We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coventry Stopover”
Review of Novotel Coventry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Novotel Coventry
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed here for one night en route to a New Year break. We chose the hotel because this is where we were joining our holiday group and therefore for us it was ideal. Check in was efficient and friendly and our room was very spacious and lovely. The bathroom was large and there was a separate WC. I have only rated 4s for the cleanliness and room because the separate WC had no wash-hand basin. This was like stepping back in time to the 1950s and 60s. I was amazed that in this day and age, with all the viruses and bugs going around, there is no whb in the loo. This is obviously a standard Novotel design because we stayed at on in Lille and the layout was exactly the same. The room rate was great value for money. Using the hotel's own website, which we found to be the cheapest, we paid £33 and could have had breakfast and an evening meal at a reduced rate had we wanted them. I imagine this is a great incentive to other travellers. We were also able to leave our car in the carpark for £4/night which we thought was very reasonable. For a stopover, this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeekenderNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and leave us your feedback.
Your comments were lovely to read and will be shared with the team here to improve customer service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Coventry in the very near future.

Many Thanks
Jackie Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2012

I have stayed many times at the Novotel in Coventry. The staff make the effort to get to know you, provide you with polite, excellent friendly serivce and meet your needs, even when you get there very late they are accomodating with something to eat.
The quality and service of the food is excellent and the chef provides delicious meals.
The staff should be congratulated from reception, to bar staff, kitchen and restaurant staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bozena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and leave us your feedback.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments which i can share with the team.

As a valued guest of ours i thank you personally for leaving us this review and look forward to welcoming you back in the new year.

Kind Regards
Jackie Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

My boyfriend and I were pleasantly surprised with the standard of the hotel . We booked on the Internet and got a great week end deal, i wish we were always that lucky.The staff were extremely friendly and although seemed quite busy we found them to be efficient. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We didn't have time to eat dinner there but we managed to grab a quick lunch which was simple but tasty and well presented. Breakfast was fantastic. Full English and croissants!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Illiberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and leave us your feedback.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments and feedback which i can share with my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Coventry in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jackie Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Great access to the M6. really close.
About ten minutes easy walk from the Ricoh arena, you are better off walking as the road system takes you out of your way.
The reception/bar area is very plush, as you walk to your room it's slightly outdated. But clean, and very comfortable. No complaints. Bar service a little on the slow side but very nice and friendly. Reception staff friendly and helpful.
No free wi-fi, but apparently this is due to be changed in the new year.
Nice gardens and children's play area.
Parking is £4.00 per stay, pay on departure.
I would happily stay here again. Bed was so comfy.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeCe82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and leave us your feedback.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments which i can share with the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Coventry in the future.

Kind Regards
Jackie Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I stayed over at this hotel with for a gig at the Ricoh arena as it is only a 10 minute walk there. When we arrived, the receptionist was friendly and checked us in - from there it only went downhill!

The room looked nothing like it did on the website and although it wasn't a terrible room as it was clean, it didn't look as thought they had tried with the decor at all! The toilet was shoddy and the bathroom got drenched when the shower was on.

Me & my partner then went down to the restaurant and ordered dinner at the bar. The barman was obviously not trained very well and it look 10 minutes for the barman to take our order and it wasn't complicated at all! We then sat down to the 4 table 'restaurant' and our table was shared with us by some left over rice that the staff hadn't bothered to wipe off.

We waited for over an hour for the food to come out and I really can't say it was worth it - overpriced and not great.

The only reason i'd stay there again was if I was seeing a gig and everywhere else nearby was booked!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFI_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and leave us your feedback however i am disappointed to hear your issues.

All of our bedrooms were refurbished in the last 5 years and the pictures on our websites reflect that, The only differences being between a standard and superior room.

The restaurant was not open on Saturday night due to the nature of business in the hotel so i can only assume you used the bar area to dine which was extremely busy that night due to other events going on inside and outside of the hotel which may of caused a delay in the timings.

We appreciate your feedback and i will share this with the Food and Beverage Manager as this is not a true reflection on the hotels standards and if further staff training is needed then we will ensure this is done.

Kind Regards
Jackie Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

On visiting a nearby festival, we needed somewhere to lay our weary heads for a couple of nights, and due to a misunderstanding with a booking elsewhere, got transferred at the last minute to the Novotel. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, the bed was the most comfortable we have ever found in a hotel and the whole place was spotless. The choices at breakfast were extensive and it was all really well prepared and cooked. On the down side, we found the bedroom too hot, even with the thermostat at its lowest setting and had to keep the window open the entire time even in driving rain and near gale force winds. Nevertheless, if we revisit the area, it is the hotel we would choose to revisit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wally and Lorna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and leave us your feedback.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and comments i can share with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Coventry in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jackie Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

In over 25 years of staying in business type hotels, this has to be one of the worst experiences ever. Staff are clueless and whilst reluctantly serving you complain about their colleagues and management. I'd say it's ready for change of management.

There was however one ray of sunshine, a young waitress by the name of Ola, her colleagues and managers should take a look and see how it should be done!

Stayed: November 2012
Thank Buckslady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and leave us your feedback, However i am disappointed to hear that you were not entirely satisfied.

The issues you have raised are concerning for myself regarding the discussion of staff and managers so i would like to discuss this with you personally if you would like to contact me.

Many Thanks
Jackie Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel at the Ricoh Arena - Coventry
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
3.9 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
5.9 mi away
Citrus Hotel Coventry by Compass Hospitality
4.5 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#9 of 39 in Coventry
2,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Coventry

Address: Wilsons Lane | Longford, M6 Junction 3, Coventry CV6 6HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Coventry
Price Range: £50 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Coventry 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Coventry M6/J3 is an AA rated hotel located within walking distance of Ricoh Arena and 15 minutes from the centre of Coventry, Birmingham International Airport and the NEC. Ideal for a business trip with 8 meeting rooms for conferences and semi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Coventry Hotel Coventry
Coventry Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing