We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No problems with stay, would use again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Coventry South
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Some of the reviews here are a bit unfair I think... Yes, the building is getting on in years, some of the fixtures and fittings are a bit tired but this is a 2 star hotel. Want 5 star? Then go elsewhere but expect to pay 5 star prices.

The good:
Staff - friendly, helpful. Look at the reviews below, they take time to reply which is a good sign
Shower - Plenty of hot water, good pressure and none of the fittings were broken!
Bed - descent sized double, comfortable, clean bedding
Free wifi
Kettle with tea and coffee
The price - paid just £32.30 for a double room, which is very good value
Bar - small selection of beer/wine and food. Enough to keep you going. We didn't take breakfast (no time)

Not so good
Heating - was ok in the end, room started off feeling a bit cold. I can imagine in very cold weather that the heating system and insulation would struggle to keep up. I was fine though and as the management have said, they can provide another heater

Location - not much around and as other have commented, a little tricky to find. When you arrive in the industrial area by satnav, there are signs which say "hotel" just follow those.

Noise - not many comments about this but sound travels through the building, you'll hear people arrive/leave.

Overall, a 2+ star hotel, 4 star service, 1 star price.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ahead999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian_Ward, General Manager at Ibis Coventry South, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here.
My team and I appreciate you putting both negetives and postives regards your stay.
We are working hard to ensure all our guest have a great stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Coventry south in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Coventry South
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

We have stayed here a few times and it is a decent budget hotel with clean and comfortable rooms, good bathrooms and there is a pretty nice bar/eating area for this scale of hotel. The food is pretty good although not the widest menu. The staff are really friendly and efficient and were extremely helpful when we left something in the room. The only real downside is that it is a bit awkward to find (aim for the Jaguar factory!). We will undoubtedly stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ab N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian_Ward, General Manager at Ibis Coventry South, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Sir/Madam, I would like to thank you for your comments. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found both the location and the quality of bedrooms as expected. I am very pleased that you enjoyed sleeping on our new Sweet Ibis Bed
Regards Julian Ward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Booked for 2 nights but came away after the first one. The reception area is in the bar/small restaurant area where breakfast is served. There is seating for about 6-8 people around a small TV in one corner of the room. The bedrooms are in a small block on the other side of the car park. Not a pleasant walk if it is raining. The bedroom is one of the smallest I've ever seen. Not much space to move around, even with the bed pushed up against the wall. There was a small TV with kettle and cups on a tray underneath. The en-suite was small and poorly appointed with the bare essentials only.
The hotel is very difficult to find. No use using the sat nav as it takes you to a dead end. There are no signs to the hotel, you have to follow signs to the Jaguar engineering works!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian_Ward, General Manager at Ibis Coventry South, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thanks for your review. regards the size of the rooms there is very little we can do as all the bedooms are the same size, but we do try to refect this on the website and also the type of hotel we are, We do have clear details regards directions to the hotel on the website and booking infomation, As the local council will not let us place signage on public roads.
Regards
Julian Ward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank sunworshipper066
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Julian_Ward, General Manager at Ibis Coventry South, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is a basic but comfortable budget hotel - it is exactly what it is described as so set your expectations accordingly. I sleep well when here, the breakfast is good and that's really all I need for £40-50 per night.

The Good:
- service was great - friendly team
- the bed was very comfortable
- breakfast was great - avoid the scrambled eggs and ask for poached!!
- there is a huge Virgin gym next door and you get a discount so that's where I spend most of my evenings!

What was not so good:
- very limited dinner menu so I avoid if possible - the gym (as mentioned above) serves great food though
- the hotel is isolated. If you don't come by car there is very little around to do - maybe ok in summer with longer nights but not so great in winter
- the heating in the room was just ok - I certainly wasn't overly warm - so I wondered if this may be a problem if we had a colder winter...

But all in all it ticked most of the boxes for me and I will return in the future should I need to.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank OMacster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian_Ward, General Manager at Ibis Coventry South, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for the postive & the negetives comments, I will be taking notes of these comments and will act upon these to see where we can improve on. I'm pleased that you found the staff helpful and look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Coventry South in the future.
Julian ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Julian_Ward, General Manager at Ibis Coventry South, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed there recently, it was freezing in the room, poor heater which took ages to take the chill off. Sat inside the bed fully dressed with coat and scarf on for at least 2 hours. Carpet was filthy, and all the bedding, towels etc where on carts in the alley in the freezing cold at 11.00 pm. It was a reasonable price so I suppose you get what you pay for. We have stayed in Ibis Hotels in France and they are cleaner than the one in Coventry. Won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborahjones2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian_Ward, General Manager at Ibis Coventry South, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

I am so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience while staying with us. i will pass comments onto our housekeeping regards the carpet issue.
Regards to the heating we are looking into improving the heating in the hotel. But due to the design of the building (concrete) there is very limited insulation & we do have spare heaters upon request from reception desk,
Thank you for the feedback
Regards Julian ward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
1.2 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
565 reviews
4.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
512 reviews
2.0 mi away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#27 of 39 in Coventry
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Chace Hotel Coventry
The Chace Hotel Coventry
#26 of 39 in Coventry
508 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premiere Classe Coventry Hotel
1.6 mi away
Citrus Hotel Coventry by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Coventry South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Coventry South

Address: Whitley Business Park | Abbey Road, Coventry CV3 4LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range: £32 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Coventry South 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Coventry South Whitley is located between the Jaguar factory and the Virgin leisure centre. Warwick University is only 5 km away and Stratford upon Avon (the city of Shakespeare) is a 30 min drive. 5 minutes drive from the centre of Coventry and the airport, the hotel offers 51 en suite rooms and a meeting room. It has a restaurant, a terrace, a bar serving snacks 24 hours 7 days and a free car park (50 spaces). Free Wireless Internet access available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Coventry South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Coventry South Whitley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing