We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old meets new, but needs a refurb” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Court Hotel - Coventry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Court Hotel - Coventry
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Shropshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old meets new, but needs a refurb”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

The hotel looks lovely on the ads and pics. It has an air of grandeur,When we arrived in real life it seemed dated and faded. On arrival the car park was overcrowded, with pot holes and a distance too far away from the hotel entrance. Especially with heavy bags, for a couple of nights stay. Very impressive entrance hall, then directed to our room but the directions vague and got lost going up to 2nd floor, (signs unclear). In the evening one of the lifts was out of order two were out by morning. Paid the extra for an executive double suite with spa bath. Bed was too small rickety. No internet access in "executive room" and had to find a hotpost in an inconvenient place in the foyer. Bar also out of range. Bathroom was worn and mouldy, with bath panel loose and skirting and flooring coming away from edges.Spa bath a great idea, but spoilt by the rest. Not enough chairs, in the room, should have had another for the dressing table , desk area. No fridge in the room. Tv dated,lets face it there is no need to put up with big bulky tube in the corner of the room, since most people have flat screens at home, anything less is retrograde and makes it less somehow. Breakfast was lovely though, very tasty and plenty of it. staff were , mostly pleasant. however, bar staff surly and unwelcoming. Did not use the gym or pool as not enough time.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Binstomper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    361
    336
    301
    455
See reviews for
241
591
58
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

Stayed at this hotel on January 17th 2010.
I HAD read the reviews of the hotel but for £25 dinner, bed and breakfast I still decide to book a room. The receptionists on arrival and departure were very helpful. Service at dinner and breakfast could not have been better. I cannot fault room 225. It was big, clean and warm. All the usual Hotel extras were there.
Only one or should that be two complaints.....I ate too much for dinner and breakfast!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter1950claret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

We stayed for three days.
Cons -
1. The lift was out of order for the whole stay (we were on the fourth floor)
2. House keeping trolleys and linen were left in the corridors the whole time.
3. We heard dogs in other rooms???
4. The staff were the rudest and most unpleasant hotel staff I have ever come across, mainly the dining and bar staff.
5. The food was basic and bland with limited choice, by the last night I couldn't face eating another carvery.
6. Dining room draughty.
7. Spa bath not worth the extra charge.
8. Bedroom not the cleanest, found long black hairs!
9. Sheets didn't fit the bed.
10. TV was very dated and only showed 5 channels. Not what you expect from a hotel these days.
There's more, but I wont be too picky!

Pros -
1. We didn't pay full price.
2. Spa treatments cheap and Spa staff very friendly and nice.
3. Nice grounds.
4. Erm??

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curlypinkpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

Dinner service took forever - how can your table be first to get soup then last to get their main course. Then on New Years Eve all bars shut at 2am and we were all told that was it party over go to bed!

Both lifts didnt work and the staircases have not seen a hoover in a very long time.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FalkirkGem1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2010

Although we read the bad reviews, we were not prepared for just how dirty and unloved this hotel was. You would be hard pressed to find a corner that is dust-free. During our 3 day stay, carpets on the stairs, corridors and many other public areas were left dirty. The lovely tiled floor in the foyer was very grubby despite one attempt at cleaning it. Our Exec/spa room was dirty- badly scuffed bathroom floor, thick black hair on carpet by the bed, headboard on the floor, valance too small for size of bed, old furniture with just one easy chair . Thank goodness we were given a cleaner room. The dining room looked impressive but was very draughty, with tables so close together it was difficult to have an intimate dinner. The food varied from inedible to adequate. Likewise, the standard of service was at times rude and disinterested with the occasional smile and a few attempts to be helpful. After the carver dinner on the first evening, we made sure we ate a hearty lunch in town and bought snacks to keep us going. Spending time in the public lounges was unpleasant at times since many of the chairs were badly stained. Such a shame because the setting looked so lovely. So, if you don't mind dust, rundown furniture, poor service, very basic cuisine and the overall air of faded grandeur, then this hotel fits the bill. By the way, the hair we found in our room was probably dog hair!! We saw at least 4 of them during our stay. Not good if you have allergies and the carpet is not hoovered regularly.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonOldcodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2009

Stayed with a coach party on Saturday 5th December and everyone of our party was really impressed with the hotel. Upon arrival we were speedily and efficiently booked in. Our room was very spacious, clean and warm. The carvery meal was excellent from one of the best soups I have tasted to the luscious ham and turkey main meal with excellent vegetables and the choice of desserts. Then on to the bar area with coffee and tea to help ourselves. We had a great evening in the bar area and then on to relaxing night in our room. Sunday morning started with an excellent breakfast - one of the best I have had in hotels throughout the UK. Would loved to have had more time to investigate the pool and spa and explore the grounds of this hotel, but will definitely return. Wonderful hotel and great staff.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2009

after reading all the previous reviews after i had booked this hotel i was dreading staying here, but i really couldn't see what people complained about. We booked direct with Britannia website a executive spa room. whilst i wouldnt have said it was executive room it was very pleasant. It had clean neutral decoration with dark wood furniture, a big comfy bed and lovely clean bathroom.

The public areas are also very pleasant and I didn't see any signs of ripped carpets or shabby fittings. We also had breakfast, whilst we had to wait due to the amount of guest staying at the hotel, the breakfast room was lovely. There was a good variety of fresh hot and cold breakfast items.

The only reviews i would agree with were the staff were pretty miserable...apart from that we had a lovely stay

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucaloo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
4.4 mi away
Premiere Classe Coventry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Beechwood Hotel
The Beechwood Hotel
#28 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
2.4 mi away
Novotel Coventry
Novotel Coventry
#17 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
2.9 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Court Hotel - Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court Hotel - Coventry

Property: Royal Court Hotel - Coventry
Address: Tamworth Road | Keresley, Coventry CV7 8JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Court Hotel - Coventry 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Grade II listed Coventry Country House Hotel is set in 11 acres of landscaped gardens and parkland, approximately 3 miles from Coventry City Centre. The original manor house, built in 1894 by the car manufacturer William Hillman, has been tastefully extended over the years to become the largest hotel in Coventry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Royal Court Hotel - Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing