We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Place to stay in the Midlands” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Coventry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Coventry
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
GreenLeadersBronze level
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Super Place to stay in the Midlands”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

I stayed a few nights over Christmas while visiting family and as a rseult it was very quiet. Im not sure that I was the only person staying but it felt like it! The staff on hand were all very helpful, chatty and eager to please, they made a special fuss of my son who really enjoyed himself. There is a good games area for kids and an outdoor play area when the weather is good. Clean bright modern hotel very well located for the Ricoh and everywhere else for that matter. Tip top breakfast, newspapers, spotless rooms. Hard to fault so i wont. Thanks very much, we will be staying again thats for sure.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lhershon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Dear Reviewer,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Novotel Coventry. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team as I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Once again thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be just as pleasant with this in mind I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours faithfully,
Jackie Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    199
    96
    47
    22
See reviews for
115
111
18
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

I am so happy with the Novotel in Coventry that I refuse to stay anywhere else. Very comfortable rooms, always impeccably clean, excellent food from a la carte in the restaurant to snacks in the bar, and lovely staff in all areas particularly reception.

It's a very quiet hotel so a good night's sleep is guranteed; and there's a great selection of films on the TV in the room.

I am a frequent, business traveller and stay away on business a lot. The Novotel Coventry is, without a doubt, the best value for money I know; I would recommed it wholeheartedly for business and social travellers alike.

Room Tip: They're all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCoventry, Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Dear Valued Guest
Novotel as a brand strives to provide excellent customer service and high standards I would like to personally thank you for providing us with feedback, which is invaluable in our efforts to continually, improve the quality of our services.
It is always a pleasure to welcome you to Novotel Coventry with this in mind I hope the hotel team continue to meet your expectations if not exceed them.
I look forward to welcoming you soon.

Regards
Jackie Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

It was nice and quiet on the weekend I stayed and I found the staff very helpful and friendly. My only complaints would be that the price of a continental breakfast is a bit steep, and I had not realized that parking costs extra. Having said that, I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Dear Reviewer,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at Novotel Coventry. Direct guest feedback is very much appreciated as this assists us in monitoring the services and standards which we offer to our guests, enabling us to constantly strive to improve and maintain them and where necessary take remedial action through training and maintenance.
Unfortunately breakfast charges are set centrally although Novotel Coventry offers a great continental breakfast delivered to your room at £13.95 and cooked breakfast at £16.95, we also give all our guests the option to book an £8.00 breakfast on the day of arrival subject to terms and conditions.
If I could also take this opportunity to inform your comment regarding car parking charges is very valuable as we are currently in the process of reviewing car parking charges for the hotel.
In regards to your comment regarding staff I will have great pleasure in sharing your comments with our hotel team as I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Once again thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming back in the not too distant future.

Yours faithfully,
Jackie Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Only stayed a night for a stop over but everything was good. The reception was friendly, the room was clean and the place was quiet even near the main road. Only thing I would say is that the parking fee may be a little excessive. The car park was not a secure lock up etc, just a normal outdoor car park, but you get charged each day you stay. Not very well advertised that you have to pay a charge and its not like it is near public transport links / in a city centre so most people would be driving there I would imagine. Having said that it is only about £4 a day.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Dear Reviewer

Novotel as a brand strives to provide excellent customer service and high standards I would like to personally thank you for providing us with feedback, which is invaluable in our efforts to continually, improve the quality of our services.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Regards
Jackie Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We arrived to check in to the hotel at the same time as two bus tours did.Kelly the team leader, managed to get everybody checked in and she did an excellent job as some of the tour members were not very easily pleased .We had a nice room over looking the lawn area of the hotel site.The resturant food and service was excellent, good food selection.Onthe Sunday morning the Hotel Manager Jackie, made the lounge avaiable for us so we could watch our All Blacks bet the French.The hotel staff made us feel at home and we had an enjoyable experience and would recommend this hotel to stay at, close to the city but far enough away from the busyness of Coventry.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Dear Reviewer,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at Novotel Coventry. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will have great pleasure in sharing your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kindest Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

3 nights - never again by choice.
Staff were friendly, decor dated (painted artex) which resembled 1950's holiday camp. Room dated but clean and well serviced by housekeeping (albeit only 2 sugars left each day!, although of course you could ask for more).
Evening meal was not good - bordering on the just-acceptable
Breakfast was AWFUL (especially at published price of £13.95). 2 of 3 days only bread was "sliced", no croissants, pastries, rolls, just a row of empty baskets. Get your "hot" (supposedly) breakfast and they run out of eggs and mushrooms;,bring out eggs, and later mushrooms by which time breakfast and eggs cold.
Cannot open window if required, unless you can cope with contiual motorway noise
I know it's a personal thing, but having paid £200 for a stay, I dont like having to pay £4 car park either.
Thank goodness I had a corporate rate - at published price of £115 + £13.95 breakfast +£4 parking, if it had been my own money I would have been sick (without the help of the breakfast)

Room Tip: Insist on the back (not facing motorway. Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Novotel Coventry and bringing to my attention the dissatisfaction that you experienced.
Novotel as a brand strives to provide excellent customer service and high standards I would like to take this opportunity to apologies for your disappointment on this occasion please be assured the shortfalls you experienced with our Elements Restaurant and breakfast quality are not reflective of our usual level of guest satisfaction associated with our hotel. I have personally addressed this matter with my Food and Beverage Manager who will take remedial action through training as shortfalls as such are dealt with priority to eliminate reoccurrences
My only objective is to renew your faith in the services provided by Novotel Coventry and hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Yours faithfully
Jackie Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

This hotel looks better from the outside. Car parking is good, Chargeable. Only one Bar staff, on a saturday evening, had to wait for ages for drinks. Check in staff very happy and cheerful. The room was on the 2nd Floor. Had to climb stairs with luggage as the Lift was faulty. The room itself was dreary, probably last decorated many many years ago. The toilet reminded me of the 70's. Worst of all the bin in the bathroom had not been cleaned.
Breakfast next morning was fine. Check out again nice. Staff OK, Hotel No Way, Needs a make over.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Basilsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Novotel Coventry and bringing to my attention the dissatisfaction that you experienced.
Novotel as a brand strives to provide excellent customer service and high standards I can only profusely apologise for your disappointment on this occasion.
I would like to thank you for highlighting the shortfalls in quality of accommodation in reference to the decor and design of our bedrooms.
The bedrooms at Novotel Coventry have been fully refurbished three years prior whilst the restaurant, bar and lobby area were refurbished three years prior, please be assured your experience on this occasion is not reflective of our usual level of guest satisfaction associated with Novotel Coventry.
I appreciate your frustrations with the lift not being operational and would like to offer my profuse apologies for luggage assistance not being offered on arrival as per brand standards and have personally addressed this matter as human errors as such are dealt with priority to eliminate reoccurrences.
Thank you once again for providing us with feedback, which is invaluable in our efforts to continually improve the quality of our services and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours faithfully
Jackie Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel at Ricoh Arena - Coventry
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Belgrade Plaza) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2
3.9 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Coventry

Property: Novotel Coventry
Address: Wilsons Lane | Longford, M6 Junction 3, Coventry CV6 6HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Coventry
#11 Family Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Coventry 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Coventry M6/J3 is an AA rated hotel located within walking distance of Ricoh Arena and 15 minutes from the centre of Coventry, Birmingham International Airport and the NEC. Ideal for a business trip with 8 meeting rooms for conferences and semi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Coventry Hotel Coventry
Coventry Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing