We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and worn out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Court Hotel - Coventry
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed over but didn't eat there, every thing if saw was tired & worn out, the room didn't appear to be clean, the bin was full of rubbish.
when I asked for another set of towels( 2 sharing 1 room) I was told where to find them as the were no cleaning staff on duty.
At £50/night I felt I would have been better served at a Tavel Lodge-- don't think I'll stay again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
5  Thank durhamsmudger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,787)
There are newer reviews for Royal Court Hotel - Coventry
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

969 - 975 of 1,788 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

Warning! If you stay at this hotel be warned you need to ask for a refurbished room or dont bother going , seriously. Dirty bedding, smelled of fust, 1960s bathroom in dusky pink, pipes stuck out of walls from removed radiator ,filthy brown grout between tiles,torn curtains,no bar across doorway, carpet threadbare, door hanging off hinge, dirty sofa bed,drawer front on floor!,missing castors off bed, duvet too small as hardly covered you, old style large backed tv (very dated). Poor service in bar area as cups and glasses everywhere , it was unsightly and must have been like that for hours. We spent 2 hours in there and nothing ever got collected all night! I never moan about places ive stayed but this is a genuine grievance! .!Beware

Room Tip: only book a refurbished room
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carol h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel with the National on a 4 day trip .It is not a bad hotel , clean but very noisy if you are offered room 147 refuse straight away room nice but next to boiler room banging all night , The food was nice plenty of it, staff polite very large hotel dated but clean entertainment rubbish .

Room Tip: Take ear plugs this hotel can be very noisy
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

From the outside the hotel looks nice, there is a mix of old and new . The original building was built in 1894 and you can still see original features. This is now adjoined to a new extension which houses the reception , there is also a spa, although on this visit we didn't use it.
The bedroom was average , we had a double room and there were tea and coffee making facilities and a television
Then bathroom was tiny so much so I had to lean slightly when when sat on the loo as the sink was in the way! The bath , sink and loo were clean but there was grime around the edge of the bath and the door stop.
There was dust under the bed and wardrobe which was visible without having to go searching .

In the room was a sheet giving the history of the old building and I did enjoy walking round the old building looking for original,features.

We had dinner and breakfast during our stay and the food was poor to say the least , 2 roast meats which we had to wait a long time for the chef to come and carve and a couple of bland veg .there was also a veggie option but I didn't see this on the self service buffet .
Breakfast was also a self service buffet , the sausage was poor quality , soft and tasteless, the bacon was barely cooked . They also ran out of bread for the toast machine . The waitress was extremely busy and we had almost eaten our breakfast before we could catch her attention to order tea and coffee.

The hotel appears to work on minimal staff , I saw two waitresses dealing with a full restaurant., there was a coach party in the day we were there and the waitresses could not keep up,with demand

On the whole it was a disappointing stay

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I am originally froom coventry but left the town around 8 years ago. This hotel was always well spoken of and reviewed highly so i had no issues booking this when i needed an overnight in my hometown.
Oh how i was disappointed......I was placed at the far end of the hotel. I had a suitcase and i had 4 flights of stairs to walk up. My room had a dmap smell, the wallpaper was peeling away. There were no towels, iron or kettle in the room. The windows had broken handles so were not secure and the radiator had no thermastat. The room was next to some sort of generator so there was a constant loud whirring noise. looking out o fthe window, it was like i had been placed next to a builders yard! I asked to be moved and the receptionist was only too happy to oblige. I was then moved to a room whcih was just down the corridor from reception....this was much better i thought.......walked in room...found it decorated nicely. It was clean and smelt fresh. the room required some decoration revitalisation. the bathromm door had some of the wood panel gone, some tiles in the bathroom were missing and again, the wallpaper was peeling away and ripped.

For a bed for the night, this was suitable but i would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank s h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We were 3 ladies (age range 40-60) looking for a reasonably priced spa hotel in Coventry to meet up and chat. Our experience at this hotel was a shambles - how can a 3* hotel NOT offer afternoon tea - ie coffee and cake or a scone! The young man at the bar hadn't a clue what he could offer, he was polite and as helpful as he could be but we sensed he was being asked for something not easily offered. What we got was cheesecake and gataux in pudding bowls with coffee in teacups and milk in a teapot without a lid! It looked like yesterday's leftovers. No-one could tell us what was on the evening menu for dinner so we couldn't say whether we were eating there or not when asked on check-in. The rooms were a disgrace. So wish I'd read the reviews first, it certainly does not match up to its advertising. To be fair we didn't have any trouble in getting a refund and leaving without staying, which left us believing it was probably a common occurrance. They didn't seem to want to take feedback to make improvements for further residence ie re afternoon teas. A coachload of senior citizens arrived as we were leaving and hopefully when I am really old I will still not tolerate such low standards/poor conditions.

Room Tip: Don't have one!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel is disgusting. They show a pleasant picture of the original building on their site but where you actually stay is a purpose built, aging going to rack & ruin extension. The original building is no better. Carpets are torn and stained and furniture and decoration is dirty and falling to bits.

There are up to 500 rooms and we overheard the receptionist saying over the phone (to a person inquiring about rooms for that night) that they only let out rooms that are reserved because they only had 30 rooms that had been cleaned for that purpose?? How do they make enough money to pay the staff? Oh that's right, there are NO staff.

HEALTH & SAFETY REALLY NEED TO VISIT THIS HOTEL. The light switch next to the bed crackled and sparked when switched on. This was the case in both the rooms we had booked. The bath was so high it was dangerous climbing in and out of it for a shower (which, by the way, wasn't working properly). There was no shower mat supplied for the bathroom floor so it was very slippy when getting out.The chairs in the rooms and in the dining room where ready to collapse. The lifts judder when you travel in them...........The list is endless.

My friends view out of her window was a pile of old mattresses and her toilet seat was cracked down the center of it and the smell of both rooms was very unpleasant.
I don't even want to talk about the breakfast with the chipped and 'used previously' milk jugs and the treacle thick tea & coffee.

This is the description off their site: "This beautiful Grade II listed country house is set in stunning landscaped gardens and parkland, part of Britannia Hotels. A warm welcome awaits you in the large reception area. The Carvery Restaurant is situated in the Baronial Hall of the Manor House with its fine decoration".
TOTAL MISREPRESENTATION!!
It also mentions it has "210 en-suite bedrooms that are tastefully decorated" but our room numbers were 460 and 461?? Maybe the rest don't have en-suite? We did inquire to move rooms but we were told that all the rooms were the same.
I bet this place was beautiful when it was a manor house, they've completely destroyed it.

Basically, this hotel needs to be CLOSED.

Room Tip: Travel back in time to when it was a Manor House and had just been built.....
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#19 of 39 in Coventry
511 reviews
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
2.4 mi away
Novotel Coventry
Novotel Coventry
#17 of 39 in Coventry
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel at the Ricoh Arena - Coventry
2.9 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#9 of 39 in Coventry
2,300 reviews
4.4 mi away
Premiere Classe Coventry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Court Hotel - Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court Hotel - Coventry

Address: Tamworth Road | Keresley, Coventry CV7 8JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range: £30 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Court Hotel - Coventry 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Grade II listed Coventry Country House Hotel is set in 11 acres of landscaped gardens and parkland, approximately 3 miles from Coventry City Centre. The original manor house, built in 1894 by the car manufacturer William Hillman, has been tastefully extended over the years to become the largest hotel in Coventry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Court Hotel - Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing