We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue for a works Christmas party...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I stayed here for my works Christmas party... Great hotel room (room 16). I enjoyed the added touch of having the sound from the tv playing in the bathroom, so no knocking at the door for loud music... Easy to find off the motorway in large grounds, with plenty of parking. Friendly and helpful staff. Lovely breakfast too.

Room Tip: 2nd floor inside the main hotel is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,083 - 1,089 of 1,281 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2011

The service was first class, particularly those on reception. Our room was large, well appointed and spotless. In the restaurant, the food was delicious, service excellent, though not overpowering.
The location ideal due to proximity to motorways and the ideal wedding venue. The gardens and wildlife enchanting

Room Tip: many beautiful views from rooms in the main block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I must start by saying that afternoon tea at this hotel was purchased with a Groupon voucher and was therefore cheaper than the full price. If I had paid the full price I would have been quite disappointed. The sandwiches (ham, cucumber and smoked salmon) were entirely plain with no dressing etc and had some crust attached. We had one scone each, quite nice, but served with lemon curd as well as raspberry jam which was a bit odd. The cakes were ok, but two were heavy fruit cake. We had to ask the waitress for darjeeling tea as she seemed unaware of anything other than English breakfast. All in all pleasant enough, but there are much better places in the area if you want afternoon tea.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

My wife and I stayed at Ansty Hall for a short break after my wife's major surgery.
We had a problem on arrival - no obvious disabled parking or access to main building. This was soon put right by the staff. They suggested we ring from the room and thereon in we were greeted personally for dinner, etc. Superb attention to detail. They sensitively stowed my wife's wheelchair while we ate.
Breakfast is to die for. Such a nice touch to be asked if we wanted more! Dinner was superb. We have eaten all over the world but the choice and quality was the best we had ever experienced. The staff were polite but friendly and a head waiter who was the best we have experienced. If you stay at one hotel this year, make it the Ansty Hall.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EddieYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We booked this hotel for one night before a funeral - we needed to be near Coventry and picked this one because of the Trip Advisor reviews. We booked a room in the main house (12) which was fine except the radiator in the bathroom was cold. The staff were excellent and offered us a different room. The room we were given (2) was absolutely stunning. We loved it. The dinner was truly first class - one of the very best we have had anywhere - and we are fussy! Breakfast the next morning was just as good - unrivalled in our extensive experience. We run our own B&B and take pride in our own breakfast being one of the best but this was as good as ours - 5star. We have been trying to buy the holders for small jam jars for our business without success - they had them. I asked the receptionist (Mohamad) if he could let me know where we might be able to buy some. He promised to find out and let us know - he subsequently called us with the full contact details. This was typical of all the staff - nothing was too much trouble. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Our two night stay got off to a good start when we arrived earlier than the official booking in time. Our room was not ready so, with no prompting from us, we were immediately upgraded to a room which was ready.

The room was very spacious and the bed very comfy. There was a good selection of tea and coffee and a nice touch was the teapot to make the tea in. Much better than dunking a teabag in the cup!

The bathroom was spotless and well equipped.

We did not have a main meal at the hotel so cannot comment on the standard of the food but we did have breakfast which was excellent. Even on a Monday morning with very few other guests in the hotel there was a very extensive buffet available as well as a cooked breakfast which was prepared to order.

All the reception, breakfast and housekeeping staff we met were extremely helpful and genuinely friendly and chatty.

I would not hesitate to return again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank les m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Four ladies visited 28th November for their afternoon tea. Lovely quiet lounge, with tremendous waitresses who looked after us really well. The whole tea was delightful and we would like to return again, in the summer.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
2.5 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
3,064 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
6.6 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#9 of 39 in Coventry
2,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel at the Ricoh Arena - Coventry
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Ansty Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Ansty Hall

Address: Main Road, Coventry CV7 9HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coventry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#6 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range: £70 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Ansty Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Ansty Hall is a grade II listed Georgian mansion dating back to 1678 and set in 8 acres of grounds in the rolling Warwickshire countryside. 62 bedrooms, restaurant, meetings and conferences for up to 140 delegates, corporate activities, weddings, family events, banquets, festive events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Macdonald Ansty Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Ansty Hall Coventry
Macdonald Ansty Hall Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing