We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a refugee detention centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Court Hotel - Coventry
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Reviewed 2 October 2009

I had to endure one night here. Never again. Never.

If you want 80's decor, fixtures and fittings, the strong smell of air freshener to hide the filth and squalor, this is the place to be. The comunal areas were so dated and tired, with torn carpets held down with gaffer tape. The bar was so depressing, I've seen nicer care homes for the bewildered. The breakfast was awful. I dare not even think what the kitchen must look like if the areas of the hotel you can see are so bad.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Iamcorrect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,716 - 1,722 of 1,816 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2009

We have jus been for a weekend to this hotel and i can only say im glad to be home. The room looked as if it hadn't been done up since the 80s. The bedding was clean but the beds and furniture left a lot tobe desired. The room looked as if it hadn't been cleaned for ages it was dusty and broken tiles in the bathroom. I can honestly say though that the food was great value for money and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzib20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

£45 for an executive double with spa including breakfast, clean can't really complain!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pistoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2009

I booked this hotel before i had read the comments on trip advisor, but when i did read them they sent me into a bit of a panic. I didn't tell my husband what was written on here, i'm glad i didn't cause i don't know what people are complaining about.

When we pulled up the front drive there was a wedding party having their photos taken on the front lawn, the building and grounds i could not fault, it was immaculate. The reception area was impressive.

We had booked just a normal double room, but when we got to our room it was a double room with a spa bath overlooking the back of the hotel, which we was pleased about as it was very quiet. The room was clean, the bed very comfy. The only thing i could complain about was 1 skirting tile missing from the bathroom but that would be really really picky of me.

We went out for the evening and when we got back at about 12.30 the wedding party was in full swing with a live rock band, but when we got to our room we couldn't hear a thing from downstairs.

The breakfast was a buffet style. If you love your full english this is the hotel for you. I was stuffed by the time i finished.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenmart72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We booked 3 rooms for a wedding function and overall had a good stay. We booked two double rooms and a twin room.

Finding the hotel was quite simple, about a 10 minute drive from Junction 3 off the M6. We found a car parking space but it is a bit of a walk to reception, especially with two young children and trying to juggle bags and clothes on hangers. I think parent and child bays nearer to the entrance would have made it easier.

Checking in was hassle free, with the option to charge drinks to the room or pay as you go. We received our keys and made our way to our rooms which were all on the same corridor on the ground floor.

We entered our double room and found it a reasonable size with enough space for a travel cot. The decor was extremely tired. Drinking facilities were OK, the kettle needed a good clean but plenty of sugar, milk etc. The bathroom smelt of urine but looked clean. The shower was extremely powerfull and easy to use but there wasn't a bath. We had a view which overlooked the open space at the front of the hotel. There were a lot of people outside smoking and drinking but we couldn't hear anybody at night. The window only opened an inch and was a little bit stuffy. The TV had channels 1 to 4 with 2 radio stations. Teletext worked so there was no problem keeping up with the football scores.

The second double room was a little smaller but we had no problems. The twin room which was situated at the end of the corridor was huge. It had two single beds, a large chair with footstool and a large setee with ample room. The bathroom had a bath but it hasn't been updated in about 30 years. It was a pink suite with pink tiles and green slime in corners. The ceiling had numerous damp patches.

The hotel itself was quite vibrant but in need of modernisation. Many ceiling tiles were hanging off, wallpaper torn and shabby carpets. The bar was a nice area to have a drink and watch the football on the Sky TV. The grounds are beautiful although the fountain was full of rubbish. We went to an evening function in one of the Britannia suites. It was quite cramped and extremely hot and stuffy. We had a double pram and couldn't get around the tables. A disabled member of the family in a wheelchair had the same problem too. The disco was good with a big dance floor. Fortunately people could go outside and cool off. The buffet food was very nice and hot but was to one side of the room, so getting to and from the table was a pain as we were quite squashed as it was.

After a good nights sleep, we went to the restaurant and had breakfast. There was a good selection of cereals and fruits. Cooked breakfast was buffet style and had a good choice. The only slight niggle was that the bacon was extremely fatty.

We checked out at the reception and paid our room balance. Drinks are quite steep. £4.50 for a large glass of wine and £3.00 for a large coke.

Overall, we had a good stay. We paid £45.00 per room which included breakfast and was reasonable value for money. If the inside of the hotel matched the outside, it would be a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ant1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

My husband and I have just returned from a 4 night stay here as part of a coach tour. After having read some of the reviews here, I was pretty apprehensive about going. Once we checked in then arrived at our room, I really wondered what people were complaining about. Yes the decor is a bit tired, some new wallpaper wouldn't go amiss, but the room was spacious, clean, comfortable and with ample facilities. The bathroom just had a shower cubicle, which was ideal for us and also had shampoo, body lotion, shower gel etc, plenty of towels also. There was a large sideboard with lots of drawers, ideal for doing hair and make up and also a decent sized wardrobe so storage wasn't an issue. So it may not be a fancy flat screen tv, but we had 100% perfect reception, which must be a first! Being able to open the window a bit more would have been good as it was a bit stuffy on occasions. Dinner as part of our trip was in the main function room served as a carvery. This wasn't particularly to our liking, but that's just our tastes, no reflection on the hotel, everyone else enjoyed what they had. We found the staff to be efficient, polite and helpful, they were very good at dinner service. I wouldn't rate breakfast as the best I've ever had, but it was a satisfactory start to the day.

Overall this isn't the Ritz, far from it, but as long as you go with realistic expectations, you will be satisfied with this hotel. I'd have no hesitation in going back here if in the area again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fiona2326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

The twin room was very large, clean, and all we could wish for in a six-night break. The service was excellent with a very quick response (less than 5 minutes) to our requests for e new light bulb in the bathroom and a second bedside lamp which was missing on our arrival. The service could not be faulted either upstairs or in reception and dining room. Quiet location but this didn't worry us as we were on an organised tour. Hotel amenities ecxellent. Liked best - cleanliness & plenty of drawer & cupboard space in bedroom. Liked least - would have preferred not to have carvery, quiz and Bingo every night

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geomags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#20 of 39 in Coventry
519 reviews
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
2.9 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Premiere Classe Coventry Hotel
2.4 mi away
Novotel Coventry
Novotel Coventry
#17 of 39 in Coventry
565 reviews
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel at the Ricoh Arena - Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Court Hotel - Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court Hotel - Coventry

Address: Tamworth Road | Keresley, Coventry CV7 8JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range: £33 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Court Hotel - Coventry 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Grade II listed Coventry Country House Hotel is set in 11 acres of landscaped gardens and parkland, approximately 3 miles from Coventry City Centre. The original manor house, built in 1894 by the car manufacturer William Hillman, has been tastefully extended over the years to become the largest hotel in Coventry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Court Hotel - Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing