We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coombe Abbey Wedding” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coombe Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Coombe Abbey Wedding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Visited to attend wedding on 3rd August, Arrived at hotel Saturday afternoon around 3:15pm as check in time 3pm however around 40 other guests had the same idea and only 2 on reception so we adjourned to the bar whilst the queue dispersed - arriving later on is probably a good idea. Hotel itself fabulous building, originally a monastery built in 1150 AD with beautiful formal gardens by Capability Brown and set in lovely country park. Medieval furnishings in keeping and a really lovely orangerie serving as restaurant and bar. Food very good, but make sure you book in advance if you want to eat in the restaurant. Room service excellent, breakfast great. Bar & restaurant staff friendly & helpful. Hotel dark inside with a castle type atmosphere which is nice but room was also very dark with very small windows which was not so good . As a wedding venue it is magnificient and gardens provide perfect backdrop for photos. Fantastic location, with impressive building/décor & good food all made for a wonderful occasion ideal wedding choice. Stayed two nights and enjoyed it wouldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: Nice to have a room in the original building although dark, recommend feature bedchamber
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,567
    632
    273
    107
    82
See reviews for
384
1,314
22
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (611)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Visited just for one night but wish we could have stayed a few more nights. A spectacular place situated in beautiful parkland. The moment you arrive at the reception you know you are somewhere special and unique.
We stayed on a Sunday night and had a discounted B&B rate. The double room with bathroom on a separate 1st floor level (via a spiral staircase) was really cosy and comfortable. Bed was fab.
We had a great 3 course meal in the lovely garden room restaurant. Breakfast was also good.
The staff were wonderful throughout the stay and we are already planning our next trip there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GezThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Anniversary night away booked and relatives looking after the two year old, my wife and I were looking forward to a quiet evening and good meal.

Quick version.

Took two weeks and four attempts to get a wine list. Took three attempts but eventually booked champagne for the room to arrive at 6pm, (this did not arrive).

Check in at 3pm, got there at 3:15, queued (!) for twenty minutes to be told room not ready, have a drink in the bar, not told room was ready, when I did find out 40 mins later, I had to queue again for keys (!). So got room at around 5.

Food overpriced, I.e. London hotel prices, food ok but not matching the prices, that was not a £27 steak!

Giving a balanced opinion, breakfast was good and the staff were good in the restaurant in the evening.

My first ever letter of complaint is in the post, I think this hotel is geared towards weddings and the banquets they hold?

Room Tip: Ensure you are away from wedding and banquet venues/rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Eventually found the Hotel, the Sat Nav took us some where near but the exact location was a mystery. When found however the grounds and location were impressive, less impressive was the car park and arrangements for greeting guests. Thankfully it was hot and sunny so the uncertainty of how to find reception and the car parking arrangements was not too much of an issue. On a second visit non of this would be such an issue, but I do not think that will happen. The hotel and bedrooms certainly had the wow factor. The bedrooms were unfortunately also hot lacking air conditioning. The hotel was however also let down by the restaurant. The quality of the food at dinner was nothing special, a disappointment after the hotel accommodation and decor.
Breakfast was a bit of a shambles, constantly running out of both glasses and fruit juice, fresh fruit and with a cooked breakfast which was OK, understaffed with staff who would benefit from more training. I appreciate the hotel was very busy - but.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Customer Service was absolutely horrendous during a recent afternoon tea experience at Coombe Abbey! The Hotel was chaotic & clearly there weren't enough Staff waiting on tables in the Orangery & at the Bar & it was literally a case of the blind leading the blind! We didn't receive a welcome, we were made to feel like an inconvenience, not at all valued or special & the Staff were entirely disinterested in providing any type of customer service, let alone first class customer service! We even identified a wonky lamp which nobody had taken the time to straighten or fix, our table was without flowers, whilst the majority did have vases displaying flowers, the menu cards were scruffy, torn & dirty & the actual afternoon tea was somewhat non descript! The bread not particularly fresh, the panacotta typed desert curdled, which suggested it had not been stored at the right temperature & all in all it was dreadful state of affairs! There was a lovely Chap by the name of Nathan who shone like a star, being polite & helpful & attentive but by comparison the Waitresses were beyond dire! Rude, with a we can't be bothered attitude, we are clock watching, we don't want to be here approach! It was shocking to see & even worse to encounter! We really were not at all happy & despite complaint we encountered a shrug of the shoulders response, which is wholly unacceptable & outrageously unacceptable! Who on earth is running this show? The Coombe Abbey afternoon tea experience has become nothing more than a conveyor belt, with a canteen vibe & frankly not much better than a motorway service station, which given the prices is appalling! I wouldn't waste your time or your money!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hothetty89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

There is no doubt that CA is a spectacular place. Unique in many ways. We were upgraded FOC on arrival & given a beautiful room but after a 4 hour drive we sought refreshment & were encouraged to try their afternoon tea only to be advised that it was too late (4.00pm!!) and in any case they had sold out due to 3 weddings being held there that day!! On entering the bar area for pre-dinner drinks, we noticed there were no bar staff behind it which entailed a several minute wait (again the wedding excuse). Dinner was certainly good from the quality of the food aspect but we were all but ignored by the staff to the point of practically having to stand up & wave to get attention/service, despite periodically several of the staff gathered at the desk chatting. I am certain that CA can & indeed should do much better in looking after their guests, might I suggest a simple remedy of more temporary staff when multiple weddings are taking place? That way actual hotel guests might get better service.

Room Tip: Room 118 is very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itfcglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoney Stanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Visited recently with a group of mummy friends to celebrate birthdays. Rang ahead to book and arranged high chairs with staff, on arrival we had been allocated a lovely room just at the side of the main conservatory which was very relaxing. The staff were so helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The afternoon T is yummy and good value, also when you use the hotel Coombe Abbey parking is free, this usually costs £3.70. Would definitely recommend to all :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank StoneleighBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
19.3 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Macdonald Ansty Hall
#5 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
7.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
#1 of 1 in Aldridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
4.8 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Abbey Hotel

Property: Coombe Abbey Hotel
Address: Brinklow Road | Binley, Coventry CV3 2AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#3 Business Hotel in Coventry
#4 Family Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coombe Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Coombe Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombe Abbey Coventry
Hotel Coombe Abbey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing