We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ”
Review of Coombe Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lovely ”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here lots of times and it's been really good every time, lovely atmosphere, rooms are amazing and breakfast is always good. Staff are always helpful and friendly to and it's lovely to walk around the grounds after breakfast, haven't had a evening meal here so can't comment but def worth going for a relaxing special break

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jodiet1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,687
    676
    302
    117
    87
See reviews for
420
1,422
22
363
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (653)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, England
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

just returned form a break at coombe abbey hotel, all I can say is wow! we stayed in the "the craven suite" and it was so out of the ordinary, the bed was as big as a double decker bus and the view out of the windows over the grounds was breath taking. I would like to "nit pick" and I suppose if I had to I could, but the pluses far outweighed the little niggles so if you want to treat yourself to a over night stop which is out of the ordinary go ahead and book.

Room Tip: book a grand feature room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkdodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed here with a big group for a corporate event. We had 2 days of meetings with ample choice for breakout rooms and a main room to all congregate. Plenty of hot tea and coffee/ biscuits - all good.

We stayed over for one night and took part in the Medieval Banquet which was a great bit of fun. Jokes, singing, eating, mead swilling and a bit of a disco. Not quite what i'd normally be doing on a Monday evening - but real good fun. The food for our lunches and the banquest was really good - and they made sure a GF option was available to a member of our party.

My room was warm and comfortable in the main Abbey building, with a big bathroom. The grounds are extensive and very nice to walk around before I went into day 2 of our work session. Overall it has to be the best place I have ever been to a corporate function at. Being honest would I stay here outside of work? Yes - there isn't anything not to like.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlutenFree13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I booked this as a surprise for my boyfriend's 50th birthday as an overnight stay with dinner and breakfast. What an amazing experience. The drive up to the hotel is beautiful but in no way prepares you for what lies ahead. Coming into the dark, gothic reception from the sunshine outside was a real "WOW" factor. The decor is divine, moody, medieval, ghostly.
Reception was incredibly helfpul, and wished my boyfriend happy birthday without a mention from me. We were given a wonderful room with a fantastic view of the driveway. After going on a tour of the hotel, we went out to the gardens and were blown away. They were just stunning. Dinner in the Garden Room was fantastic and the service was faultless. The best part was having Tony (asst manager) give us our own private tour of the AbbeyGate rooms in the pitch black and telling us all about the history of the Abbey. Great guy. Very interesting tour - and felt very chuffed to have been given that opportunity.
Our room was great - freestanding bath in the room itself. Very theatrical and seeped in history.
Breakfast was delicious and Tony came to see us again with a birthday cake for my boyfriend.
This is somewhere I would recommend that everyone visits if they can. It's great value, amazing service and the staff are friendly and can't do enough. The place is really AMAZING and beautiful. Had the most wonderful time and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I was advised next time to stay in the Park House *new section" as the rooms are bigger and jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Booked afternoon tea for 4 persons for my Father's 80th Birthday via Buy a Gift vouchers. I booked the table for 2pm however we arrived at the Hotel at 12.30pm so that we could have a wander around the Abbey prior to having the tea.
The hotel is an amazing place which has been very sympathetically renovated to the period. It was a hot summer's day which made the grounds very appealing for an afternoon stroll through the Country Park.
When you first enter the Hotel it does seem very dark, however once your eye sight adjusts to the light you realise that this is done with deliberate intent in order to maintain the authenticity of the Abbey.
After our wander around the Abbey, we arrived in the Conservatory to be greeted by extremely welcoming and friendly staff who immediately showed us to our table.
We were given the menu's which were explained to us in full detail. For an extra £5 we could upgrade our afternoon tea to a Gentleman's Afternoon Tea which was more savoury to include Pork Pie, Venison Sausage Rolls and Scotch Eggs with a variety of pickles.
When the tea arrived we were not disappointed, it looked and tasted amazing. Included in the Gentleman's Tea was a half pint of Coombe Abbey Real Ale.
Throughout the meal the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. I would definitely recommend this venue for a special afternoon treat.
The only thing which I feel could be improved would be to offer real china tea cups and saucers, which would be a real improvement to the experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ypadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Coombe Abbey as I was attending a course at the hotel and only wish I could have stayed longer! The hotel was beautiful and set in lovely surroundings. I didn't get much of an opportunity to explore the hotel as I was only there for the one night but would love to go back for a weekend! My room was inkeeping with the style of the hotel and was comfortable with a large bathroom. The staff were helpful & friendly and the food was great. I hope to return for a weekend in the near future

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhiWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I booked the Lady Craven suite for my stay at Coombe and I was not disappointed. The hotel uses the marketing phrase " No ordinary Hotel" and it most certainly is not an ordinary hotel.

The arrival, down the long straight driveway, gives an impressive first view of the hotel that is matched by the impression given upon entering the dimly lit medieval interior. As others have said this is obviously deliberate, in order to add to or give the feel and impression of great age to the building, indeed parts do date back to the 12th century. I did not see that as a negative, as some have, rather an indicator of the care taken about the small details in this establishment and the impression those small details give.

Upon entering the Lady Craven suite it is very impressive in its grand scale, decoration and the view from the windows across the well manicured gardens to the lake beyond. The only disappointment I felt was that there was no mini bar or fridge and the bottles of mineral water, on the table next to the window, were so warm they were not really fit to drink without the addition of some ice. It is just a small point perhaps, but maybe the bottles could be left in a less sunny spot or a small fridge could be added somewhere in this vast room, especially useful on very warm sunny days, such as this was.

The split level bathroom is sumptuous in its appointments with a huge deep bath, with a shower above it. Copious supplies of towels, toiletries etc are provided along with bathrobes.

I did not eat in the restaurant on this occasion, but I had previously visited for afternoon tea and dinner and found that to be most enjoyable on each occasion.

All of the staff that I came into contact with were extremely helpful and attentive, without being overly so. The drinks that I ordered, via room service, arrived very promptly indeed, probably some of the quickest room service that I have ever had anywhere!

The maze of corridors has lots of creaky old floorboards, as did my room, and the floors are uneven in many places, but what else would you expect in a building that in parts dates back to the 12 century. If your looking for a 21st century uniform concrete cell block type hotel then Coombe Abbey is not for you. If you are looking for somewhere special that is full of character with good service, good food and great staff then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Lady craven suite is grand and sumptuous with a great view over the gardens and lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TommyDPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Macdonald Ansty Hall
#5 of 39 in Coventry
1,252 reviews
19.3 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,197 reviews
24.4 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
15.7 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Abbey Hotel

Property: Coombe Abbey Hotel
Address: Brinklow Road | Binley, Coventry CV3 2AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#3 Business Hotel in Coventry
#4 Family Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coombe Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coombe Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombe Abbey Coventry
Hotel Coombe Abbey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing