We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Minging, DO NOT STAY HERE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Court Hotel - Coventry
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Minging, DO NOT STAY HERE!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This place is a mix between Tenko, Fawlty Towers and The Overlook. £52 per night is too much. The room was relatively clean, apart form the lipstick (hopefully not blood) on the wall next to the mirror, the freshly squeezed daddy long legs that escaped the last clean the room had received.

I particularly liked the bedside tables that looked like they'd been use to stand branding irons on.

The sink that never emptied.

The hotel was absolutely chocker block with old people on some coach trip, no bad thing but all I could think of these poor old peoples sad lives that took them to the Royal Court Hotel, first thing I did was phone my mum and plead with here to not stay at a gaff like this if she goes on one of her Darby and Joan coach trips.

The staff were really nice and attentive, so nice I felt bad complaining about anything. I mean they have to work there every day. Poor souls.

The breakfast was poor, the coffee insipid the toaster was one of those carousel toasters that either under toasts or burns, the scrambled egg was so set it looked like mouse, probably about 1 pint of milk to 1 egg. The bacon looked like something scraped off the road to Kandahar - see photo. I asked to have some well done the women told me "I've told him about that" but she couldn't be bothered sending the whole lot back. What worries me about how badly presented the bacon was that whomever was in the kitchen cooking obviously has absolutely zero interest in how his/her food is received. How pitiful.

Shame because the grounds look like they have potential and the old building looked like it was once nice but the new building built on the side looks like a remand prison form the outside.

Room Tip: None! Sleep in your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    362
    342
    305
    458
See reviews for
243
597
58
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Like others who have reviewed the hotel,I was a little concerned about a stay that we had booked on a KGB voucher for a 1 night stay.We used to live in Coventry and used the hotel to have occasional meals in the 1970's,and we were looking forward to returning to see what the years had done to the place.What a suprise as it has been extended since,creating a really big complex with ample parking-yes,the grounds could do with some attention,but bearing in mind that it is set in woodland and countryside,too much would encroach on nature.The entrance "foyer' is grand and the reception staff were very friendly (as were all the staff that we encountered in all parts of the hotel) and everything about the facility was explained.Our room (222) was in a "new' part of the complex and was spacious,quiet and clean-everything you could want from a hotel room.We had arrived mid afternoon and used the leisure club,which is a nice feature.The bar area that was open is located in the original part of the hotel and is very charming.This part was once the home of the Hillman family,who were connected to the Coventry motor cycle and car making industry,and retains much of the original character and charm.As well as many other guests,there was 3 coach parties staying at the hotel and also a wedding reception, all of which the staff handled very well.We had a very pleasant time in the bar,before heading into the restaurant to have a very enjoyable meal.The buffet breakfast did not disapoint us either.All in all,it is one of the nicest hotel breaks that we have had and we would not hesitate to return should a similar deal be available.A lot of reviews have not been good,some seemingly due to minor things that occur in most large busy hotels,but if people viewed the hotel and surroundings honestly,maybe they would have commented on the many positives instead of a few niggles.There are not many hotels with these facilities situated close to a major city centre and yet set in peaceful natural surroundings available at the rates that are charged here.I would imagine that were it situated 90 miles further south,then the cost of a stay would be many times more than what it is here.Instead of looking down trying to spot a bit of threadbare carpet,look up and marvel at the impressive ceilings,stucco and carvings.Well done to the management team and staff for the obvious effort that goes into trying to make the guests enjoy a memorable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Britsontour72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a break here with my friends for a spa weekend. Had a fantastic time, room was spacious and clean. The general manager was also very helpful. The food was lovely and the break was a great price too.The swimming pool and jacuzzi were very relaxing! We would definitely go back again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarahfaye2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

After reading the previous reviews I have to admit I was a little concerned having booked this hotel on a non cancellation basis without checking here first.
We were only staying for one night to attend a wedding nearby so I wasn’t too worried and it was the closest available hotel.

The place has so much potential. There is so much that could be done with it. It is a vast hotel with oak panelling everywhere and so many rooms for functions. The original building looks great from the outside. I would imagine in its heyday it was a lovely place to stay.
Sadly though, that is certainly not the case now. Everywhere you look something is hanging off or missing. It really is like stepping back in time.
A lick of paint would not be the answer. It needs massive investment, probably millions of pounds to restore it to its former glory.
Our ground floor room was an eyesore. We opened the door to be confronted with a heavily stained carpet that belonged in a skip and skirting boards that were once painted white but now looked like they were rotting. The furniture was probably excellent quality in its time. Sadly that time has long since passed. The ancient bed base was exposed with no valance but at least the sheets were lovely and clean which was a massive plus as we had no time to contemplate an alternative.
The bathroom was dated but functional, and the ants seemed to like it in there.
If we had booked for more than one night we would have left instantly and claimed a refund under the trades description act.
But we hadn’t. All we were looking for was somewhere to retire to after a long day consuming copious amounts of alcohol and this place would look so much better by the time we returned anyway.
We didn’t expect too much for what it cost us and when they say “you get what you pay for” we certainly didn't in this place. On a plus note the breakfast was edible.
Would we return? Only if it was completely refurbished!

Room Tip: Find an alternative hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Floyd27260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Level Contributor
106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

There is a large car park infront of what looks like a 1960's training block, the grass was long and needed cutting so didn't give a very good first impression. En-route to the restaurant there were dozens if not 100's of cigarette ends which shows a lack of attention to detail. There were also stinging nettles next to a small wooden bridge over a nice little brook containing fish which should have been removed as children could be stung.The restaurant itself is run by a very efficient and friendly lady. The meal we had was carvery and you could go back for more if you wanted. The grounds outside of the restaurant are landscaped and quite pleasant and when the weather is good allow children plenty of room to run around. I can't comment on the hotel itself as I have only ever visited the restaurant but I would say that it wouldn't take much to clear up the outside and make it more welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Setch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyneside UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We were allocated this hotel when we booked for a National Holidays tour of Oxford and the Cotswolds. We stayed for four nights with the tour. I was very concerned about the hotel after reading some of the reviews. I was actually pleasantly surprised as we enjoyed our stay. 
Don't get me wrong the hotel requires some refurbishment and is looking a little run down but is not half as bad as some reviewers suggest. We found that it was clean and the staff in General were pleasant and helpful.
We were located on the ground floor in the main building and the room was quite pleasant with a large double bed and a single folding bed (which was not required). There were tea and coffee making facilities, a TV , telephone etc.. There was also a hair dryer supplied. The worst part of the room was the bathroom as it was very difficult to stop the floor flooding when using the shower.  There was soap, shampoo and shower gel supplied which were renewed each day.
I also cannot understand some of the comments about the food as I thought that it was excellent.  There were 3 courses starting with soup. Each night there was a roast available along with a choice of vegetables (which were not overcooked). Each night there was a second choice main course as well as a vegetarian course. There was also a good selection of sweets available.
The breakfasts were also self service and consisted of a choice of cereals and a full English consisting of bacon, egg, tomatoes, mushrooms, sausages, fried bread, hash browns etc. and was very good. 
When reviewing hotels you must consider what you pay as some reviewers seem to compare hotels on an equal basis whether they pay £50 per night or £500 per night. We paid £169 per person for the tour including the coach travel, hotel, breakfast and evening meals for 5 days (4 nights) which works out at £33 per day which is fantastic value.
In conclusion the hotel is not as bad as some of the reviewers make out and our stay was quite good.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank BeejayTyneside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent valentines overnight offer champagne & chocolates in room. Lovely room , nice leisure facilities and warm friendly staff ( unlike there sister hotel Market Bosworth Hall ) . The restaurant & food was a little bit of a let down.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank S88lmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
484 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Beechwood Hotel
The Beechwood Hotel
#26 of 39 in Coventry
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Jacobean Hotel
The Jacobean Hotel
#20 of 39 in Coventry
354 reviews
2.4 mi away
Novotel Coventry
Novotel Coventry
#17 of 39 in Coventry
519 reviews
2.9 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#7 of 39 in Coventry
1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Court Hotel - Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court Hotel - Coventry

Property: Royal Court Hotel - Coventry
Address: Tamworth Road | Keresley, Coventry CV7 8JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Court Hotel - Coventry 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Grade II listed Coventry Country House Hotel is set in 11 acres of landscaped gardens and parkland, approximately 3 miles from Coventry City Centre. The original manor house, built in 1894 by the car manufacturer William Hillman, has been tastefully extended over the years to become the largest hotel in Coventry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Court Hotel - Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing