We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't comment on accomodation but beautiful food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Court Hotel - Coventry
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Can't comment on accomodation but beautiful food”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We arranged to have my Grandma's 80th birthday at the Royal Court a couple of weeks ago. There was nobody on reception as we arrived to show us where to go but we soon found it for ourselves. As there was 30 of us they had set us up in our own private room and the waitress stayed with us for the whole time. I wish I could remember her name as she worked her socks off and couldn't have been a better host! The room had been decorated with a colour of our choice and the cake had been set at a table for us. The food was beautiful, starters were made to order and brought to the table, main was carvery which we made our way to a carvery deck for and deserts; some were uot but we also had other hot choices to order all within the same price. I believe the 3 course meal was £15 per head so very reasonable.

would definitely recomend this place :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norky1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    378
    373
    326
    487
See reviews for
264
633
60
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Stayed in June as a Birthday Treat. Noisy wedding in progress on arrival. Room needed updating, torn wallpaper, bathroom clean, bed clean. Parking was difficult as I am disabled and wedding guests had parked in the disabled bay. We booked a package, wine included. At dinner the wine never arrived until we caused a fuss in the dining room. The chef needed some training. One of our party was allergic to poultry and he used the same fork to hold each meat and on being asked to use a different fork asked why. Dinner was nice and breakfast was good. There were broken glasses and a cup and saucer on the patio area and not one member of staff used the initiative to go and clear it up.The fabrics on the chairs were threadbare and some of the chairs brokn. There was wedding cake left on some chairs and on the floor in the reception area, no one moved to clean it up. the next morning on departure glasses and cups and saucers were still evident littered around the grounds. The staff in this hotel need a good kick up the backside.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Upon arrivial, we waited a significant amount of time at reception before a member of staff returned to the desk. Once we had checked in we struggled to find our room, I wish we hadn't found it. The room stank of stale smoke, was extremely dated and pretty grimmy. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I would also not recommend breakfast, it was dreadful and the majority of it unedible.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen20092009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Stayed in June as we were attending a wedding in the hotel. Poor parking was the first hurdle to overcome. Trying to access the hotel through a throng of smoking teenagers at their Prom was the next. Eventually got to reception. All very noisy and disorganosed. Got our keys and found our rooms. The rooms were terrible - my friends bathroom door had a hole in it where there had obvioulsly been a fight and someone had put their fist through it! The carpet was threadbare, the TV looked like something from the 1970's, the bed was possibly the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in and the pillow was nothing more than a pillowcase.
The bathroom had pubic hair in it, the towels were the size of a postage stamp and almost see through with age and if anyone in an adjoining room used their toilet or shower/bath the noise was unbelievable! And so to noise....... It is obvioulsly a great party/prom/wedding venue but there are some people who do like to sleep at night. I had to get up 3 times during the night to ask the 20 or so people in the next room to quieten down - no such luck! So if you are staying there for a rest I would suggest you don't!
The lady who seats you for breakfast was the only positive part of the whole weekend (although the reception in the main Ballroom was also excellent - but probably not organised by the hotel!)
A very dated, tired, noisy hotel which unless I have another wedding to attend will not be returning to!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here on a National Holidays five day break.The whole party experienced a polite and speedy check in where we were allocated a room on the second floor which was easily accessible via the lift.Our room was quite spacious with a pleasant bathroom and nicely furnished.
The meals were good value for money and the staff were generally polite.Our only complaint being that they were sometimes slow in clearing the dishes between courses.The hotel in general was quite comfortable and came up to our expectations.We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goron58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Im still seething from my stay here...The saying you get what you pay for is certainly true here!!
We got a reduction on a double room as my good friends were holding their wedding in the Brittania Suite(Thats another story!!)
The bathroom has a bath with jacuzzi holes..the sealant around the edges was dirty,only 1 towel was put out for us,the sheets didn't fit properly.the double bed was a miniature double bed that hadn't even been put together properly! The carpet had stains all over it!! Royal!! Don't think so!!
The lift takes forever to arrive!! The breakfast staff are rude!!One of them near enough ran into me shouting excuse me excuse me on her way!!The sausages were not cooked..i even heard others saying it!! The toast was like cardboard! And the tea even with 2 teabags in was just terrible!!
The lager is awful too!!
I live in Coventry & i am utterly ashamed of this place,it looks the part from the outside but even in the lobbies there are sofas that are threadbare!! Not good enough!!
Don't get me started on the gardens..Overgrown grass,weeds,the beautiful pond was full of rubbish..
And then we have the wedding! My friends who got married were distraught,i had to calm them down on numerous occasions because of the hash that was made of it!!
I wont go into detail,hopefully they can put their experiences themselves...
So all in all..Great place if you are a hobo who's not fussy...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyJ485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in may, dinner and breakfast was included aswel as a bottle of wine ( but didnt take the wine as i dont drink wine). Staff were very helpful and kind, the guests were very much older and alot of them. Rooms were ok, standard, bathroom wasnt as clean as it could be but was an ok stay, had a jacuzzi tub but didnt use it, only thd shower. Would stay again if the same offer was on because the food was reali nice

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacey697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#19 of 39 in Coventry
508 reviews
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
2.4 mi away
Novotel Coventry
Novotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Premiere Classe Coventry Hotel
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel at the Ricoh Arena - Coventry
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Court Hotel - Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court Hotel - Coventry

Property: Royal Court Hotel - Coventry
Address: Tamworth Road | Keresley, Coventry CV7 8JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Court Hotel - Coventry 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Grade II listed Coventry Country House Hotel is set in 11 acres of landscaped gardens and parkland, approximately 3 miles from Coventry City Centre. The original manor house, built in 1894 by the car manufacturer William Hillman, has been tastefully extended over the years to become the largest hotel in Coventry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Court Hotel - Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing