We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, disappointing room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coombe Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great food, disappointing room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for out 1st wedding anniversary. We booked dinner bed and breakfast for £219. We arrived and were very impressed with the appearance of the abbey and the grounds. There were 2 weddings on so check in took quite some time. We lunched in the garden bar which was lovely. The Cloisters bar had a wedding in it. When we went to the room I was rather disappointed. I was expecting to stay in the grand old house, but instead found our room to be in a very new annex. The room was nice but the lighting was terrible! I had previously emailed the hotel to request a room upgrade but had no response. We headed to the garden for a glass of wine before dinner, but it was a little rowdy from the wedding in the courtroom. Dinner was excellent from the table d'hote menu and the service was very good too. Breakfast was excellent, and the garden restaurant is a very pleasant setting for dining. The abbey it's self is very charming, if a little dusty, but it just added to the character!

Anyone planning a stay here should book early to secure the better rooms in the main building and possibly avoid Saturdays or days when weddings are being held.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,566
    629
    273
    106
    82
See reviews for
383
1,312
22
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (611)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

What a place. You have to see it to believe it. Stayed for our 1st wedding anniversary for one night wish we could have stayed longer. Breakfast and dinner was amazing. Beautiful grounds to walk around. We will definate return.

Room Tip: High floor beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kazza01Radcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hotel and grounds are amazing, the room was clean and the decor was in keeping with the style of the abbey, we did the medieval banquet and i would definatly reccommend it. At breakfast i thought there was a good choice although i didn't think the food was of great standard, but i am planning on making a return visit.

Room Tip: we had the dudley suite which was very nice but was located in the newer part of he hotel and not at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Brilliant night at Coombe Abbey! Visited here for my Boyfriends Birthday.

The team knew the occasion and even bought out a special dessert plate with a message wishing him a Happy Birthday! Brilliant Staff, Beautiful Grounds, Gorgeous rooms (I recommended the suite with the hidden bathroom!!!) Fab food and lovely staff!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-in-Arden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We received a voucher as a Christmas present for afternoon tea and decided to go to Coombe Abbey.We really chose well as it is set in really beautiful gardens and grounds and what we saw of the hotel was impressive.
We had tea in the Orangery and were very pleased with the food and ambiance.The service was good if a little slow with all the staff being very helpful.We can thoroughly recommend afternoon tea here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethL94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and I got married last month (April 2014) and we had our wedding reception and evening reception at Coombe Abbey.

We had an excellent day. The team at Coombe Abbey are evidently well versed in hosting weddings because everything was seamless. Our function manager was just great. Our wedding co-ordinator was excellent and it was an absolute pleasure working with her in the run up to our wedding.

The food at our sit down meal was tremendous. We had a chicken dish as the main course and usually I'm very sceptical about chicken cooked on a mass scale because, more often than not, it turns out to be very dry. Not this time!

In summary, I would definitely recommend Coombe Abbey as your wedding reception venue. You will most certainly not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We got married at Coombe Abbey last month and we couldn't have wished for a better wedding. The amazing setting goes without saying and the staff were fantastic right from the start of the planning up until and on the big day. Nothing was too much to trouble and they were so accommodating even with some of our maybe slightly unusual requests (my husband is Mexican and although I am English we live in Spain). I was never ceased to be amazed by the flawless organization and planning. It really was the wedding of our dreams and we would like to thank the staff again for making it all possible, especially to Joanne, our wedding coordinator.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank emmalps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
19.3 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Macdonald Ansty Hall
#5 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
7.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
24.4 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
#1 of 1 in Aldridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Abbey Hotel

Property: Coombe Abbey Hotel
Address: Brinklow Road | Binley, Coventry CV3 2AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#3 Business Hotel in Coventry
#4 Family Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coombe Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Coombe Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombe Abbey Coventry
Hotel Coombe Abbey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing