We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family celebration in private dining room”
Review of Coombe Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Family celebration in private dining room”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

For my mother's 85 birthday we booked a private dining function. The hotel selected an appropriately sized room, light and airy, laid on pre-dinner drinks and canapés and throughout the evening we were served by an attentive, personal hostess who struck just the right balance between being available and unobtrusive. Food was well prepared and all the preparation beforehand and ensured that the evening went off smoothly. Afternoon tea looked lovely but we missed out because it has to be booked beforehand as much in demand.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardburyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,622
    655
    285
    113
    84
See reviews for
398
1,370
22
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We attended a wedding at the Coombe Abbey and stayed the night. Because the hotel chose itself, so to speak, driving up and walking into the reception areas was a draw dropping experience! My first reaction was that it must be some sort of Hollywood film set, or a folly but Coombe Abbey is for real. Built, I understand, as a monastery in the 12th century and then becoming a royal residence.

I am not sure how to describe this place but from my experience, don't expect a peaceful retreat although the buildings and grounds are beautiful. We arrived about 5 on a Saturday afternoon and the huge car park was full and the lobbies teeming. Afternoon tea here is a "big deal" as are Mediaeval Banquets, Murder mysteries and weddings. On our evening there were at least two large wedding parties and a murder mystery going on.

Our room, in the old part of the hotel was well equipped with heavy drapes and a four poster. But it was by no means a great hotel room - our main complaint was that it was so dark in there but simple things like a bottle of water were lacking. Breakfast was fine, in a beautiful conservatory although we had to wait for a table.

In summary? Well if you have the chance to attend an event there, jump at it. It's a top quality venue in a remarkable building .

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed in one of the feature,four poster rooms. First thing you notice,is how dark the room is and there is no way to improve the lighting. Having said that,the room was very comfortable and cosy--very romantic ! As with other reviews,fellow guests just don't seem able to appreciate that others are staying in the hotel too !! noise ! We,despite that,were enjoying a lovely lie in until the housemaid,of all people,tapped on our door at 9am to service the room !! WHAT ?. I am trying desperately to balance this review so it doesn't seem full of gripes but all the lovely things about staying here,somehow get let down by the not so lovely things that happened too ! E.G. We had a wonderful meal,enjoyed the fabulous ambience of the hotel and then had to endure a horrendous half hour wait to be seated for breakfast. Then a 15 min wait to check out---what on earth is that all about ? The staff are excellent and very friendly ,as well as being very professional. Prices in this hotel,reflect the trappings and decor but there is something off putting trying to enjoy your £4.80 pint of stella ! even if the surroundings are splendid. Grumbling as this review may seem,i have to say,the experience was very enjoyable and we'd love to do it again.

Room Tip: i wouldn't waste your breath asking for a quiet room. You are at the mercy of fellow guests !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steviemacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights as a birthday celebration staying in Room 209 on the second floor in the main hotel. It was a grand room with four-poster bed, flat screen TV, tea & coffee making facilities, ironing board, hair dryer and free wifi. It had plenty of space with two arm chairs, a desk and a walk in clothes closet. The bathroom was a good size with a hot, powerful shower.

The decor of the whole hotel, including the rooms, was very quirky Victorian Gothic style with reds, blues and browns predominating. Certain areas of the hotel could be very dark, especially the corridors, which is not helpful for customers with failing eyesight! Obviously a very grand setting for weddings and the Medieval Banquets that the hotel specialises in. Having read other reviews describing noisy wedding discos, we were apprehensive when we realised there were two weddings and a Medieval Banquet taking place on the second day. We needn't have worried, we didn't hear a sound all night.

The food in the restaurant is excellent, we had two evening meals and breakfasts there and just couldn't fault the service or the quality of food. However, we do recommend booking your evening meals well in advance, the restaurant is very busy and you will need to get booked if you like dining early.

The hotel is located in Coombe Abbey Country Park, although this is separate to the hotel, nevertheless it does make for a grand location. We spent a lovely afternoon walking around the park spotting all the wildlife and the spring flowers. A delightful way to spent your time at the hotel.

The downside of the hotel was the limited public space. The restaurant bar area was very small and lacked the range you would expect of such a grand hotel, no cocktails for example. The only other bar was being used for a wedding function. Also, the hotel would benefit from some sort of spa or swimming pool. It seems to have plenty of additional space that could be turned over to such a facility.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PhilipSJDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Just been for a lovely afternoon tea, lovely place to go and great staff. Cakes were great we are going back for one of either murder mystery or banquet
Only minus was that there not enough sandwiches. 3 fingers are not enough

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicki087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My daughter treated me to afternoon tea for my birthday. On arrival you can't help but be impressed by the abbey and grounds. We had tea in the conservatory which was exactly what I expected with nice decor and smartly dressed waiting staff. Unfortunately the actual tea sadly lets this place down. I'm vegetarian and was given three lettuce and tomato finger sandwiches on white bread. The sandwiches were tasteless and lettuce wilted. The pimms jelly wasn't vegetarian which is something that could be easily rectified. The scones were dry and more like biscuits and left a strange after taste. The other cakes and fancies were pretty forgetable also. The cost was £18.95 per head which is overpriced for the quality of the tea.

I would visit Coombe Abbey again but wouldn't recommend the afternoon tea.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank warks123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Mids
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Excellent traditional afternoon tea at Coombe Abbey was made even more special by watching a pair of Kingfishers flying to and fro along the moat for 20 minutes as we crossed the bridge to leave the hotel - within a few feet of some of the bedroom windows - (spotted by a 10 year old in our party). You may not be lucky to see them but even without that the tea is great value and the service impeccable. Recommended for a special occasion - thoroughly enjoyed by teenagers and the 10 year old as it was a new experience for them and they loved the Abbey.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeasonedTraveller055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Macdonald Ansty Hall
#5 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
19.3 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
7.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
5.9 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#7 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Abbey Hotel

Property: Coombe Abbey Hotel
Address: Brinklow Road | Binley, Coventry CV3 2AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#3 Business Hotel in Coventry
#4 Family Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coombe Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coombe Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombe Abbey Coventry
Hotel Coombe Abbey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing