We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay at The Royal Court,especially as it was taken one month before our Golden Wedding.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Court Hotel - Coventry
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
hull.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay at The Royal Court,especially as it was taken one month before our Golden Wedding.”
Reviewed 15 March 2011

I think from memory we have stayed at the Hotel four times in the last 15 years,and we have always had a pleasant stay..so much so that we will be there for 4 nights,week commencing 21st March 2011,on an organised bus holiday. these we enjoying having as we have stayed in some very good Hotels and look forward to our next break at the Royal Court

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorianHull_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalCourtM, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Dear Mrs Hull

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to seeing you once again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    378
    373
    326
    485
See reviews for
263
633
60
352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Rooms average, but service excellent ania in the bar service to detail & derise nothing to much. Food good stayin in britannia's alot I don't expect to much but the head chef should be given his own knighthood. Definately value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerboy128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalCourtM, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Thank you so much for your review - you gave all the staff named such a lift, Ania is still smiling

Head Chef gratefully accepts her knighhood :-)

Thank you for your kinds words, always such a joy when someone notices the good service the staff do try to deliver.
Thank you from all of us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

we stayed at this hotel because it was selected by our organiser because it was cheap. £130 for two nights dinner bed and breakfast for the two of us. We found that most things were OK, but when it came to meal times there was no management supervision. So although the staff were pretty attentive and pleasant, if there were no knives, or plates, or tea and coffee, there was no one empowered to sort it out.
And the food wasn't that good - cold and contract style.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weedyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalCourtM, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us, which I read with interest and concern. I do feel it is a shame you did not speak to our duty manager or indeed myself or my deputy as we could have resolved any issues and take great care to do so when something is brought to our attention

Thank you again for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Booked a pamper package, but from central reservations to hotel reception, staff did not seem too aware what this involved. We were charged for a room upgrade which should have been free; the upgraded room had a broken window and 6FT stain on the ceiling - all supposedly executive standard; we had to chase complimentary chocolates and champagne twice; lockers in fitness centre predominantly broken much to the annoyance of regular members let alone hotel guests; website boasts being in 12 acres but I would suggest 11 acres is probably hotel and car park!
Spa staff were great - yes a positive statement - but do not be taken in by the pictures of the old hotel building. It's windows are held together by gaffa tape and it is a shame such large red brick accommodation blocks have been built in grounds and alongside such an old property - all not very appealing as you drive into the property - added to which there are rather dirty looking nets at all windows. I did complain on all fronts and whilst my wife and I were refunded the room upgrade charge (which should have not been payable in the first place!) - no additional reimbursement was offered as clearly Britannia Group management reckon their facilities represent good value and quality. They really need to think again! We have stayed in far far superior hotels and suggest others look elsewhere too, unless you secure a rock bottom priced deal!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S_JBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalCourtM, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to place a review on trip advisor, as it is only through constructive comments such as yours that we can constantly monitor the standards of service we offer our guests.

I apologise for the difficulties you experienced whilst staying with us and I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

I will investigate the points raised in your review and speak to the relevant Department Managers to address the difficulties you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

just spent 4 nights at this hotel as part of a bus tour [glentons] the bedrooms were never cleaned all the time of our visit..the bathroom ceiling was peeling badley bathroom its self was never cleaned...the food was average..1st time staying at this hotel never ever again and the place in general was very dirty and run down.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank durhambrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalCourtM, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this review, 2 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to place a review on trip advisor, as it is only through constructive comments such as yours that we can constantly monitor the standards of service we offer our guests.

I am concerned that the problems experienced were not brought to our duty managers attention, as any problems would have been addressed if the concerns were reported and all necessary actions to rectify the situation would have been taken.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write this review and please accept my sincere apologies once again that it was necessary to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Stayed here last night on a travelzoo deal. £29 pp per room including 3 course carvery, bottle of wine, breakfast and access to health club. We also had a free upgrade to a spa room with a jacuzzi bath.

The hotel and grounds are very nice but the bedroom was a careworn and dated. The bed was a bit hard as were the pillows but to be honest for £29 pp per room with all the exta's thrown in we thought it was ok.

Health club was also a wee bit twee and dated but the pool was warm, the jacuzzi/steam room and sauna were all clean and usuable. Towels were £1 each to hire and the lockers take a £1 coin which is refundable. Access to the spa was included in the price of the break.

Meals were self service buffet style but there were staff on hand to take away your plates and to seat you.

all in all it was a pleasant stay and if the offer was on again, I would consider another stay.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Railbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalCourtM, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this review, 2 March 2011
Thank you for your comments, I am pleased to read that you found our hotel to be a value for money, I believe that your feed back is honest and balanced and I wish to thank you so much.

We are currently working on our rooms but with 210 as you can imagine does take time but is on going.

Once again thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Myself and my two teenagers have just returned from this wonderful hotel. After an initial difficulty with the computer systems being down and us not being able to check in, we had a lovely restful stay made even better by the wonderful staff - Nathan on reception was excellent and the lady in the bar near the carvery both went the extra distance to make our staff lovely. I cannot praise this hotel enough. I seldom have time off during half term with my children as a busy professional woman and I have to say that we all thoroughly enjoyed our one night. Had we not got a party to go to at home we would have stayed another night. The food is buffet style and you help yourself, the choices are not massive but there is so something to suit everybody and we saw a number of guests going back for more. All of the guests that we saw seemed to be in extremely good spirits and were enjoying themselves.
Don't believe the bad reviews - this is a nice hotel and is clean with staff who make all the difference. It does not smell like an old peoples' home - it was clean and fresh throughout and the cleaning staff all had a friendly "hello" when we passed by. We will certainly be returning. Special thanks again to Nathan and the tall dark haired lady serving in the bar near the carvery at approximately 2.30apm on 25th February who went out of their way to help with a cheerful, professional attitude and great service!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IngaSimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalCourtM, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this review, 2 March 2011
Thank you for your kinds words, it is so easy for people complain when it goes wrong, but always such a joy when someone notices the good service the staff do try to deliver.

Nathan and Ania were very pleased to be mentioned and Head chef is delighted you enjoyed the food.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we do hope we can welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#20 of 39 in Coventry
507 reviews
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
2.4 mi away
Novotel Coventry
Novotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Premiere Classe Coventry Hotel
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel at the Ricoh Arena - Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Court Hotel - Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court Hotel - Coventry

Property: Royal Court Hotel - Coventry
Address: Tamworth Road | Keresley, Coventry CV7 8JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Court Hotel - Coventry 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Grade II listed Coventry Country House Hotel is set in 11 acres of landscaped gardens and parkland, approximately 3 miles from Coventry City Centre. The original manor house, built in 1894 by the car manufacturer William Hillman, has been tastefully extended over the years to become the largest hotel in Coventry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Court Hotel - Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing