We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good basic hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Coventry South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibis Coventry South
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    108
    90
    52
    53
See reviews for
41
89
60
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

This is a basic but comfortable budget hotel - it is exactly what it is described as so set your expectations accordingly. I sleep well when here, the breakfast is good and that's really all I need for £40-50 per night.

The Good:
- service was great - friendly team
- the bed was very comfortable
- breakfast was great - avoid the scrambled eggs and ask for poached!!
- there is a huge Virgin gym next door and you get a discount so that's where I spend most of my evenings!

What was not so good:
- very limited dinner menu so I avoid if possible - the gym (as mentioned above) serves great food though
- the hotel is isolated. If you don't come by car there is very little around to do - maybe ok in summer with longer nights but not so great in winter
- the heating in the room was just ok - I certainly wasn't overly warm - so I wondered if this may be a problem if we had a colder winter...

But all in all it ticked most of the boxes for me and I will return in the future should I need to.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank OMacster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian_Ward, General Manager at Ibis Coventry South, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for the postive & the negetives comments, I will be taking notes of these comments and will act upon these to see where we can improve on. I'm pleased that you found the staff helpful and look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Coventry South in the future.
Julian ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed there recently, it was freezing in the room, poor heater which took ages to take the chill off. Sat inside the bed fully dressed with coat and scarf on for at least 2 hours. Carpet was filthy, and all the bedding, towels etc where on carts in the alley in the freezing cold at 11.00 pm. It was a reasonable price so I suppose you get what you pay for. We have stayed in Ibis Hotels in France and they are cleaner than the one in Coventry. Won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborahjones2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian_Ward, General Manager at Ibis Coventry South, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
I am so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience while staying with us. i will pass comments onto our housekeeping regards the carpet issue.
Regards to the heating we are looking into improving the heating in the hotel. But due to the design of the building (concrete) there is very limited insulation & we do have spare heaters upon request from reception desk,
Thank you for the feedback
Regards Julian ward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
465 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here one nite in Dec as attending a party at pub down the road. Upon arrival the very helpful guy printed off a map showing how to take a short cut along very safe well lit path to save a £6 taxi fare!
Rooms ok - the heating is timed though and goes off at night until early next morning. I would hope that in the event of a cold snap this would be reviewed as I didn't find the room that hot but was adequate.
I was a bit annoyed though to pay £45 for the room (through the accor website) and on arrival it would have been cheaper!
All in all I only stayed here as was closest hotel to where was gong at nite but the staff are the big credit for this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian_Ward, General Manager at Ibis Coventry South, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here.
My team and I appreciate you choosing to stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Coventry south in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
1.2 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#15 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
2.0 mi away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#26 of 39 in Coventry
3.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Coventry South
Holiday Inn Coventry South
#25 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Chace Hotel Coventry
The Chace Hotel Coventry
#23 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premiere Classe Coventry Hotel
4.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Coventry South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Coventry South

Property: Ibis Coventry South
Address: Whitley Business Park | Abbey Road, Coventry CV3 4LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Coventry South 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Coventry South Whitley is located between the Jaguar factory and the Virgin leisure centre. Warwick University is only 5 km away and Stratford upon Avon (the city of Shakespeare) is a 30 min drive. 5 minutes drive from the centre of Coventry and the airport, the hotel offers 51 en suite rooms and a meeting room. It has a restaurant, a terrace, a bar serving snacks 24 hours 7 days and a free car park (50 spaces). Free Wireless Internet access available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Coventry South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Coventry South Whitley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing