visit again. The only slight criticism was that breakfast was a little bit chaotic.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

this was a stay for my birthday and it was made special with lovely staff , the food was beautiful we had dinner in the verve grill and breakfast in the morning worth going to. Rooms are clean and comfortable and the bed is so comfy.Reception staff willing to help and very friendly I would say the staff seem happy to work at the village hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

came here for xmas break and expected the same quality as wirral and herons reach. My wife whom is terminally ill was looking forward to the clean high standard of wirral and herons reach. Reception staff as good as allways and no problems there. First room was a walk along a cool corridoor to room 602. Pulled back the covers on the bed and a curly pubic hair greeted us.

after a long wait on the phone to complain i had to visit reception whom were efficent to get us another room..I gave my concerens and we were moved. The next room was as dowdy as the first, marks on the walls and looking tired. The tv picture is grainy and the pillows so soft. Again i made my dissapointed concerns to reception about the room and informed them i was dissapointed and that if i had wanted a tired loooking room i would have booked a brittania hotel.

The room should not be charged at the full price if its not up to the village standard, or in the new corporate scheme, this has been a dissapointment to our break. I have woken this am with a sore neck due to the soft pillows that may as well ot be there

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chino211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We stayed at the Village for one night on Friday 2nd December 2011. On arrival we were greeted by a very pleasant young lady, who was extremely efficient, asked us if we needed help with bags etc., explained everything to us, and explained where our room was. Our room was quite spacious, and we were on the ground floor as requested. We were going to see Sarah Millican at a venue nearby, and asked about taxis, and were told to just ask when we were ready to leave, which we did and a taxi was there within minutes. We stayed in our room for an hour and then went to eat in the bar. I had the most incredible huge Prawn Cocktail, OH had Garlic mushrooms, and we both had ham egg and chips. Very tasty and good value for money! We ordered a bottle of Rose, and the young barman told my husband that they had a promotion on a particular Rose, and it was £10 a bottle! Great stuff!!! After our evening out we came back to the hotel to find that they had an Open Mic night in the bar, so we ordered another bottle of wine and chilled! It was brilliant to see some raw young talent, and it really made our night! In the morning breakfast was OK. I am not a lover of food left in silver tins and help yourself, and unfortunately there was no fresh fruit left when we got there! Also the orange juice was cheap long life stuff! Yuck!! The breakfast restaurant was very busy when we went down to breakfast, but we were seated very quickly, and the staff were very polite and respectful and were doing a great job! It was good value for money in that the room and breakfast for us both was only £65, which for a hotel with such great facilities is very reasonable! We didn't use the pool or any other facilities as we wanted to go and do some Christmas shopping on the Saturday. The same young lady checked us out, and she took note of our concerns, another of which was the carry on to get to our room, you have to go up in one lift, walk quite a way to another lift, then go down in that one to get to the room! I have a disability and cannot walk far so this was a problem, but I managed! We also did not have BBC 1 on our TV and as Sarah Millican was on Saturday Kitchen the next day, we really wanted to watch it!!!! All the niggles were silly little ones really, but to make the stay EXCELLENT they need to be addressed!

Room Tip: If you have a disability, make sure you let them know, as some rooms are a very long way from the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamianGoom, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

Dear Traveller
Thank you for your knid feedback on the hotel and I am delighted that you found the hotel ticked the majority of your boxes and that you found it good vailue for money. We will however take note of the issue you had with the fresh fruit at breakfast and also the reception you had on your TV to ensure that this is rectified for the future.
We very much hope that you will consider us again when visiting the area and welook forward to welcoming you back
Kind Regards
Damian Goom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I have stayed in this hotel on several occasions on business and in the past have had a mixed standard of service.
As a result of what would appear to be changes at the top there has been a radical upturn in quality of service. The rooms are generally fine for a short term stay and the leisure centre is really good. On this occasion the food was reasonable for the price, but the speed and quality of service is definately significantly better than on previous occasions.

Don't expect 5 star because you'll be disappointed, but if you e stayed before and been disappoinnted, its definately worth another look

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricko61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamianGoom, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your recent review following your stay and I thank you very much for your repeat custom especially as you have had mixed experiences in the past.
I am pleased to hear that your recent stay was a good one as it shows evidence that the hard work we are putting into the hotel to raise standards is working. We have carried out alot of training in the food outlets and employed new engaged staff to help deliver the service we know our guests want.
I will be sure to share your comments with the team.
Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Damian Goom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Tried the carvery - great value for money. The staff were welcoming. There was a good selection of starters and the carvery itself, looked and tasted excellent. Only 12.95 each - suprisingly good value and will be going back again

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neilhoyle666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamianGoom, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

Dear Reviewer
Thank you so much for telling the Trip advisor world about our great carvery. It is a great product and we are very proud of it.
Thank you for the great endorsement and we hope to see you again.
Kind Regards
Damian Goom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
1.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
1.7 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
2.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#20 of 39 in Coventry
527 reviews
5.9 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
3,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Coventry

Address: Coventry Business Park | Coventry Business Park, Coventry CV4 9GZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Coventry)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range: £39 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Coventry 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Coventry is located just 5 minutes from Coventry City Centre and an ideal location for accessing the M42 - M6 - M5 and M40 motorways. Birmingham International Airport is 10 miles away and Coventry Train Station just 2 miles. Nearby attractions include Warwick Castle, Bull Ring Shopping Centre and Planet ice skating rink. Village Hotel Coventry has 146 comfortable bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Coventry
Village Hotel Leisure Coventry
Hotel Village Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing