We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Court Hotel - Coventry
Nearby Hotels
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$43
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$69
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$87
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,971)
Filter reviews
1,971 results
Traveller rating
207
406
405
366
587
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
406
405
366
587
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1,129 - 1,134 of 1,971 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Just returned from a coach tour and stayed in this lovely hotel. I was expecting the worst after reading the reviews and was surprised, our room was spacious and spotless, the food was very good, the staff were friendly. Out tour manager Peter and coach driver Barry were also very helpful and friendly. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alisongray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caz665, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review about the hotel, we appreciate the feed back
Once again Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Let's face it, this hotel was once nice. Unfortunately that was about 20 years ago and clearly no one has done anything to it since. On an average night it's full of people who have to be there rather than want to be there. I'm a self-employed contractor working in Coventry for a few months and this has become my 'home from home'. Because it's cheap. Not through choice. And it's clear I'm not the only one. I have a feeling that the Britannia chain are sort of ok with the service they're providing here as a result. They're making money, regardless.

Positives first: the staff are nice, though they clearly haven't had any proper training in customer service. The beds are comfortable, and the location is lovely and quiet.

Now the rest of it. Most days it smells: of mould (cleaning equipment is left to go mouldy so if they've cleaned it smells worse), shower curtains are left damp, and you can still faintly smell cigarettes from before the ban as the furniture holds it all. And if you're near the kitchen in the older part of the hotel, you get woken up at 6am by the extractor fan coming on. Free wifi also depends on how close you are to the router: second floor and you get nothing.

As for the food, I've twice ordered steak. I can only assume that the chef is vegetarian or once had a bad experience with a cow, as no one would deliberately do such vandalism to a foodstuff! And I wasn't given a steak knife to eat it with - not that even a samurai sword would have cut it. I now eat elsewhere or bring food in, despite the notices asking me not to. I can't face parting with hard-earned money for another dreadful meal.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Travellingcontractor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caz665, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi Thank you for taking the time to put your very lengthy complaint on Trip Advisor, please feel free to stay at any other hotel in Coventry as we obviously do not meet with any of your expectations, why do you feel that you have to stay here when you clearly do not like it here.
We work very hard to insure that our guests have a pleasant stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Came here with a group in April this year. Along with 1,2, even 3 other National Holiday groups so hotel got very busy. Had the odd complaint- windows wouldn't open due to ivy clogging them up or even covering them up- obvious signs of neglect as were the gardens a little overgrown and tatty- need some work done to make them more suitable to roam about in.
Reception was good the staff booked the group in quickly and dealt with minor issues fairly promptly. But then the moans and groans started re some(not all) of the rooms. Some were in definate need of a clean, and upgrade very tired and worn even tatty. Some bathrooms were grubby to say the least and a lot of work is need to improve the quality. I saw in one reveiw someone came here on a KGB voucher- it looked like a KGB intern camp in Moscow an impersonal block of office block style rooms..The hotel was just funtionable- It gave the impression it was turning over and going to sleep never to be awakened again!!
From the outside the hotel looks nice, there is a mix of old and new . The original building was built in 1894 and you can still see original features. This is now adjoined to a new extension which houses the reception , there is also a spa, although on this visit I didn't use it.
The bedroom was average , I had a double room and there were tea and coffee making facilities and a television.The bathroom was grubby with sunken cracked tiling not very pretty.
In the room was a sheet giving the history of the old building and I did enjoy walking round the old building looking for original,features.The old part was once the home of the Hillman family,who were connected to the Coventry motor cycle and car making industry,and retains much of the original character and charm.

We had dinner and breakfast during our stay and the food was average to say the least. Breakfast the usual fare, with hot or cold choices, cereals etc enough to go round, and satisfy most palates. I saw the issue of sausages but I don't eat them as unless certified quality contain all sorts of things!Dinner a sort of carvery with a roast and then other options. I had 'battered' fish (I think!!) awful but the rest of the food was plentiful and edible. ,
The waitress and other staff were extremely busy but did bring tea and coffee promptly. tea and coffee.
The hotel appears to work on minimal staff , even the busy bar at times was manned by one person. The deputy manger had to try to entertain the coach groups which was fun- a bingo, and quiz? sort of worked but keep trying.... people need some form of entertainment when a long way from any other habitation!
If you stay at this hotel be warned you need to ask for a refurbished room or don't bother going as everything else looked 1960s style
There is a swimming pool and jacuzzi- looked okay but did not use it. Charged £4 (not a lot) to use the facilities.
There is a large car park in frontshould have been removed as children could be stung.The restaurant itself is run by a very efficient and friendly lady. The meal we had was carvery and you could go back for more if you wanted. The grounds outside of the restaurant are landscaped and could be quite pleasant if maintained better.
Get some investment and staff and the place could be a gold mine.

Room Tip: Refurbished only as you will have some issues
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tourman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caz665, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on Trip Advisor. We have had all the ivy removed from the front of the hotel, the grounds are now looking very good. We offer a very good range of food for both breakfast and dinner.
We are a 3 star hotel offering an excellent service at a very affordable price

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just had our wedding at this hotel. Our wedding party arrived on Friday and didn't leave until Sunday. We were all treated very well. Every need was met. Food, service and hospitality was fantastic from beginning to end. We had the Blenhelm Suite for the whole day including Ceremony, Reception and Evening Disco and the room was made to look wonderful at each stage. The Wedding Host (Adam) looking after us that day was very professional and attentive. The food was excellent. Everyone had a wonderful time throughout. Thank you Angela and her team.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tracey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caz665, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi
Thank you for taking the time to put such wonderful comments on Trip Advisor about your very special day, we are so pleased that we were able to make your wedding day the success that you had planned it to be.
All the best for your future together

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

after reading most of the reviews i was dreading visiting this hotel with national holidays, when we arrived check in was quick we had a executive room which when i opened the door i was so suprised because i expected a dump! it was lovely really big room very clean and a lush bathroom with spa bath, we had dinner at 6 and again i was expecting horrible food! we had a choice of 3 courses of dinner each nite and a choice of 2 starters and loads of puddings, this isn't a 5 star hotel and it isn't priced as one you get what you pay for i have no complaints obout this hotel and i would visit again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank michellep61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caz665, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi
Thank you for taking the time to put your very nice and thoughtful comments on Trip Advisor, I only hope future guests read your comments and not some of the negative comments
We hope to see you back again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews