We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay base for Coventry working weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Coventry South
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Okay base for Coventry working weekend”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We had a 2 night stay (couple) - a warm greeting at reception & a spacious room; it was generally clean, but a few areas had been missed and bulbs were not working. The staff dealt with our comments well.

We had a queen size bed - the mattress was really soft, with a dip in the middle...we weren't very comfortable, so didn't sleep well.

The evening bar staff were very friendly but, perhaps, some not very experienced.

Our evening meal service was efficient, but the food was average - so, we feel, not good value for money - and the wine was expensive. The main element of each meal was served on a bed of sprawling fries- all tasted okay, if overcooked (edible)... we were hungry and it was late, so we were happy to eat it.

We would have expected better from a Holiday Inn and, having stayed at excellent HIExpress's a few times in the past, we expected a similar, if not better, experience.

We wouldn't eat here again, but might stay again if struggling to find somewhere else; free WiFi access, at least in public areas, would have made our working weekend a little better, so we'd be looking for that in the future!

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor, overlooking fields to the side of the hotel - we weren't bothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trisprior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Coventry South, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and detail your experience.

Feed backs very important to us to help improve our guest experience and you can be assured I will act on your comments.

Thank you for staying with us

Kind Regards

Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    109
    76
    35
    25
See reviews for
63
57
17
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had a King Executive Room myself my husband an our child.Plenty Room,lovely clean room very happy stay.The food in the restaurant was excellent,the waiting staff were lovely.
Not a criticism just an observation but we felt the poor girls trying too wait on breakfast could have done with another member of staff. Brilliant worth staying!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deeshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Coventry South, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback is important to the hotel and the team.

I will ensure I review the staff at breakfast and pass on my thanks to the girls working.

Kind regards

Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

nice room, with good staff and a good place for a meeting stayed 2 nights, room nice clean.
found the staff very helpful and room service faster than some 5 star.

yes I would use this hotel again.
only down side they had ran out of beer and that is across the board no larger, no stout only bottles.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnwhitetshirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Coventry South, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased you had a good stay and will return.
I will look at the beer as this should not happen – thank you for bringing this to my attention.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Regards

Glen Staniforth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mansfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I would like to agree with the recent guests of this hotel. We booked an executive room with a host of free goodies at a bargain price. We had dinner, bed and breakfast and the waiting staff have been highly trained in customer service. It's a little tricky to get to, as you sail past down the dual carriageway, but persevere, at the roundabout just double back for a mile or so and you have found a real gem. Stratford upon Avon is also a great place to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank openjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Coventry South, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback it is great that you had a good stay and hope you choose to stay again. I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team as feedback is important and your time to post a review is appreciated greatly.
Kind regards

Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed in this hotel in July with a Coach Party fo 48. The facilities were first rate, the room as usual very clean and well maintained. Even though there was also a wedding at the Hotel in a different section there was overnight noise. Breakfast was very busy but the staff cleared tables and the Buffet was well stocked. Our evening meal was buffet style - and the fish option was replenished quickly once it was running out but there was a jam whilst people queued for the salad bar starter along with the guests waiting for the main course. The only negative comment I would make. The pool was nice a quiet at 6.30pm and the staff on duty helpful about where to go etc.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room away from the Lift lobby - rooms mainly on two floor so good for less able g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrtibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Coventry South, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for your review – your experience is important to our brand and I will ensure your comments are passed on.

Regards

Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We were booked for a weekend to see The Lion King at the Birmingham Hippodrome. The show is excellent and highly recommended. The Holiday Inn was nice and friendly upon arrival and the reception was well presented and our room was allocated to us with no hassle from a very friendly receptionist. The room was on the ground floor and it was nice and clean with two king-size beds. The bathroom was clean with an overhead shower and a decent size bath. Hand soap and shower cream was provided. The dining room was of a good size with a good choice of food but there had been a wedding that day which made the service a little slow. Breakfast was of a good selection with a choice of cereal, fresh fruit, cooked breakfast, fruit juices and tea and coffee. The hotel had nice friendly staff serving in the bar and restaurant. I will certainly look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Coventry South, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Feedback is very valuable to us and I am pleased we delivered the desired guest experience for you.

I will look into the speed of service during large events as all guest are our priority.

Thank you again

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
418 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We attended my brothers wedding on Saturday and had pre-booked and paid for a King Executive Room some time ago. The hotel is located in a 'Green Field' location on the busy A45 dual carriageway and has no pedestrian access. It is therefore ideal for a function or the business traveller.

The Hotel is pristine and immaculately clean. Because the wedding was due to start at 2.30pm and check in is 2.00pm, I rang ahead early on Saturday morning requesting if our room could be available early. When we arrived at 11am, Julia on reception who I had spoke to earlier on the phone announced that our King Executive Room was available. This was superb service, especially being a weekend and checkout is available to guests until 12 noon.Despite the early check in our room had been completely cleaned and was testimony to the housekeeping staff.

We were extremely pleased with this room; Kingsize Bed, large room, two armchairs, a computer desk and chair with everything, including mini fridge that you could ever need. The room also came with an executive pack which included; bathrobe, enhanced toiletries, flannels, complimentary wi-fi (worth £12.95), 2 complimentary drinks vouchers for use in the bar, 2 chocolate bars, 4 bottles of water (still and sparkling) and added extras of sewing kits, shoe shiners and nail file.

All this for £62.00 which was a complete bargain. The function rooms were excellent and I would only have two minor criticisms. The two bars were small and understaffed, obviously because of the ongoing wedding and the buffet breakfast did not have fried eggs only scrambled. I am pretty sure that if we had of asked for fried eggs then these would have been provided. However, why were only vegetarian Quorn sausages available on Sunday morning?

I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone provided they did not want to be in a lively leisure park/city centre location.

Room Tip: Excellent location and fit for purpose for Function or Business Travel. Due to isolated location wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Coventry South, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Feedback is very valuable to us and I am glad you had a good guest experience for your stay and the wedding.

I will look into the speed of bar service and staffing as you should not be kept waiting - I appreciate you bringing this to my attention.

We have a host of breakfast items to order and I will look at the team specifically bringing this to the attention of guests at breakfast following your feedback.

Thank you again

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2
0.8 mi away
The Chace Hotel Coventry
The Chace Hotel Coventry
#23 of 39 in Coventry
462 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry South (A45) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
3.6 mi away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#28 of 39 in Coventry
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Coventry South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Coventry South

Property: Holiday Inn Coventry South
Address: London Road, Coventry CV8 3DY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Coventry South 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Coventry - South Hotel is located minutes from the historical centre of Coventry and less than 1 mile from Coventry International Airport and 6 miles from Birmingham International Airport and easy to reach from the M1, M6, M69 or M42, M40. It's an ideal base for leisure guests with Leamington Spa, Rugby, Derby, Nottingham, Leicester, Warwick Castle and Shakespeare's Stratford upon Avon a short drive away. The National Exhibition Centre (NEC) is within 20 minutes and the National Agricultural Centre (NAC) just 5 minutes along with Stoneleigh Park. Coventry City Football Club s new stadium, the Ricoh Arena, is just an 8 minute drive. The Holiday Inn Coventry - South Hotel facilities are modern and friendly with spacious public areas and exceptionally large bedrooms each with High speed internet access. Dine in our restaurant, from a wide choice of International dishes, or choose to relax in the lounge bar, alternatively treat yourself to room service. Whatever the occasion, the Holiday Inn Coventry - South Hotel is an ideal venue for special events. We offer a variety of Wedding & Conference packages including, The Perfect Wedding Venue & Conference Center - Holiday Inn Coventry South ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Coventry South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Coventry South Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing