We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Promises lots delivers little”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Coventry
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Promises lots delivers little”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Tiny room, no air con. £2.50 credit card policy is poor. Was not made aware of this until I went pay. Receptionist pointed at a tiny card on the counter and said it was in ts and cs I signed night before, now that's service. Whoever writes the copy for food menu is fantastic but the food itself is very average and very small portions. Not a cheap option and not a great one. Rather go economy and eat out than stay in one of these places again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Andy H,

Many Thanks for the feedback provided following your stay last month, obviously disappointed that all was not to your liking however the feedback is valuable and as a business we react accordingly. Currently the type and style of menus are being addressed along with heightened levels of quality and preparation and I would be confident that we will see change.
My apologies that on this occasion we did not meet with your expectations .

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    698
    418
    162
    108
See reviews for
382
659
100
623
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Goa, India
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

didn't stay here but the food & drinks were served with a smile & the swimming pool is apx 25m so really good, hop on the bus outside to take you into Coventry city centre which is just 10 min bus ride away, nice place for lunch or dinner,will visit again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetervCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Petervcoventry,

Delighetd to have recveived your review on trip advisor following your recent visit, really appreciate the time taken to share provide the valuable feedback.

Hope to see you again v.soon

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

This is the first village hotel I have stayed in but I have had gym membership with them in the past. I was very disappointed! The staff were all unfriendly, unhelpful and on occasion rude, with the exception of Nicola on reception, she was lovely, helpful and friendly. The food was very poor quality, basic and poorly presented - this includes breakfast and food in The Victory pub. Interestingly, our 12 & 13 year old daughters had to pay as adults for room and food but could only use the leisure facilities as children, seemed unfair to me. Staff in leisure centre also very unfriendly. I can't remember a hotel stay were I have been treated so poorly!! I would avoid staying in a village hotel in the future. I sometimes use Premier Inns and would definitely stay in these above Village hotels. Plus, Starbucks is an unethical company, I'd prefer Costa any day.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank caznlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Went during Easter Break. When we walked in through the door we were welcomed by the lovely staff members at the front desk (always helpful). Breakfast was lovely (help yourself),The choice of bar menu or restaurant offers varied food and reasonably priced, we used leisure facilities all the time as it was free (always clean). In the room it had everything you wanted from an Iron Board,Bed,Cupids, En Suite and it included Freeview (all channels)+ HD (BBC1,BBC2,ITV,CH4,BBC3) alongside some sky channels (sky sports and others).Didn't go upper deck but with that package you also get Sky Movies! It is worth going back especially with free leisure facilities!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here on business as was attending a seminar at the hotel the following day. Smaller room than some other De vere hotels I've stayed in but clean and very comfortable bed and good shower. So good that the steam generated set off the fire alarm in the room! Friedly and courteous staff. Swimming pool and spa on site if you want to use it. Restaurant Grill provided good steak and good service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinatDesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvechurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed for a mid week break away from the kids and found this a good value for money hotel. The choice of bar menu or restaurant offers varied food and reasonably priced.
The room (king room) was spacious, clean and in good decorative order. En suite large and clean.
The pool, jacuzzi etc are well appointed and was not busy in the mid week morning.
The only adverse comment would be to suggest the hotel puts in quiet closing bedroom doors, as in the evening or morning if you are sleeping whilst others are moving, you are likely to be woken.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukrugby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed Saturday 19 April, paid £59 for the room including breakfast, which is excellent value, thou I did book 3 months ago. (A tip to getting the room at a good price always book in advance as the prices do change all the time)? I stay here regular as family are in Coventry. Had fab service. Our room was nice and clean tidy just as you would expect. I never pay to upgrade as we only use the room to sleep in as always out and about with family/friends, so don't feel the need for sky moves, free toiletries etc. We did however on this occasion use the gym which was very good and I used the spa I had my nails done, which I am extremely happy with. Pre-booked a table in the restaurant had excellent service, amazing food, staff were friendly and polite, love the new relaxed uniforms. Good service all round. Staying again soon and hope to have another enjoyable experience in the village.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisef87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
1.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
5.9 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
543 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
493 reviews
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Coventry

Property: Village Hotel Coventry
Address: Coventry Business Park | Coventry Business Park, Coventry CV4 9GZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Coventry)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Coventry 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Coventry is located just 5 minutes from Coventry City Centre and an ideal location for accessing the M42 - M6 - M5 and M40 motorways. Birmingham International Airport is 10 miles away and Coventry Train Station just 2 miles. Nearby attractions include Warwick Castle, Bull Ring Shopping Centre and Planet ice skating rink. Village Hotel Coventry has 146 comfortable bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Coventry
Village Hotel Leisure Coventry
Hotel Village Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing