We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing wedding venue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coombe Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing wedding venue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Where do begin when describing our perfect wedding day at Coombe abbey?
We fell in love with the gardens, the terrace, the building and Kelly the amazing wedding coordinator.
Following a wedding open day and a guided tour. We booked our wedding that took place in may of this year. With all the stresses that a wedding brings it was such a comfort to have Kelly on hand to answer questions, arrange ANOTHER visit and generally put our minds at ease!
The actual day went like a dream. A beautiful champagne reception on the terrace with Tony the toast master leading the day and keeping everything on track. I can not speak highly enough of all the staff that looked after us. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel very special.
All of the guests have complimented every element of the day. Food was amazing, waiting on staff were attentive, Coombe were accommodating of the extra things we had arranged such as dance floor, photographer, band and saxophone man. Everything went perfectly and we will definitely visit again for our anniversary.
Thank you so much for helping to make our day an unforgettable one.

Damian & Tara

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taramasalata32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,598
    643
    283
    109
    83
See reviews for
394
1,345
22
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Wow - what a great hotel!! I booked this for my husbands birthday treat. We love to stop in hotels and I wanted to find somewhere that did dinner as well. The hotel is like no other hotel I have seen. The grounds are beautiful and you do feel as though you are walking about in a film set it is so romantic. We booked a crown room which is the most basic choice but the room did not disappoint and the bathroom was fab. The detail in the hotel was amazing.

Now for the restaurant, we had tea in the afternoon the day we arrived and then dinner at night. The food is very good restaurant food and the atmosphere is romantic. What I would say though is the service isn't quite there. The staff are all very busy doing things and they all smile etc but there doesn't seem to be anyone overseeing what is going on in the restaurant and whether anyone is being missed. We stood waiting to be serviced for around 5 minutes (tea) while a man passed us about 4 times without looking at us to ask what we wanted. At dinner we sat at our table and were given rolls and then realised that we didn't have any butter. We probably had staff pass us 12 times and nobody gave us eye contact so it was hard to grab anyone's attention. We then went on to tell 4 separate staff that we needed butter (1 of them we told twice) and eventually we got it after about 15 minutes. It didn't spoil our night as we don't let things like that get on top of us but if this was changed it would be 5/5 no doubt.

If you are thinking about booking here - DO!! I can't wait to go back......hopefully they will have sorted out the finer detail in the restaurant (and I want to sit in one of those gazebos in the restaurant!! We weren't offered this even though it was my husband's birthday)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Engalndholidaymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

After having my wonderful wedding at Coombe Abbey 12 years ago and subsequent stays at the hotel, I thought what better place to book for a cream tea as part of my mum's 65th birthday present. When phoning to book a table, the first available date was over a month away. I thought this was a sure sign that Coombe would have the perfect cream tea nailed.
However, shortly after arriving for our cream tea, it was clear that it was not going to be the lovely experience we were looking forward to. It took over 15 minutes for someone to come and take our order (after taking other tables orders before us who had arrived after us). It then took at least another 15 minutes for us to get our pot of tea and a further 10 minutes before we got our scones.
A member of staff did come and apologise for the delay with the food arriving and asked whether we would like another pot of tea. We said yes but this never arrived. We had to ask a different member of staff for one about 15 mins later.
The scones were ok but attention to detail was poor, e.g. No linen napkins, the staff didn't pour the tea and there was the tiniest amount of jam and cream to go with the four scones, we had to ask for some more. We were also plagued by wasps in the garden room.
All in all a very disappointing and overpriced trip and I certainly would not recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron T, General Manager at Coombe Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Good morning and many thanks for taking the time to write a review, following your recent visit here to Coombe Abbey, for afternoon tea.
I was extremely disappointed to hear that the quality of our service did not meet your expectations and for this, I would like to convey my personal apologies.
I sincerely hope that you will allow us the opportunity of restoring your confidence in Coombe Abbey, by returning for a second visit, at some point in the future.

Kind regards

Ron Terry
General Manager
Coombe Abbey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I recently stayed at Coombe Abbey and could not be more pleased with the service and the all round quality of the hotel. Upon arrival the staff were very welcoming and whilst we were shown to our room the gentleman kindly explained to us the history of the Abbey which we found very interesting.
The bedroom was beautiful and had a lot of character. We had dinner in the garden room restaurant. Although a little expensive the quality was outstanding, both the service and the food. All the staff could not do enough to help. A great hotel which i would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chantelle211993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My daughter stayed at Coombe Abbey last Fall and it was a wonderful experience! The history of the Abbey is astonishing, you really get the feeling of being in a medieval edifice...walk the halls at twilight-and you can do this alone-and you step back in time. The room was lovely, the beds were comfortable, the bathroom clean, the tub/shower was elegantly draped and the fixtures shone with a golden glow. The staff was very helpful. If you are a history buff, be sure you book in the "original" structure, not the newer building which is more modern but you lose some of the magic, in my opinion.
The grounds are storybook...but watch out for the swans...they don't play"well with others." The restaurant is very expensive, so be prepared for that....also be prepared for a wedding party or two...proof that this a beautiful and romantic setting and an experience We will never forget.

Room Tip: My preference is in the older structure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoCate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel may be going through a tough patch in terms of revenue and hence discount rates down to £99 per night B&B have recently been offered. Frankly even at £150 this is great value for money. The hotel offers all the modern leisure and accommodation conveniences and luxuries without being over the top. The main building and its rooms are beautiful. A not to be missed hotel at the lower rates offered.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rory G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Last year we got Married at coombe Abbey, so it only seemed right to spend our 1st Anniversary there, wow wow wow, we had the best time ever, complementry bottle of Champagne in our bedchamber, 3 course evening meal in the restaurant with a bottle of wine, beautiful grounds to walk around and a stunning breakfast.
all the staff regardless of job role are second to none, will defo go back for every Anniversary.

special thanks to Katie Dawson and Joanne from the wedding team, you have been fantastic to us both, special love to you both xx

Leigh & Kerry Knight xxx

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Macdonald Ansty Hall
#5 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
19.3 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
7.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
5.9 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#7 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Abbey Hotel

Property: Coombe Abbey Hotel
Address: Brinklow Road | Binley, Coventry CV3 2AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#3 Business Hotel in Coventry
#4 Family Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coombe Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coombe Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombe Abbey Coventry
Hotel Coombe Abbey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing