We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont bother staying here.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Court Hotel - Coventry
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dont bother staying here.”
Reviewed 5 April 2010

Just returned from a 4 night break. This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.
Filthy bathroom needs updating with floor not been cleaned in a while.
Bedroom freezing and when complained on Monday ignored reception said it was on a timer. This was fixed by Thursday after complaints by other guests.
Beds need binning lumpy old and did not dear look to close.
Staff unhelpful disinterested apart from one older lady in charge of Breakfast.
Dirty pots and laundry in corridors when returning home in afternoon for dinner.
Food not bad at night but could not get a proper cup of tea or coffee the whole stay,made early and left in pots to cool, tea like dishwater and coffee like tar.
Thursday night of visit they were holding a function for charity event so we were moved into other room and had to eat really early 5.30pm on hols no joke.
Also were mayed to hurry up as we were obviously not wanted that night.

Glad to return home.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    373
    357
    319
    474
See reviews for
252
615
59
350
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ayrshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Having read the reviews for this hotel i did not know what to expect, but i was pleasantly surprised. The room albeit requiring decoration was roomy and the furniture was good quality with plenty of drawers and wardrobe space. The breakfast was as good as many higher class establishments and the carvery dinner was first class,with 2 roasts each evening and there was always an alternative for those who did not want the carvery.

The tour included an all inclusive drinks offer but the spirits were either very weak or watered down but the beer was o.k. and as the trip was not expensive we had no real complaint.

The staff were friendly enough and the only moan was regarding the entertainment which was the same for all four nights, i.e. a quiz and bingo

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ardrossan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We stayed on a 2 night pamper break for my sisters 40th birthday treat which was a complete disaster.On arrival had double rooms instead of twin so directed to rooms upstairs and lift was broken.Crufts was on so dogs all over the hotel and in the bar/restaurant areas and they do not have separate rooms for animals. Our carpets were completely covered in white dog hairs so the room had obviously not been cleaned for quite some time. We complained and someone came in and hoovered but this did not get rid of all the hairs.Evening meal was awful and cutlery and glasses were all dirty.Breakfast was even worse with food that was cold and left out for a long time. Hotel staff totally unhelpful and uninterested in complaints and standard of hotel. Pamper break but pamper area consisted of a tiny treatment room and salon area which was very outdated and in need of some TLC. This was far from a relaxing break and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank treacleretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coventry hotels

merseyside
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

attended a wedding and stayed the weekend,its clean and warm, food was lovely including the breakfast ,plenty to choose from,some people must be very hard to please. Its a big place and there was 3 functions on but was no problem,no queueing for breakfast the staff were very good,very pleasant especially Ruth in the restaurant.
Read the reviews before I went and was a bit apprehensive, you make your own mind up.
We all had a great weekend.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llianMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2010

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor I was really not looking forward to a 2 day conference with an overnight stay. Whilst the hotel is far from a des res, it wasn't quite as bad as I was expecting. Its tired, dated and a bit shabby but there are plenty of places a lot worse. The taps in the public bathrooms and bedroom were wonky, the carpets were worn and there were many signs that cleaning wasn't all it should be. The furniture was classic 70's, the bedrooms were large and the bath and shower were ok, the telly had just 5 channels and looked like it had seen better days. The room was freezing when I went to bed but I woke to a tropical temperature. The walls were incredibly thin and the plumbing very noisy. The food was mediocre. It looks like its highly poular on the blue rinse coach circuit and whilst I'm struggling to find much positive to say it wasn't quite as bad as I'd expected.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stressedoutmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

We booked this as a close hotel near the NEC and first impressions were good with an efficient reception and a good sized room with one of the best baths I've had in a hotel (although it seemed to have been installed the wrong way round). We then noticed cobwebs on the light fittings and splatter stains on the radiator in the room, which indicated that cleaning was not as thourough as you'd expect. However the bed was comfortable and clean. The TV had only 5 channels working and the remote didn't function. Also the towels were fairly small for someone of more rotund proportions.

The catering was, however, abysmal. We had a dinner B&B deal so had to use the carvery. The wild boar terrine was reasonably good and the soup not bad. The carvery main course was, to put it bluntly, below acceptable quality with the meat not so much over cooked as cremated. The beef did not have a hint of pink anywhere in it although it was tender in the way that no detectable molecular structure remains through overcooking (a bit like a slow cooker!). The lamb was tasteless to the extent that you couldn't tell whether it was beef or lamb and was even more over cooked than the beef. The Yorkshire puds and roast tatties had run out as well, although my wife commented that the carrots were really lovely. The desserts were disappointing and sad and the cheese was dried out with only 4 crackers remaining. The house red was undrinkable and I only had about a 3rd of the bottle.

On going back to the room we stopped at reception for more tea bags and milk (4 tea bags and 4 milk is paltry!) to listen in to two people having major arguments over being given smoking rooms when they specifically asked for non smoking, and basically being told to like it or lump it.

Breakfast was costed down to a budget with cheap ingedients (very fatty bacon, cheap sausages etc) and fried eggs left out for far too long so they had solidified to the consistency of dried copydex. Tea and coffee were in thermosses on the table and not very nice.

Overall, the hotel was acceptable for one night on a budget rate, but the management really needs to pull its socks up in several areas and stop penny pinching.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smudges-dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2010

Chose this hotel because 1. We had superbreak vouchers which they accepted 2. Looked lovely 3. Free parking
HOWEVER we were very dissappointed. Vouchers meant we were paying more than all the odffer prices for weekends as offers cant be paid for in vouchers. Car park was full and long walk in rain from entrance. The tudor towers picture exists but there is a huge concrete block of rooms built on the side. We had a large room in the old part which was incredibly shabby, no bath mat, dirty shelves, broken TV remote, no radio, no T spoons, no hangers etc etc. No Wi Fi. Breakfast was ok but had to wait 20mins for a table as breakfast room was full (no problem on the monday). No fresh fruit or yoghurt, horrid thin toast - not fresh, tea and coffee in large thermos jugs was stewed. Cereal and cooked selection ok.
Room was 'cleaned' while at breakfast but bins not emptied or bathroom tidied or topped up. We asked for it to be done and returned about 5pm - nothing. So complained again and bin was emptied but nothing else.
On checking out receptionist appeared and took key without asking if we had a pleasant stay, or wished us a safe journey - nothing.
Swimming pool, spa etc were however lovely but full of families and 2 large groups of eastern europeans who took up whole of steam room and sauna.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
493 reviews
2.4 mi away
Novotel Coventry
Novotel Coventry
#17 of 39 in Coventry
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
1.8 mi away
The Jacobean Hotel
The Jacobean Hotel
#20 of 39 in Coventry
370 reviews
2.9 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#7 of 39 in Coventry
2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Court Hotel - Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court Hotel - Coventry

Property: Royal Court Hotel - Coventry
Address: Tamworth Road | Keresley, Coventry CV7 8JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Court Hotel - Coventry 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Grade II listed Coventry Country House Hotel is set in 11 acres of landscaped gardens and parkland, approximately 3 miles from Coventry City Centre. The original manor house, built in 1894 by the car manufacturer William Hillman, has been tastefully extended over the years to become the largest hotel in Coventry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Court Hotel - Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing