We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not greatest value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Coventry South
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The service received whilst checking in was outrageous. Processed fast, not a care in the world and the attitude of staff member was rude and abrupt. Had to discover where the room was as no directions where given! People may mention, you get what you pay for. Yes, I completely agree. I’ve stayed in other hotel for the same price and had a better service overall. The hotel and room itself is like a cabin in the woods. It’s dingy, dark and smells. Basic needs are met, it’s not luxurious but it will do for a night. Free parking is an essential so it covered that need. The location is okay, slightly hard to find due to being in an unknown location to many people.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sondeep4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian_Ward, General Manager at Ibis Coventry South, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for your review
As we are committed to great service at ibis hotel. I am concerned on the service you received upon check in and would like you to contact me to discuss this issue so we can resolve it for future bookings.
We do have several signs around the local area and clear directions on our web site. As we are unable to place more signage due to local planning law via the council

Regards
Julian ward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Firstly I'd just like to say if you want 5 star then book 5 star...I stayed at the ibis this weekend and I've got admit I was pleasantly surprised. Yes it's a bit dated but the rooms were clean, the towels changed each morning, tea&coffee facilities provided and the beds were really comfy and I had 2 excellent nights sleep. I can't judge on the food because I ate at the event I attended but the restaurant area looked nice and clean. I think people have been very unfair with some their comments, it's a budget hotel....you get what you pay for. The reception staff were lovely and so were the housekeeping ladies, I will be using the ibis chain again for sure.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Hayley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian_Ward, General Manager at Ibis Coventry South, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Sir/Madam

I would like to thank you for your review.
We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay last weekend, We do appricate your comments regards the rooms and the standard of service during your stay. i will also pass your postive feedback on to our housekeeper.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Julian Ward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Marcelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Julian_Ward, General Manager at Ibis Coventry South, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Stewarty0
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Julian_Ward, Manager at Ibis Coventry South, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Some of the reviews here are a bit unfair I think... Yes, the building is getting on in years, some of the fixtures and fittings are a bit tired but this is a 2 star hotel. Want 5 star? Then go elsewhere but expect to pay 5 star prices.

The good:
Staff - friendly, helpful. Look at the reviews below, they take time to reply which is a good sign
Shower - Plenty of hot water, good pressure and none of the fittings were broken!
Bed - descent sized double, comfortable, clean bedding
Free wifi
Kettle with tea and coffee
The price - paid just £32.30 for a double room, which is very good value
Bar - small selection of beer/wine and food. Enough to keep you going. We didn't take breakfast (no time)

Not so good
Heating - was ok in the end, room started off feeling a bit cold. I can imagine in very cold weather that the heating system and insulation would struggle to keep up. I was fine though and as the management have said, they can provide another heater

Location - not much around and as other have commented, a little tricky to find. When you arrive in the industrial area by satnav, there are signs which say "hotel" just follow those.

Noise - not many comments about this but sound travels through the building, you'll hear people arrive/leave.

Overall, a 2+ star hotel, 4 star service, 1 star price.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ahead999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian_Ward, General Manager at Ibis Coventry South, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here.
My team and I appreciate you putting both negetives and postives regards your stay.
We are working hard to ensure all our guest have a great stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Coventry south in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We have stayed here a few times and it is a decent budget hotel with clean and comfortable rooms, good bathrooms and there is a pretty nice bar/eating area for this scale of hotel. The food is pretty good although not the widest menu. The staff are really friendly and efficient and were extremely helpful when we left something in the room. The only real downside is that it is a bit awkward to find (aim for the Jaguar factory!). We will undoubtedly stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ab N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian_Ward, General Manager at Ibis Coventry South, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Sir/Madam, I would like to thank you for your comments. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found both the location and the quality of bedrooms as expected. I am very pleased that you enjoyed sleeping on our new Sweet Ibis Bed
Regards Julian Ward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Booked for 2 nights but came away after the first one. The reception area is in the bar/small restaurant area where breakfast is served. There is seating for about 6-8 people around a small TV in one corner of the room. The bedrooms are in a small block on the other side of the car park. Not a pleasant walk if it is raining. The bedroom is one of the smallest I've ever seen. Not much space to move around, even with the bed pushed up against the wall. There was a small TV with kettle and cups on a tray underneath. The en-suite was small and poorly appointed with the bare essentials only.
The hotel is very difficult to find. No use using the sat nav as it takes you to a dead end. There are no signs to the hotel, you have to follow signs to the Jaguar engineering works!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian_Ward, General Manager at Ibis Coventry South, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thanks for your review. regards the size of the rooms there is very little we can do as all the bedooms are the same size, but we do try to refect this on the website and also the type of hotel we are, We do have clear details regards directions to the hotel on the website and booking infomation, As the local council will not let us place signage on public roads.
Regards
Julian Ward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
1.2 mi away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
585 reviews
4.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#19 of 39 in Coventry
527 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chace Hotel Coventry
The Chace Hotel Coventry
#26 of 39 in Coventry
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Citrus Hotel Coventry by Compass Hospitality
2.0 mi away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#28 of 39 in Coventry
496 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premiere Classe Coventry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Coventry South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Coventry South

Address: Whitley Business Park | Abbey Road, Coventry CV3 4LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range: £33 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Coventry South 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Coventry South Whitley is located between the Jaguar factory and the Virgin leisure centre. Warwick University is only 5 km away and Stratford upon Avon (the city of Shakespeare) is a 30 min drive. 5 minutes drive from the centre of Coventry and the airport, the hotel offers 51 en suite rooms and a meeting room. It has a restaurant, a terrace, a bar serving snacks 24 hours 7 days and a free car park (50 spaces). Free Wireless Internet access available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Coventry South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Coventry South Whitley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing