We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot expect much more for £58 pounds for 2 nights DBB”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Court Hotel - Coventry
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Just come back from Royal Court Hotel, after staying with friends for the weekend. We had booked DBB and an upgrade to an executive room for 2 nights - with a bottle of wine per room thrown in!. We were first given a double and a twin room when we booked 2 twins, but the staff on reception swiftly gave us another 1 on the same floor. The room was ok but our shower did not work so we informed reception who took a note of it but nothing was done! We had to go along the corridor to our friends room to use theres! The dining room experience was lovely on the Friday night, not much waiting and a good supply of (carvery) food. It was a different story on the Saturday night, when the place was full of Valentines couples! It was a fiasco, with people queueing for ages, then sitting down to dirty, unmade tables, and there was not much food available. I must admit that if I had been trying to impress a lady I would have been fuming - but as just four friends it was entertaining to hear all the people complaining around us, one lady throwing a chair in disgust and another arguing about missing champagne at the next table. We were put in ' the orangery' which was a bit tatty and had strip lighting - so much for romance.!
We went out for the day on Saturday and when we came back the housekeeper had not bothered to wash our cups/spoons and just thrown 2 milk cartons in each (dirty) cup!.
Apart from that we had a lovely time and people were working hard. You cannot expect a 5* hotel for £58.00 for 2 nights, so all the people who moan should take that into consideration, and pay more if that is what they want!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank callmyselfdoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalCourtM, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and please accept my apolgies for the Saturday night

Your comments with regard to the dining room, for this I can only apologise we had an unexpected shortage of staff and and also an unexpected take up on the offer we realeased of £58 DBB and wine over Valentines. While this is not an excuse in anyway we were vastly understaffed and we let you down and for this we are sorry.

I have spoken with Housekeeping and can assure you that this is not our normal standard and has been dealt with. The shower maintenace were awaiting a part but has now been repaired.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I do hope you will return as lessons have been learnt and we are constantly striving to improve.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,786)
There are newer reviews for Royal Court Hotel - Coventry
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,602 - 1,608 of 1,787 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2011

we have just stayed at the Royal Court Hotel on saturday 13th feb on the valentine break,at only £69.00 for the two of us it was excellent value and food and room quality were not compromised.We found our room to be clean and spacious with lovely white clean linen and towels,yes the decor is a little outdated but who cares as long as the room is clean.We used the swimming pool and spa facilities and really enjoyed our afternoon,this was at no extra cost.When we returned to our room w had been left a bottle of bubbly and chocolates,which was a lovely touch.We had booked the carvery dinner and yes we had to wait a little while due to the amount of people but found the food to be good and the staff friendly,the tables were decorated for valentines and each lady received a red rose,thanks.Breakfast was more than adequate and plenty to eat,so yes I would and will go again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chewyccol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalCourtM, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2011

Thank you so much for your review and I am so pleased you enjoyed yourself. Please keep a look out for more specials on our website and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Room 241 was a disgrace and I should have made a complaint as soon as I saw the wallpaper had peeled off the wall to reveal bare concrete, but I did not know until I slept in the bed that it was very old, saggy and very creaky I also didn't know that the linning of the curtains was ripped to shreds and badly stained . I made these complaints the following morning and the guy on reception who was totally non plussed said he would make a note of it and bring it to the managers attention. On reflection I should have refused to pay as the condition of the room was totally unacceptable. I can't believe the other rooms could be as bad as room 241, a hotel just couldn't survive if all the rooms were as appaling as 241, however a spare mattress stored in the main stairwell to the second floor suggests that this hotel may have other problems too !

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pennymead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalCourtM, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2011

Thank you for your review and I am sorry that you did not speak to us immediately. It is standard practice to room move any guest who is not satisfied with the standard of their room on arrival according to availability. We are aware that the hotel is suffering from wear and tear, and are continuously working to improve the state of our facilities. As you can appreciate with 210 rooms, this does unfortunately take time and is ongoing

My heads of department are keen to improve the business and obviously it is only by listening to such constructive comments that we can hope to make things better.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

After reading some poor reviews, we were a bit worried about staying at this hotel, but very pleasantly surprised when we arrived.
When we arrived it looked very nice on the outside with lovely gardens. Reception is very smart and tidy, friendly and quick check in. Our room (Executive double with jacuzzi bath) was very spacious, clean and tidy (although smelt a bit foisty) . The bathroom was clean , bath very nice especially with jacuzzi switched on. The food was very nice, evening meal was a sit down valentines dinner, breakfast was a buffet style full English. All in all we had a very enjoyable stay and would book here again.

The only bad points are:
TV's could do with updating and possibly some of the decor in the hotel.
Water a bit noisy when adjoining rooms used taps or toilet.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theshady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalCourtM, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2011

I appreciate the time you have taken to post a review following your recent stay with us. It gives the team here great pleasure and motivation to receive such positive feedback. We are currently working on our rooms but as you can appreciate this does take time. I do hope we can welcome back to our hotel in the future

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We arrived with booking for double room, to be told only twin rooms available. Offered dirty, mouldy room which felt damp - declined offer. Polite reception staff offered sister hotel . Reception full of guests with similar complaints. The pool changing facilities were hairily dirty. With notices in the ladies not to "dye hair in shower cubicles" and a sauna with a warning not to shave legs in cabinet!!!! All was not lost , enjoyed recounting horror stories with other evacuees in more comfortable sister hotel where we were offered an hours free bar as recompense.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cris998877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalCourtM, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I do apologise for the mix up in bookings I am currently invesigating how this happened. Part of this was an unexpected take up on the offer we realeased. While this is not an excuse in anyway we are sorry we let you down.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed my other hotel the Coventry Hill.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

really good stay .took advantage of offer. paid 71 pounds for two people one night ,three course evening meal with complementary bottle of wine and full english breakfast.The staff were very friendly and smartly dressed .Bar prices reasonable .Handy for visiting Coventry about 15 mins drive .Very difficult to say anything negative about our stay only one minor moan was that the bar area was cold .To the management "keep up the good work"

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalCourtM, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2011

I appreciate the time you have taken to post a review following your recent stay with us. It gives the team here great pleasure and motivation to receive such positive feedback. We are currently working on our rooms but as you can appreciate this does take time. I do hope we can welcome back to our hotel in the future

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Me and boyfriend stayed here at the end of Jan/beginning of Feb 2011 becasue we found a cheap deal on TravelZoo. Upon arrival there was a wedding fayre going on and the receptionist greeted me with "Y'alright?".......however, we checked in and were pointed to our rooms - no explaination of where the restaurant was, what the etiguette was, do we need to book, what facilities were available etc etc. Teh room was ok, very simple and bare, but the sheets and towels were clean. The shower was constantly dripping throughout the whole night and the bathroom floor was unclean but it was okay and quiet, apart from hearing next doors coughing and jacuzzi bath at 7 in the morning! We went down to dinner about 7.30 only to be told we were supposed to have booked (?!) waited half an hour and sat in a freezing cold restaurant with out "free meal" which was a cold carvery BUT the beef was cooked to perfection! No free wine offered as was included in the booking! Breakfast was cold as well but had all you needed/wanted. Again staff not pleasantly interested in your needs or wants and tables were constantly dirty. Grounds of this hotel were beautiful and we didn't use the swimming pool or gym. We forgot our toothpaste adn asked at reception for some but the receptionist again uninterested in helping us locating some...we asked the maid and she was very kind and said if she could find some she would drop it off to our room. Overall okay for a little alone time - been to plenty more hotels on a better deal than that! The decor is quite lacking and not maintained at all. I used to work in the Norbreck Castl hotel in Blackpool which is run by the same outfit and was quite the same but expected more....sorry! Oh but the room service was good! but expensive!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalCourtM, General Manager at Royal Court Hotel - Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2011

Please accept my apologies for the difficulties you experienced whilst staying with us recently.

Thank you for taking the time to write to me like this, as it is only through constructive comments such as yours that we can constantly monitor the standards of service we offer our guests.

Kind regard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#19 of 39 in Coventry
511 reviews
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
2.4 mi away
Novotel Coventry
Novotel Coventry
#17 of 39 in Coventry
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel at the Ricoh Arena - Coventry
2.9 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#9 of 39 in Coventry
2,297 reviews
4.4 mi away
Premiere Classe Coventry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Court Hotel - Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court Hotel - Coventry

Address: Tamworth Road | Keresley, Coventry CV7 8JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range: £30 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Court Hotel - Coventry 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Grade II listed Coventry Country House Hotel is set in 11 acres of landscaped gardens and parkland, approximately 3 miles from Coventry City Centre. The original manor house, built in 1894 by the car manufacturer William Hillman, has been tastefully extended over the years to become the largest hotel in Coventry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Court Hotel - Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing