We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for a stopover”
Review of Novotel Coventry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Coventry
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This hotel is just off the M6 on the outskirts of Coventry, so it is really more of a stopover place rather than a destination hotel. Having said that, it is a damn sight better than a Travelodge or even a Premier Inn, so if what you want is a stopover, this will do the job nicely. It's also near the Ricoh stadium where Coventry City play.

Having stayed in a few Novotels, this is definitely not up to the high standards of the others in city centre locations, but it's fine for the price. I got a special deal of under £50 including breakfast for two, and for that price you can't complain. All the usual facilities are there, including ironing board, tea and coffee, free toiletries etc and there is a separate loo and bathroom. The atmosphere in the bar and restaurant was rather forlorn - lots of single middle-aged men looking as if they would rather be at home with the wife and kids - but pleasant enough in an antiseptic kind of way.

One thing to be aware of is that there is a £4 charge for using the car park. This includes hotel guests so it is effectively an addition to the rate. As far as I am aware, this is only one charge per stay, not per exit from the car park (we only went overnight so didn't get a chance to find out.) Perhaps this could be clarified by the management in their response.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfuhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thankyou for taking the time to comment on your stay here it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

With regards to the car parking, It is a one off fee of £4.00 per stay payable on departure.

We look forward to welcoming you back here in the future.

Kind Regards
Jackie Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy1976Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 August 2012

the rooms are basic but practical there are no frills and i see that you can book the room for a 'quick nap' yeah .. the place is exactly what it looks like ie somewhere you would go for a 'quicky'... saying that the staff were friendly, approachable and helpful. but sadly i dont think we will return

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happywandererUpNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We appreciate your time and comments and these will be shared with the team.

Kind Regards
Jackie Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

My wife and I had booked this hotel for 2 nights to go to the Olympic football at The Ricoh Stadium. The hotel was perfectly situated for access off the M6 motorway and within 10 minutes easy walk to the stadium. The reception staff were delightful and exteremely helpful. The rooms were smart, modern and well equipped. The restaurant menu offered a good choice and the dining room staff served the freshly cooked food with efficiency and a smile and a pleasant conversation, despite being busy. Carpark security was good and the gardens were lovely. Well done Accor Hotels.

Room Tip: Leave the car at the hotel and get the bus into Coventry to sample the delights of the city centre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidzmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Reviewer

I would like to thank you personally for your review of our hotel.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and know that our guests leave happy.

I will share your comments with the teams as i am sure this will be a great encouragement for them all moving forward.

We hope to see you in Coventry again soon.

Many Thanks
Jackie Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Our Sons wedding was held at The Novotel, Coventry. A very well refurbished hotel, modern and comfortable. Nice bedrooms with all required facilities, including very secure parking. Staff were excellent and attentive. The civil wedding ceromony was in pleasent surroundings and all arrangements went off perfectly. The food was very good and, its worth saying again, the staff were great. There were a few children at the reception but they were kept busy with the huge, well tended, gardens containing a well laid out play ground, plenty for them to do, even free computer games machines in the lobby. A very pleasent wedding breakfast and evening reception, which compares very favourably with other more expensive venues we have been to recently. The hotel was busy with Olympic Games visitors (Football at City Of Coventry Statium) and coach loads of American Tourists, but it did not feel cramped and the staff were geared up to cope magificently, a tribute to good managment and good standards. A good location for visiting Coventry, Stratford - on - Avon, Warwick Castle and other attractions in this region.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VicNorthampton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Reviewer

I would like to thank you personally for taking the time to review our hotel and leave such positive feedback.

It is always a pleasure to hear how well the staff work and cope under pressure and that all our guests leave the hotel with a positive impression.

I will share your feedback with all the teams as im sure this will be very much appreciated.

Many Thanks
Jackie Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My wife and I stayed overnight as we were attending the Olympic Football Games at the City of Coventry Stadium. This was the first time we had stayed at a Novotel since our visit in January to Perth, Australia which was disappointing. In complete contrast this hotel proved to be exceptional in every way from the reception desk, room and breakfast restaurant. What a pleasure to see all of the staff happy in their work and how nice it is to be made very welcome in all areas of the hotel. In particular special mention to the breakfast staff at Elements Restaurant who were obviously very happy in their jobs --- and how lovely to be greeted with a lovely smile when entering the restaurant. Well done everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BLUEWONDER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Reviewer

I would like to thank you personally for visiting our hotel and leaving such lovely feedback.

It is always a pleasure to know that our guests leave happy and our staff are happy in their jobs.

I will pass on your comments to all our teams in the hotel as i'm sure this will prove as a great encouragement to keep up the good work.

Many Thanks
Jackie Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We started off a little rocky at check in, I had arranged early check in, but when we arrived the rooms were not ready, so not a great start. However, after waiting 10-15 mins we were sorted out with rooms. The Hotel is clean , well located for the Ricoh stadium and motorway networks. Our son ordered room service breakfast and was not diappointed, it arrived at the time stated and was excellent. Service at check out was good. Hotel Bar is a little pricey but thats what is expected really within hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wykenio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and leave us your feedback.

Unfortunately early check in times can not always be adheared to but i certainly hope this will not deter you from returning to Novotel Coventry.

I will pass on your feedback to the relevant people.

Many Thanks
Jackie Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel at the Ricoh Arena - Coventry
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
3.9 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
4.5 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#9 of 39 in Coventry
2,561 reviews
5.9 mi away
Citrus Hotel Coventry by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Coventry

Address: Wilsons Lane | Longford, M6 Junction 3, Coventry CV6 6HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Coventry
Price Range: £51 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Coventry 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Coventry M6/J3 is an AA rated hotel located within walking distance of Ricoh Arena and 15 minutes from the centre of Coventry, Birmingham International Airport and the NEC. Ideal for a business trip with 8 meeting rooms for conferences and semi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Coventry Hotel Coventry
Coventry Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing