We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good value with smiles all round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Coventry
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“very good value with smiles all round”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

superb overall value for money, the one thing that made our stay so great was the staff, nothing seemed too much trouble. Many places I've stayed at although allowing children access to all areas, have made me feel uncomfortable but here they were treated like people. It has great areas for relaxing or exercising depending on what you feel like and the food was good, always check for specials.
There was one problem with a light but someone from maintenance came very quickly and even chatted to the children while he fixed it. I would recommend this place to friends no bother at all.

Room Tip: try and book ahead if possible as there are sometimes good offers to take up
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamianGoom, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Lindy S
Thank you for your kind review and I am very pleased to hear that your stay was a pleasurable one. I was particularly pleased to see your comments about the team here and that your children were extended our usual welcome.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future
Kind Regards
Damian Goom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    654
    401
    158
    103
See reviews for
349
622
94
592
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

I've stayed in this hotel 3 times over the years, once in 2007, once in 2008 and for four nights in 2012. The good points first. It has a really nice pool, spa and the gym is excellent, so if you're a business traveller, these are real plus points.

There's also a new Starbuck's on site, which is open from 7am week days, so you can get a decent fix of coffee before you go anywhere.

Food wise, there's the Verve restaurant, as well as the Victory Pub, which serves pretty standard bar food. To be honest, the pub is probably the better of the two.

The restaurant menu seems quite limited, lacks soul and why do you pay £2 more for a prawn cocktail there than in the pub (which was pretty nice anyway!) Still haven't figured that one out.

Now, the gripe. The hotel has a wing which is much (and I mean much colder than the other wing of the hotel). You can physically feel the temperature drop as soon as you walk over the threshold into it, which means cold rooms and I mean properly cold. The week I was there, the temperature was below freezing during the day and the room had just a small electric heater.

Guess what, when you leave the room, the power goes off, as does the heating. If you get put there, expect to be chilly.

This is a perfectly OK hotel. It's clean, the bed was comfortable, I slept well enough, but it just doesn't have consistent quality in all areas to make it a 4 dot review.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the warm part!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIkehall1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamianGoom, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Traveller
Thank you for reviewing the hotel on this site and I am pleased that in the main you were happy with the service and the facilities.
With regards to the heating in bedrooms, the rooms do indeed have heaters activated by your keycard and heat the room very quickly once you arrive. However if the temperature is really cold the housekeepers ensure that a card is placed in the electric socket well before guests arrival so the room is warm. I am sorry that on this occasion you have not been placed into one of these rooms.
I hope that this will not deter you from staying again in the future.
Kind regards
Damian Goom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTH YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Went with friends for a long weekend. The food not up to much, staff were very good though.Make sure you take all necessary toiletries with you as the ones in the bathroom are very basic. Shower over bath very good and plenty of hot water, towels changed when requested. All in all it's an average hotel, but make sure if you want to use the leisure club that you get in early as it's open to outsiders and gets very very busy especially with children. The 'pub' prices in the hotel are very misleading - can have special offers on but not advertised so please ask and if you stay over a weekend the offers may be on 1 night but not the other so beware. One thing I will say is that the beds are one of the most comfortable we have slept in.

Room Tip: rooms at front are lit most of the night with the floodlights so ask to be at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAPPYHOLIDAYMAKER20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamianGoom, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Travelller
Thank you for posting a review of the hotel on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that in the main you were happy with the experience but take note of a number of concerns. Although our Leisure Club is sold for private membership and is extremely busy we do have set Childrens hours allowing a significant amount of adult time. In the pub all offers are publicised on chalk boards and on the menu. We do offer a different promotion/event each day in the pub (including a Quiz night on Tuesdays, a curry night on Thursdays etc) which are advertised on posters both inside & outside of the pub and also on the placemats we use.
We hope that you are able to take advantage of these in the future.
Thanks again for your comments.
Kind Regards
Damian Goom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We were excited to find a fairly reasonable priced hotel near to our son in Coventry and we were looking forward to a relaxing weekend. Our plans to eat in the Victory pub attached to the hotel were quickly quashed by the over powering Karaoke which started despite the fact that, like us, most of the customers were happily watching the FA Cup game on the big screen. When the DJ tried to turn the TV off he was stopped by the mother of a family sitting next to us but this did not stop him turning up the music so that any conversation or football watching could take place. We left before ordering food and went into town. Before leaving I went to collect our coats from our room where I was greeted with the Karaoke blasting through the floor. I asked at reception when the music stopped and the helpful girl rang someone whom confirmed it would be 11.30pm. Knowing there was no point returning before this time we stayed out until 11.30 but on our return the party was still up and running even louder than before. At 11.50 I rang reception to ask about when the music would stop and was told they would try for midnight- which is when the music did stop. The reception did offer to change our room but at this point it was late and we really couldn't face the hassle. I wonder though, if there were quieter rooms available why the hotel don't put guests in those before filling up the ones directly above the pub?

Other than this I found the cleaning in the room slack, when I picked the towels up from behind the bathroom door there was a pile of dust and hairs which had not been cleaned for some time and the TV and windowsill were equally dusty. If this hotel had sold itself to us as a budget one I would have accepted these minor failings but I find the glossy website and talk of "Luxury British break" misleading.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 789janda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

I stayed here whilst on a business trip to Coventry. The room was comfortable with TV, tea making facilities and an ironing board. The Wi-fi was free and had a strong signal throughout the hotel.

The hotel has a restaurant and a bar that serves reasonably priced pub type food.

Breakfast consisted of cereal, toast and self service cooked food.

There were extensive leisure facilities including a gym, sauna and pool.

An ideal hotel for business travellers.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
babygirl19861001
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I am still enjoying my two night spa break here, but i felt compelled to document what a wonderful time I am having. The room is lovely, the staff are lovely and the spa treatments are second to none. I have been to many spa's and had various treatments but I must say to date I have had the BEST treatments here. I recieved a neck, shoulder and back massage and a facial from the lovely "Rachael" who was fabulous!
The only complaint I have is that I didn't book anymore treatments!!
A GREAT WAY TO SPEND MY BIRTHDAY!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babygirl19861001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wales
Level Contributor
134 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed at the Village Coventry on route back from our christmas holiday in North Yorkshire. with our two small children. We were tired after a long drive and we had booked a family room. The check in staff were quick and efficient and we were soon on our way to the room.............which was a very long way - it would have been nice if the reception had told us this and offered help with our bags - considering we were tired with bags and two small children. The room was clean and bright and the sofa bed had been made up for the children - unfortunately the matress on the sofa bed was really not adequate leaving one effectively sleeping on the springs. Having said this, the quality of the nights sleep (room temp, noise from other rooms etc) was very good. The following morning we ahd the breakfast which was included in the price - which was very good and then hit the pool which was great. Word of advice - pack-up your car first before using the pool because check-out is at 11.00 - you'll get more pool time if you don't have run back to the room to pack.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestWalesHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,719 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Belgrade Plaza) Hotel
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry South (A45) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Coventry

Property: Village Hotel Coventry
Address: Coventry Business Park | Coventry Business Park, Coventry CV4 9GZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Coventry)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Coventry 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Coventry is located just 5 minutes from Coventry City Centre and an ideal location for accessing the M42 - M6 - M5 and M40 motorways. Birmingham International Airport is 10 miles away and Coventry Train Station just 2 miles. Nearby attractions include Warwick Castle, Bull Ring Shopping Centre and Planet ice skating rink. Village Hotel Coventry has 146 comfortable bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Coventry
Village Hotel Leisure Coventry
Hotel Village Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing