We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Give me an excuse to return!!! Any excuse will do!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Ansty Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Give me an excuse to return!!! Any excuse will do!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Fantastic.....from start to finish, top to bottom!!! In all aspects. What can I say??? Went to a wedding in May and stayed the night and the night before! Wish we'd have booked a whole week now!!
Breakfast - PERFECT
Evening meal - PERFECT
Wedding food - EXCELLENT!!!!!!!
Service - OUTSTANDING!!
What a wonderful place!! Very relaxing, staff were lovely and just couldn't do enough - so helpful too!! Spotlessly clean. Fabulous premier room. Evening room for the wedding party superb and detached from the hotel so doesn't disturb other guests no matter how loud.
If you are ever in the area - STAY HERE!!!
Thank you for a wonderful trip and wedding!!

Room Tip: As it's a listed building there are no lifts, but for the difference in price the best rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaP17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    375
    157
    59
    28
See reviews for
218
466
20
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Just had a very pleasant weekend break, (Friday and Saturday night) at Ansty Hall. Stayed in the main house. Room was spacious, comfortable, clean and had a nice view of the rear garden and patio areas.
Chilled bottle of wine was waiting in the room and was most welcome on arrival.
Ate in the restaurant both nights and again breakfasts both mornings. The food was good, especially the breakfasts.
Staff were very helpful and friendly.
A wedding was being hosted by the hall both nights, making it lively and somewhat noisy at times. This did creat an nice atmosphere though. Without these functions some might have found it too quiet.
Location was convenient (off the M6 / M69 junction) and was easy to find. However we needed to get in the car to go anywhere and do anything as the hotel did not have leisure facilities.
Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed on a Saturday night on a special deal which included dbb, with a bottle of champagne and chocolates on arrival. We found the hotel to be clean and our room (in the seperate wing) was large. The bed was very comfortable. Even though there was a wedding reception/evening in The Orangery we didnt hear much noice from it. Infact, the room was surprisingly quiet. The staff without exception were friendly, helpful and polite. The breakfast was lovely, the choice on the buffet was excellent and the freshly cooked part was very good (with quality of produce over quantity). I too, was a little disappointed with the evening meal. It was well presented and the fresh bread was lovely. I enjoyed my starter, however, my main was a little salty and the dessert was not the "cheesecake" I expected. My husband seemed happy with his choice though. We had a bottle of wine with dinner which was slighly on the expensive side. We stayed here after my husband had his "driving experience" at Mallory Park and visited Warwick Castle the next day. Both within easy driving distance of the hotel. Overall we had an enjoyable stay and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsOLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Booked this hotel as a birthday treat on DBB in an executive room for 2 at £138. The hotel is a lovely peaceful place to stay with character in keeping with the building. The staff are superb with a warm friendly and professional manner. The room was superb and well fitted out. However there are a few negatives including finding hair in 3 separate places in the bathroom, Pre dinner drink prices are daylight robbery just under £20 for 2 mojito cocktails !! Evening meal was a little bit of a let-down very limited and after speaking to 2 other guests the menu is exactly the same every night. The starter of smoked haddock fritter with chilli and pea and mint puree looked appetising but was very bland and not a good start to the meal, both main courses of organic salmon and corn fed chicken was a much better offering but the baked cheesecake again failed to tickle the taste buds which is disappointing for a 1 rosette establishment. Breakfast however was exceptional. as a trainer/assessor in the hospitality trade I try to give a balanced opinion and overall I thought this hotel was relatively good value for money but with a few tweaks here and there and a review of bar tariffs I would have rated it 5 and superb value for money. But must say once again the staff are a credit to the hotel trade they get 5 stars.

Room Tip: Book the executive room as worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hughy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Picked a relaxing Monday evening, to enjoy wine in the bar followed by a delicious meal in the restaurant. The service in both areas was very attentive and not rushed, sometimes when its quiet in a hotel you feel rushed by staff as they want to get home but not in this hotel.

The bedroom was comfortable, well maintained and clean. My only comment would be that it was too hot, i don't believe this was the room but the heat generated was from the mattrass toppers that they had, I imagine in the winter this is a lovely, cosy room to have.

Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

We held our wedding reception at Ansty Hall. After looking around many wedding venues we knew Ansty Hall was the one for us as soon as we walked in. Their hospitaility was second to none and we felt like they would take great care of us. Nothing was ever too much for them. They were extremly accommodating and when we went for our food tasting evening we had a very friendly french waiter who was helpful when it came to making our food choices. The day was exactly as we'd hoped for, if not better! There were lots of compliments about the food and how lovely the bedrooms were. Thank you for making our wedding day so special!

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Clair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Stayed over for a conference. Great hotel, breakfast was first class, rooms clean and beds where very comfortable. Food was reasonable but it was Buffett style due to conference. Breakfast was first class and room rates compared to some other hotels on par where very reasonable. My only gripe is the receptionist insisted on taking a credit card and would not accept a debit card which I have never come across before??? Could not fault the professionalism or friendliness of all staff at the hotel. Would highly recommend and will definitely stay again if over in Cambridge.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nimdibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
2.5 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,661 reviews
7.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel at Ricoh Arena - Coventry
6.5 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Ansty Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Ansty Hall

Property: Macdonald Ansty Hall
Address: Main Road, Coventry CV7 9HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coventry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#5 Family Hotel in Coventry
#6 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Ansty Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Ansty Hall is a grade II listed Georgian mansion dating back to 1678 and set in 8 acres of grounds in the rolling Warwickshire countryside. 62 bedrooms, restaurant, meetings and conferences for up to 140 delegates, corporate activities, weddings, family events, banquets, festive events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Macdonald Ansty Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Ansty Hall Coventry
Macdonald Ansty Hall Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing