We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel ideally situated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Coventry
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good hotel ideally situated”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Booked in for a one night stay to attend a school reunion elsewhere in city centre. That's the first good thing - easy walking distance of city centre - approx 15 mins. We stayed in the Upper Deck part of the hotel and had a large very stylish room which was very clean, as was the bathroom. The pool downstairs was nice and warm and not too overcrowded despite it being a Saturday afternoon. My wife was interested in the spa treatments but hadn't pre-booked and they were fully booked - so take note. There was a wedding reception taking place in the hotel but despite this the hotel room was still nice and quiet. Staff at reception, the bars and in the breakfast room were pleasant and professional if not overly friendly. Room service food was good but my wife felt the choice was limited. Good to have a large number of Sky channels in the bedroom. Overall, would definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a Upper Deck room - these are more recently refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stylesr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Styles1,

Delighted to have received the review posted on trip advisor following your recent stay at the hotel, guest feedback is vital and we appreciate the time you have taken to share your view.

We hope that the next time you are visitng the area we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back.

In the meantime

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    653
    400
    158
    103
See reviews for
349
621
94
591
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Nice, basic hotel with clean, comfortable rooms. The highlight for me was the leisure centre. The gym was large enough and well equipped. The pool was a decent size, the sauna and steam rooms were good and it all seemed quite clean and well maintained. It was wonderful to relax there after a long day in stuffy meeting rooms!
The staff were ok - no complaints but nobody special either. The food wasn't great, but I am horribly picky so only places that have a large selection seem to please me.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemissnuisance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Littlemissnuisance,

Many Thanks for taking the time to post your review of the hotel with trip advisor. Delighted to read that you enjoyed the leisure centre in particular and i hope that on future visits to the area business or pleasure we will have the opportunity of welcoming you bck.

In the meantime

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Tiny room, no air con. £2.50 credit card policy is poor. Was not made aware of this until I went pay. Receptionist pointed at a tiny card on the counter and said it was in ts and cs I signed night before, now that's service. Whoever writes the copy for food menu is fantastic but the food itself is very average and very small portions. Not a cheap option and not a great one. Rather go economy and eat out than stay in one of these places again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Andy H,

Many Thanks for the feedback provided following your stay last month, obviously disappointed that all was not to your liking however the feedback is valuable and as a business we react accordingly. Currently the type and style of menus are being addressed along with heightened levels of quality and preparation and I would be confident that we will see change.
My apologies that on this occasion we did not meet with your expectations .

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa, India
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

didn't stay here but the food & drinks were served with a smile & the swimming pool is apx 25m so really good, hop on the bus outside to take you into Coventry city centre which is just 10 min bus ride away, nice place for lunch or dinner,will visit again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetervCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Petervcoventry,

Delighetd to have recveived your review on trip advisor following your recent visit, really appreciate the time taken to share provide the valuable feedback.

Hope to see you again v.soon

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

This is the first village hotel I have stayed in but I have had gym membership with them in the past. I was very disappointed! The staff were all unfriendly, unhelpful and on occasion rude, with the exception of Nicola on reception, she was lovely, helpful and friendly. The food was very poor quality, basic and poorly presented - this includes breakfast and food in The Victory pub. Interestingly, our 12 & 13 year old daughters had to pay as adults for room and food but could only use the leisure facilities as children, seemed unfair to me. Staff in leisure centre also very unfriendly. I can't remember a hotel stay were I have been treated so poorly!! I would avoid staying in a village hotel in the future. I sometimes use Premier Inns and would definitely stay in these above Village hotels. Plus, Starbucks is an unethical company, I'd prefer Costa any day.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank caznlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Went during Easter Break. When we walked in through the door we were welcomed by the lovely staff members at the front desk (always helpful). Breakfast was lovely (help yourself),The choice of bar menu or restaurant offers varied food and reasonably priced, we used leisure facilities all the time as it was free (always clean). In the room it had everything you wanted from an Iron Board,Bed,Cupids, En Suite and it included Freeview (all channels)+ HD (BBC1,BBC2,ITV,CH4,BBC3) alongside some sky channels (sky sports and others).Didn't go upper deck but with that package you also get Sky Movies! It is worth going back especially with free leisure facilities!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here on business as was attending a seminar at the hotel the following day. Smaller room than some other De vere hotels I've stayed in but clean and very comfortable bed and good shower. So good that the steam generated set off the fire alarm in the room! Friedly and courteous staff. Swimming pool and spa on site if you want to use it. Restaurant Grill provided good steak and good service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinatDesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,716 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Belgrade Plaza) Hotel
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry South (A45) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Coventry

Property: Village Hotel Coventry
Address: Coventry Business Park | Coventry Business Park, Coventry CV4 9GZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Coventry)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Coventry 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Coventry is located just 5 minutes from Coventry City Centre and an ideal location for accessing the M42 - M6 - M5 and M40 motorways. Birmingham International Airport is 10 miles away and Coventry Train Station just 2 miles. Nearby attractions include Warwick Castle, Bull Ring Shopping Centre and Planet ice skating rink. Village Hotel Coventry has 146 comfortable bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Coventry
Village Hotel Leisure Coventry
Hotel Village Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing