We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Coventry
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Bilston, United Kingdom
1 review
“weekend”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

weekend away ,very impressed with the standard of the hotel ,and the facilities ,the staff were so helpful ,especially michael for his help ,looking forward to our next stay ,a good hotel for a weekend away

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    725
    717
    432
    167
    113
See reviews for
391
685
102
648
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I recently stayed at 'the Village' with a group of overseas colleagues and we were all impressed by the standard of the rooms and leisure facilities.The staff members were helpful and we enjoyed an excellent breakfast each morning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beautifuljade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Imagine an old travel lodge bolted to a council leisure center, with a 80's chic made over lobby featuring a star bucks, and a weatherspoons with out the value!
But by far the worst thing was the "Grill" the Sunday carvery was a disaster, the restaurant was staffed by teenagers without a customer service NVQ between them. The place was dirty the food was almost in edible. The only thing the beef was good for is on the soles of shoes. The Yorkshire pudding should not blunt a knife and would be better suited for use as an axle stand.
It wasn't all bad as who ever designed the staff uniform had a great sense of humor by embroidering it with "V Happy". The people wearing it were not "V happy"! And I was also not "V Happy" being charged £15 for the worst roast dinner I have ever had!
It begs the question what was the manager doing? The regional manager? It had the real feeling of neglect and not giving a toss.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamesbryantuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Booked here as a place to stay in October for a long weekend with my boyfriend to celebrate his 21st birthday! I had already contacted the hotel prior to our stay and made them aware it was his birthday and asked whether there was anything special they could do as in decorate the room for him whilst we were out in the day. they were very helpful in doing so and even kept it a secret from my boyfriend which was lovely! they upgraded us for free to the upper deck which was a pleasant surprise and definitely made our stay as it was a lovely room! Rooms very clean, staff are very helpful however not a great location to anywhere to eat/drink.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 668anonymousreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,332 reviews
299 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 688 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The De Vere brand tends to underwhelm me.

Stayed in one of their Upper Deck rooms which carry a £20 supplement for extras in room such as Sky TV, Bose dock, mineral water. Bed was very comfy but bathroom had a good few hairs clearly belonging to a previous female guest clinging to the tiling over the bath. Also found the heater was inadequate for the size of the room. You might also have thought that as the heating is operated by a room key card they would have it on for guests arriving in their room in January; but they didn't.

Restaurant food was OK (though actually good value with a set menu of 3 courses for 2 people at £29). Service was mixed with some mistakes with order and some mistakes with the bill. Breakfast was OK but not the widest choice and no obvious menus if you wanted something instead of the buffet.

Located on a business park with no obvious places to walk to for alternative eats!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

So, had to wait 15 minutes to check in, arrived at a room which was worse than a travel lodge. Got woken up by someone in the next room snoring in the middle of the night.

Rooms were very dated. You could pay £20 and upgrade to a room which was better equipped but in my opinion all of the rooms in the hotel should be at that standard.

Not a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nottsgirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I went to meet someone who was a guest but not stayed here myself. Huge car park on industrial park off the A45. It was late afternoon and the huge Christmas Tree had blown over, and though attractive the lights were sprawled all over the terrace in a dangerous way. Pushed through a large group of ignorant suited mouthy people smoking outside the front doors. Thought that was forbidden? Foyer was packed, like a station with people to-ing and fro-ing from the pool and leisure centre. Told there was no guest lounge where we could relax and catch up, unbelievabe for a hotel of it's size, so we sat in the crowded coffee shop (sandwiched, pun intended! bewteen 2 chaps on laptops tapping away) because it was the brightest room. Foyer was qloomy and soulless apart from a huge gaggle of mothers and babies having a meeting. The whole place is decorated in grey, the woodwork, including the carpet and spreads to the mock plastic beams in the huge bar with TV screens, which was dark with a rowdy crowd in already.
I paid an extortionate one off fee to use the pool. The changing room was large but a bit dark, a bit untidy, and with a TV blaring one end and music blaring the other, no attendant, a member directed me to the pool which was large warm and reasonably busy. The sauna's were tiny and packed so we didn't bother, the whirlpool was full of rattling women. There were some loungers looking out on to a narrow patio which is in a dip, above which is the service area, dustbins are carpark.
The swimming lessons made the pool a lot smaller though but there were 2 little splash pools. The attendant didn't bother that we were divebombed by some little montsters and the pool is not a deep one. The parents are supposed to control their children said a fellow swimmer but they were nowhere to be seen. Neither was the attendant who disappeared. We noticed an unpleasent looking residue of dirt that had gathered on the pool bottom though by the curved steps in one corner. Had we seen it when we got in we might have thought twice about it.
We also noted that users of the saunas and whirlpool got in to the pool without showering. Yuk!
When I went for my shower, itwas peak time. The cubicles were taken, 2 were out of order, one was used for storing mops and bleach. In the open shower 3 were out of order. Only a tiny area to dry off. There was an attendant this time who splashed me with his mop. He assured me it wasn't bleach but I went back and rinsed my legs just incase.
There were some hairdyers not working and some of the locker doors were hanging off and lots of the clothes pegs were broken. I was glad to get out of there. I exited by the grey walled corrider. My friend said the room was OK, basic and but at night. They had booked in for the Christmas Dinner but was told it was full and ended up with a curry.The breakfast was basic, she asked for more jam and was told it would be extra! Glad I wasn't guest.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarkMidland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
1.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
1.7 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,865 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
502 reviews
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Coventry

Property: Village Hotel Coventry
Address: Coventry Business Park | Coventry Business Park, Coventry CV4 9GZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Coventry)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Coventry 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Coventry is located just 5 minutes from Coventry City Centre and an ideal location for accessing the M42 - M6 - M5 and M40 motorways. Birmingham International Airport is 10 miles away and Coventry Train Station just 2 miles. Nearby attractions include Warwick Castle, Bull Ring Shopping Centre and Planet ice skating rink. Village Hotel Coventry has 146 comfortable bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Coventry
Village Hotel Leisure Coventry
Hotel Village Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing