We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of Room for Improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Court Hotel - Coventry
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Appleby, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Plenty of Room for Improvement”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

After reading the previous reviews I was worried about the stay, we stayed in the hotel as part of a wedding party; the rooms were at a discounted price of £40, however regular room prices for that time were at £109 which one guest of the wedding had to pay due to there being no more wedding discounted rooms. This price is high for the 3 star basic hotel, the hotel does have swimming and gym facilities but these are at a high price extra which I think is a bit ridiculous for the cost of the rooms per night. We stayed on the second floor, in the newer part of the hotel in an executive room; the room was a nice size but was quite dated and the bed was quite firm, the bathroom came with a large jacuzzi bath and shower which was clean and nice; the walls were are quite thin so could hear the TV and talking in the next room however this could not be helped. The hotel has free wifi which is a bonus, the wifi is quick and you can have as many devices as you wish on the wifi. We stayed on a bed & breakfast basis, the food was bland and the drinks watered down, this was largely disappointing on both mornings. The room for the wedding reception was decorated beautifully, the food was nice and staff were friendly, however drinks prices were quite high. The room we were in was called the Windsor Suit, it smelt quite damp in the room throughout the night and the hotel did have some leaks due to the heavy rain we had on both the day before and on the day of the wedding. Overall a good stay, however the hotel could be largely improved and modernised with the space they have.

Room Tip: Stay in an executive room, in the newer part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KatieAlexandra_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caz665, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi
Thank you for taking the time to put your thoughts about the hotel on Trip Advisor. We do our very best to make any occasion at the hotel special. The staff work very hard to deliver a very good service to all our guests. Our rooms although dated are clean and comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    378
    373
    326
    486
See reviews for
263
633
60
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My partner & i have just got back from a 4 night stay here, we found it to be clean & comfortable, the meals were lovely & the staff were friendly & nice, after reading the reviews prior to going we were a little worried, but all i can say is they are wrong, we have no complaints about the hotel & would gladly go back, thank you :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annetteknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caz665, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi
Thank you so much for putting such a lovely review about the hotel on trip advisor, I wish that all guests were as appreciative of the hard work that goes into the up keep of such a large hotel.
We always try our best to give each guest the best possible experience at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The first thing I will say that this hotel has got lots of potential.
When you first get into the car park it looks a bit unkempt - the grass needs cutting and the plants and car park area are in need of a good tidy up. The reception at least looks a bit more cared for.

Our first room was located in the more modern part of the hotel and it was "alright", it looked clean enough but in need of modernisation - the tube telly was a bit of a blast from the past.
The bathroom again looked quite clean but the toilet seat had a crack in it (it pinched your bum if you sat on it!) and the shower wasn't the best but it worked.

Due to Basset Hound Club birthday party there were some dogs in the hotel, which were barking and howling. As it was early evening we went out for a bite to eat at a nearby Harvester and hoped that they would have quietened down on our return.

Unfortunately this was not the case, and the howling continued. After a long day and just wanting to sleep we were not too happy about this so my partner tried to call reception as there was no answer he went down instead. When he came back he said we weren't the first people to complain but the dogs were apparently being checked every hour - this will explain why the howling would stop for a few minutes then!
We had also been allocated another room - this time in the older part of the hotel. So after packing up our belongings we made the expedition to our new room.
To be honest when we got to it I was not impressed - it was in desperate need of redecoration. Wallpaper was coming away from the wall in the bedroom. The lino was tatty and coming up in the bathroom. One of the panes of glass in the bathroom window was broken...
It was also boiling hot but due to being located above the kitchen (I think) we could not have the windows open. But at least we couldn't hear the dogs howling!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank badger1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caz665, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on trip advisor.
I am sorry you were kept awake from the dogs barking, not alot we can do other than keep asking the owners to keep there pets quiet. we are a dog friendly hotel as are all Britannia hotels and we do have dog shows here. Our rooms are a little dated but they are clean and comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I have problems sleeping and as I was with my family spent most of the night in reception with my kindle. Rob who was working the night shift in reception couldn't do enough for me. Nothing was too much trouble. He kept me topped up with coffee and conversation. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caz665, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hi
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how good are staff are here at the Royal Court Hotel,the staff do work very hard to look after all our guests, and very often do not get the recognition they deserve. Once again thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ted085
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Dont be fooled by external photo of hotel, much of it harks back to Crossroads design.

Bedrooms were tired and dated. Curtains hanging off as entered room. Tiles missing in bathroom, plug did not fit! Dropped my glasses and covered in dust, cobwebs when retrieved, smelt of cigarette smoke. Chairs ripped in lounge area,

Can honestly say never experienced such awful swimming pool changing rooms, dirty, locker fronts missing, grime in showers, no attendants, Was told not to leave anything valuable as theft is rife.

Rubbish uncollected in small grounds and a fight broke out on the Sunday evening,

It needs serious money spent on it.

AVOID!!!

Room Tip: None avoid. Unless you like grime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ted085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caz665, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hi
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on trip Advisor.
Well I am not certain you stayed in the hotel you wrote about as the rooms are not dirty or dusty and as for the grounds it would be impossible to keep 11 acres of ground completely litter free when you have 400 guests in the hotel each night.
We do our very best to give all our guests the best possible stay here at the Royal Court. I guess you will not be staying with us again as we are obviously not what you were looking for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My rating is based on the price level of this hotel. It really bugs me that some people expect a 5 star hotel for 3 star price.
We stayed 2 nights on a national holiday trip. The pleasant room was of a good size with nice decoration and the bathroom had a newish suite. The grounds are lovely and the food good.
One piece of constructive criticism, mealtimes could be a bit chaotic but might be improved by small layout changes. e.g. people going for pudding had to push past people still queuing for main course. A separate table might help. Still, great value hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caz665, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi
Thank you for your very positive comments about the staff and the hotel, it is very refreshing to read that people are happy with the price they have paid for the hotel they have booked. As for the Restaurant queing issue we welcome your comments and will look to act on them accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

As part of our National Holiday visit to Oxford and Stratford with our excellent driver Steve, we stayed at The Royal Court Hotel situated on the outskirts of Coventry. First impressions of the hotel were good as it situated in the parkland surrounding the former home of the Hillman Car Founder. We were allocated an excellent executive room overlooking the indoor pool and parkland. Facilities in the room were very good. The self service meal system with each group denominated by different coloured serviettes worked very well, apart from the last morning, when the incoming residents did not appear at the correct time throwing the whole system into chaos. The lady in charge coped very well in the circumstances without any assistance from management. She really needed help which was not forthcoming- definately a black mark for them! Overall however we had superb four days and we are just amazed that the price we paid

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caz665, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi
Thank you for taking the time to write such positive and truthfull comments about the hotel and the staff. It is always our aim to give our guests a friendly and positive stay at the Royal Court. If only all our guests were as supportive of the staff and the hotel as you have been.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#19 of 39 in Coventry
507 reviews
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
2.4 mi away
Novotel Coventry
Novotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Premiere Classe Coventry Hotel
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel at the Ricoh Arena - Coventry
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Court Hotel - Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court Hotel - Coventry

Property: Royal Court Hotel - Coventry
Address: Tamworth Road | Keresley, Coventry CV7 8JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Court Hotel - Coventry 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Grade II listed Coventry Country House Hotel is set in 11 acres of landscaped gardens and parkland, approximately 3 miles from Coventry City Centre. The original manor house, built in 1894 by the car manufacturer William Hillman, has been tastefully extended over the years to become the largest hotel in Coventry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Court Hotel - Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing