We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Base for a couple of days sightseeing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Coventry
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Base for a couple of days sightseeing”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Went to Coventry to see the Cathedral and Transport Museum and the hotel seemed to offer a convenient location with plenty of facilities.

We stayed for two nights and the place was throbbing with people. This made a bit noisy in the evening with people being loud immediately outside our window - which was open because we could not seem to get the cooling to work.

The staff were delightful, very friendly and helpful. We had breakfasts and one evening meal in the hotel. Breakfast was adequate - more toast making facilities would have helped with the queues. The evening meal was very good and reasonably priced by eating earlier and taking advantage of a meal deal.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front overlook the outdoor drinking areas, which can be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phlute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Phlute,

Many Thanks for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor. Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time and that the staff were attentive.
I hope that on future visits to the area we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back.

In the meantime

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    675
    404
    160
    106
See reviews for
365
634
98
604
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I arrived to check in - whilst the check in was reasonable - got into the room - which was small and very hot - the windows wouldn't open beyond a few centimetres.

there are no rooms with air con - I waited 25 minutes to discuss with one person on check in - obviously not enough staff on - as I have called down from my room on numerous occasions - without my call being answered.

The food I ordered was less than good and service was mediocre.

Breakfast was ok - but the dining room felt a little grubby - and needed a good clean.

will not stay at a Village hotel again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Fspark,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your review with trip advisor following your recent stay, obviosuly we are disappointed that on this occasion we failed to meet the requied standards
The feedback we receive from guests is vital if we are to make improvement and my role is to ensure that through investment in the product and training and development of the team that we exceed guest expectations.
My sincere apologies that on this occasion we fell below par but a reassurance that we will work hard to make change.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a very good hotel with lovely on-site facilities including a leisure centre and spa tucked away in a business park with easy access to several nearby restaurants and a 10 minute drive to city centre. The rooms are good but nothing spectacular. It is clean and maintained to high standards with freeview tv. It has on-site bar, Starbucks coffee shop and a business suite with free parking facilities. The rooms are priced reasonably but the food and drinks are expensive and not really value for money. However it is a good base for a one night stay with friends or family if you are looking for more than just a place to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drkamath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear drkamath,

Delighted to have received your review and thank you for sharing your comments with trip advisor about ther hotel, we hope that on future visits to the area we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I am a member of the Leisure club and used to enjoy the restaurants from time to time, don't know what has happened but the food now lacks fineness etc. It is also expensive for a place without ambience, a pity really, obviously it now caters for the mass chain market, Weatherspoons might be cheap but at least you get some value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Jennifer T,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review with Trip Advisor, we really do value the feedback we receive from our guests. Whilst disappointed with content what I can tell you is that in July/August of this year we are upgrading the restaurant with the launch of a new menu which we are confident will be well received in the locality.
If you woulld like to discuss the upgrade or any other aspects of your membership of the leisure club then please do not hesitate to ask for me at the front desk the next time you are visiting.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
438 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night when working in Coventry. All the staff seemed friendly. Service in the verve restaurant was good and the food tasty. A good nights sleep and then breakfast was nice the best morning . A recommended place to stay if you find yourself "sent to Coventry!"

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank adam_nwuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear adam_nwuk,

Delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, many thanks for taking the time to share it with trip advisor, on behalf of the team we look forward to welcoming you back when next in the area.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here in March 2014 as I was on a one night stay on business. The room was fantastic as were the facilities.
I ate in the on site restaurant as I had a voucher and had a 3 course meal which were all fantastic.
Plenty of places to park the car and easy to find. Recpetion / check in was prompt and efficent.

Look forward to returning if in the area again.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are great, I was near the back so no road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte_maher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Charlotte_Maher,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with trip advisor following your recent stay, we are delighted that you had an enjoyable visit and look forward to welcoming you back when next in the area.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We arrived at 16:00 after a long journey, all the kids wanted to do was go for a swim so after unpacking we headed down to the pool (16:40). However we were told at the entrance to the pool that children were not allowed in the pool after 16:30!!! Our young kids were literally in tears, and were subsequently a pain for the rest of the evening as had nothing else to do.
It's a nice hotel but seems to be facing an identity crisis, it can't make its mind up whether it is a nightclub, fitness club or hotel! I stayed at a De Vere in December for an Xmas party - it was perfect for that as we partied in the function room and then straight up stairs for bed. But for day to day B&B it wouldn't be a first choice, especially for families!
We upgraded to an upper-deck room, in general very nice but we were missing several items from the tea service and upon reporting this we were told there were no supplies left! Attention to detail on cleaning could be improved although acceptable.
Our over-riding feeling is that we have paid the same amount as other guests to use the facilities and as we were denied access to the pool just because we have kids surely we should pay less?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at Village Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Andy R,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with trip advisor following your recent stay with the family. We really do value the views and opinions of our guests as we constantly strive to make improvements to the levels of service and facilities on offer.

Whilst I was delighted to read that there were aspects you did enjoy please accept my apologies for the disappointment with the swim times, clearly something as a business we need to take a look at.

I hope that on future visits to the area wewill have the oppoortunity of welcoming you back but in the meantime.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,763 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Belgrade Plaza) Hotel
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry South (A45) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Coventry

Property: Village Hotel Coventry
Address: Coventry Business Park | Coventry Business Park, Coventry CV4 9GZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Coventry)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Coventry 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Coventry is located just 5 minutes from Coventry City Centre and an ideal location for accessing the M42 - M6 - M5 and M40 motorways. Birmingham International Airport is 10 miles away and Coventry Train Station just 2 miles. Nearby attractions include Warwick Castle, Bull Ring Shopping Centre and Planet ice skating rink. Village Hotel Coventry has 146 comfortable bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Coventry
Village Hotel Leisure Coventry
Hotel Village Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing