We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Court Hotel - Coventry
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Bridgwater
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights on a coach trip. On arrival we had to be moved to another room as the original was filthy. The other room was slightly better. We went back to collect our belongings from the original room and there was someone in there lying on the bed. Every noise could be heard from neighbours. Then the leavers group arrived, we never got any sleep that night because they were running around most of the night knocking on doors shouting and screaming. The staff were rude and could not care less. I have noticed the response from the manageress to other reviews, she keeps on about it being a three star hotel, so what, manners and cleaniness are important. Note to the manageress stop posting a picture of the nice bit of the hotel on the website to make it look more than a three star. The food was basic and some of it was inedible and stewed tea. The layout in the dining area for our coach party was not good, everyone was bumping into each other, chairs knocked every second. We couldn't wait to go and wouldn't go there again. We have stayed in a few Britannia hotels that are three star and non were as bad as this one.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caz665, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on Trip Advisor
Yes I do need to remind people that the price they pay reflects the hotel they stay in you pay an affordable price you get a slightly dated but clean property and I can assure you my staff are very polite and offer our guests an excellent service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    378
    373
    326
    485
See reviews for
263
633
60
352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Well just returned from the royal court, from the start...
Room, very dated looked like it hadn't be refurbished in decade's, the bed was from the 70's had castors on the legs, bathroom was OK
This was the first hotel I've stayed at where as a guest you had to pay for the spa, pool and jacuzzi and when we got in the changing rooms were a disgrace, half the lockers were in pieces and you had to search the rest to find one you could use, and the pool was cold
The wedding reception was nice, good prices at the bar.
Breakfast, well if it could be deep fried it did, bacon was like cardboard, sausage nearly black had to ask for tea and juice, there was just empty jugs
Wouldn't stay again unless it was brought up to date

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caz665, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on Trip Advisor
We are a 3 star budget hotel and offer a very good product at an affordable price
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We arrived Thursday night as my niece was getting married the next day at the hotel, as it was all the girls we share family rooms for the first night our room was a little disappointing we had one double and two singles which was fine, it was clean but furniture was tried and really need to be We had few problems with the kettle so we asked them to exchange it for another only to find out that it was not the kettle but the socket which was faulty the bathroom was very poor the shower head fell off the bath panel was hanging off. Next morning we had breakfast which was ok just eatable. The problems started with the wedding reception room, there was dirty table cloths on the tables, carpets had not been cleaned, the coordinator had missed items from the list which my niece had ordered i.e. table runner it took my sister a good hour to get the arrangement sorted for my nieces big day. The wedding went well but this was not due to the coordinator. The reception food was quite nice, but staff rushed us through the whole event, apparently this was because some staff had other plans for the evening and needed the finish early, staff were drinking behind the bar and using their phones texting. The evening went well, the hog roast was out this world but I understand this was out sourced by the hotel for the evening. The room my husband and I had was clean but very tried looking this could do with a fresh up also. The breakfast next morning was awful, the scrambled egg had a funny tasted total unedable the sausage had been over cooked, the fried egg was cold, the bacon was fatty, it also looked as if the whole packet under the grill with out parting the rashers. We did complain about the meal, the head waitress did speak the head chef, but the lack of interest shown by the chef was apparent there was none this was very disappointing having ran a restaurant for a number of year it's not the way you treat your clientele. This has been our family's second wedding in this hotel not sure there will be a third. They really need to upgrade the hotel, give the staff some training in customer service , employ a descent chef, and final employ a coordinator that puts the wishes of the client first so that they do not have so much stress on a very special day

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caz665, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi
Thank you for taking the time to put your concerns on trip Advisor. It would of been better had you taken the time to check out your facts before accusing the hotel of any wrong doing.
At no time were runners for the table ordered as we have signed documentation to this fact, as a good will gesture on the morning of the wedding we had Wow Events bring some in for us. It was explained that the wedding room was not set up when you all arived in there to supposedly drop items off. My C&B team prepare the room they hoover it and dress the tables, 3 glass bowls for table decs arrived broken, I retrieved all the decs out of broken glass and placed in the new bowls. The room on the day looked fantastic and at no time did the brides complain I spoke to them as did the wedding coordinator and they were over the moon with the day. The family are holding there third wedding with us next year so we must be doing something right.
As for your assumptions of members of the staff in the hotel being in a hurry to go home is as it is an assumption on your behalf. My wedding coordinator on the day did an excellent job as she does with all her functions.
If you had any complaints about the hotel services you could of spoken to the duty manager on the day and they would have sorted your issues there and then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed four nights on coach tour with Newmarket. After reading reviews I was fearful of what we would find but was pleasantly surprised. I do believe that some people expect a 5 star hotel for 3 star prices, so don't be put off by these poor reviews. We found the staff very friendly and helpful even when they were obviously harassed and rushed. The food was good with enough choice and being buffet, plentiful too.
The room was a really nice size and the furniture was fine. The beds were comfortable with extra pillows in the wardrobe if required. O.K. the television was not flat screen but perfectly good enough for viewing, who wants to watch it for hours on holiday anyway or when tired after a hard days work. The teas, coffee and milk in the room were replenished every day as was the shower cream, shampoo and body lotion in the bathroom. The bathroom suite was old fashioned but that doesn't make any difference to bathing does it. There was one point I made, it would be good if the cleaners vacuumed under the beds, they are easily moved to enable this, but no doubt they are pretty rushed. We would certainly not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor near the fire escape not overlooking the car park where you don't hear a thing from an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caz665, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi
Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice and honest tribute to the Royal Court hotel the staff will appreciate that people who visit us do have a good stay and do not come here purely to find fault with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We arrived at the hotel after booking our Leavers Ball here - the biggest event of our year. All the students had made reservations for rooms in the hotel and we were all checking in. I was asked rather rudely & in a bored manner by the receptionist (unfortunately I did not catch her name badge) for my surname, which I gave over politely, and she told me she couldn't find me on the system. After trying many different names on the system I suggested getting the email up with my booking code on my phone to 'prove' I had actually made a reservation. I called the hotel up THREE times to confirm this booking. Originally I booked a single room. Then the second time I rang, I was upgrading my room to a double, and the third time I rang up was to confirm the upgrade had gone through (which it hadn't - due to incompetent staff manning the phones) and organised it then. On all three occasions did I mention we were under the Leavers Ball that was booked at the hotel, and the date of the event. I can appreciate it may have been down to a 'typo' or an 'error' on the computer that our room was booked for NEXT MONTH instead of the day I arranged it for. However the service after this revelation is what appalled me the most. I asked the woman very politely and calmly (considering I was extremely annoyed by this point) to find us a room for that evening at the hotel. She responded once again VERY rudely that they were "fully booked" and it was "our problem" to solve where we are staying. My friend is a receptionist at a hotel in Daventry and I spoke to her about the situation - she said that at their hotel if any mistakes are made with customers rooms that they are to offer them another room at the hotel (if available) and if they're not available relocate them AT THE HOTELS EXPENSE to the next nearest hotel for the night due to the mistake being THE HOTELS FAULT NOT THE CUSTOMERS. The hotel did NONE of this. I was forced to worry all evening during my Leavers Ball because we had no where to stay, no one to give us a lift because everyone had been drinking alcohol (I don't hold a drivers licence) and it was late at night and we don't live in Coventry so we couldn't call our relatives up. I therefore had to NOT drink and NOT fully enjoy my Leavers Ball because I was so anxious as to where we were going to stay and what we were going to do once the Ball was over. I went up to a different receptionist (shift changeover had happened in these few hours) to see if I could get any help from a different young lady. I explained my situation to her, and she said that although the hotel was 'fully booked' many people hadn't checked into their rooms, and if they didn't by a certain time they were available for me to use. Luckily that is what I eventually did, and managed to get a room. However the service from the hotel before this was GOD DAMN AWFUL. I would never expect this. Once I arrived in the room, my friend and I wanted a nice hot drink and to relax after a stressful evening - to find that there was only regular tea and coffee available - my friend cannot intake much caffeine and prefers green tea which is available in most hotels, apart from this once apparently! We also went to charge our phones by our bedside tables to find that their lamps have a special plug on them, and a special plug socket so we couldn't charge our phones and have our alarms next to our bed. The water tank creaked and banged ALL night so we got barely any sleep, and we can safely say we will NOT be coming back to this hotel again. We have also recommended that the next Leavers Ball is not booked at this hotel due to the appalling service SO many of the attendees at the ball received. I would say many thanks, but I would just be thanking a god awful experience to be honest.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caz665, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi
Thank you for taking the time to raise your concerns about the hotel.
I really am at a loss as to have to answer this when a person books a hotel for a special event gets confirmation of this booking phones the hotel to check his booking the hotel receptionist would check the booking for the date on the confirmation, my staff are very good but they are not mind readers and would not know that you the person who made the booking had booked the wrong date.You are then given the oppurtunity to stay in the hotel due to a non arrival after you spent the night begging for a room. You then have the audacity to complain about your room, there is no pleaseing some people. I am sorry to say that just because your friend who works in a Daventry hotel makes mistakes like this, it does not happen here. The mistake was yours you booked the wrong date not us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed the weekend ok the hotel as a tired look carpets furniture worn but we had a great weekend great value plenty of great food staff were nice and helpful lovely gardens nice swimming pool bedroom big jacuzzi ...ideal location a big hotel it is ... Party's on weddings christening birthdays etc all enjoying there stay .

Room Tip: Go for executive rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caz665, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi
Thank you so much for taking the time to put your comments about your stay on our site, I am sure our future guests will appreciate your honesty and kind words
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights on a coach tour with Newmarket holidays. Not confident of the hotel because of most reviews but can honestly say the hotel was absolutely fine. Our room was spacious bedding was clean and towels were changed every day. The food was good with 3 choices of main meal All the staff were polite and friendly and efficient. We have stayed in many establishments and so are used to good hotels and do expect good service. Quite frankly it appears a lot of people are complaining over trivialities and if they expect 5 star facilities they should expect to pay 5 star prices! Don't be frightened to book this hotel. Mr and Mrs Simpkins Durham

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caz665, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi
Thank you for your very kind words and all my staff will appreciate the kind things you had to say about them, I am in total agreement with the comments you have posted about your stay in our 3* hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#20 of 39 in Coventry
505 reviews
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
2.4 mi away
Novotel Coventry
Novotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Premiere Classe Coventry Hotel
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel at the Ricoh Arena - Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Court Hotel - Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court Hotel - Coventry

Property: Royal Court Hotel - Coventry
Address: Tamworth Road | Keresley, Coventry CV7 8JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Court Hotel - Coventry 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Grade II listed Coventry Country House Hotel is set in 11 acres of landscaped gardens and parkland, approximately 3 miles from Coventry City Centre. The original manor house, built in 1894 by the car manufacturer William Hillman, has been tastefully extended over the years to become the largest hotel in Coventry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Court Hotel - Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing