We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
GreenLeadersSilver level
Durham
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Our favourite hotel”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We have stayed a few times at the Ansty, and we love it. It has a certain charm about it and we feel very much at home. The car park has been re surfaced since our last visit and is much better. Check in was straight forward, and our room was on the first floor. I have seen a few reviews mention about the bedrooms in the Annex, but from my experience they are very comfortable, however I have to say that we prefer the main house.

After a quick wash and brush up, we made our way down for Dinner. Had a nice drink in the lounge, and perused the menu. The food was absolutely spot on, and the Restaurant Manager, who is always very helpful and friendly, had a cracking suggestion for a wine to go with my main course. In fact, all the staff are absolutely spot on, and make you feel very welcome.

Cost of drinks is quite high in all Macdonald hotels, but that would be the only niggle with the Ansty, and for that matter, the other Macdonald hotels we have stayed at.

We had an early start, and our early morning call was at the appointed time. Breakfast was really good, with a very varied selection to get you on your way. The staff again were very friendly and welcoming, and made sure we had everything that we wanted.

The only thing lacking that could make the Ansty even better would be a Spa, but if they ever do put one in, I hope it doesn't spoil the rest of the hotel. Just out of interest, a couple of years ago, we attended an awards ceremony in the Orangery and that was really good as well.

We really like the Ansty, it has a lovely feel to it. The staff are spot on, and we have yet to be disappointed with the food. We will definitely be back, even though it is quite a journey from home.

Room Tip: Try to book a room in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mart924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio C, General Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you for your review. I was delighted to read of your great stay. Macdonald hotels is committed to continusly improve our facilities, and are currently looking at installing leisure facilities here at Ansty Hall. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    613
    392
    163
    60
    31
See reviews for
229
484
20
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Looking for location halfway between home (Oxfordshire) and my contract work location (Nottingham) to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary, the Macdonald Ansty Hotel, just north east of Coventry and close to the M69, looked ideal and to be fair it didn't disappoint.
Having booked a half board deal for two nights in a Classic Suite it felt expensive at the time, however, it was well worth the money.
My wife was very impressed by the suite. Oversize King-size bed, armchairs, table/chairs, desk, large bathroom with shower and roll-top bath. Very comfortable.
Reception was friendly and efficient, the bar (a little expensive) was a little slow on the first night, but then again, the barman was being messed about by wise-cracking conference participants. The food in the Shilton Restaurant was excellent. The HB-inclusive evening Main Courses were well cooked, well presented and understated (a good deed of skill was shown); the breakfasts very good (plated hot) - check out the Scottish sourced black pudding.
Our Anniversary meal on the Saturday evening was a delight. The staff, on instructions sent at time of booking, had delivered champagne to the table prior to sitting down. In addition, the table was subtly decorated and the service throughout unobtrusive, friendly and very good.The inclusive dishes were good enough to stand up to the occasion and the Baked Chocolate Cheesecake was excellent (served warm with homemade Salted Peanut Ice Cream).
We never got to see the Orangery, which would be ideal for a Wedding, etc. and never got to walk through the immaculately manicured gardens, but overall this was a great hotel to celebrate our special weekend.
A little off the tourist trail, but close to Coventry, this hotel has an old-style charm that is sadly missing from some of the other mid-to-high price range chains.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NBN57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio C, General Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback, which I have shared with our team. We are thrilled to have made your anniversary a success, and looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while on business . Firstly rooms were in an annex which I was not told about at time of booking and if raining you will get soaked going from hotel to room. Rooms the self were quite good. Dinner menu was very limited and very expensive for what was on offer. At breakfast it took us 35 minutes to het seved. The bar prices were extortionate an £8 bottle of win was £36. This was a very disappointing McDonald hotel and definitely not up to their usual standard.




hotel especially as I have one locally which

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john3420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio C, General Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback, clearly we were not performing to our usual standards that morning, and for that I sincerely apologise. I have reviewed your feedback in details with our restaurant manager, and he will be undertaking some refresh training, to ensure no repetition of the issue. Our pricing is in line with hotels in this area of the same four-star standards and we feel that we offer good value. However, in your case it appears we failed to meet expectations, and for that I am truly sorry. I do hope that this will not deter you using Ansty Hall in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed here whilst on business last week and i have to say for around the same money as the holiday inn and hilton locally there is just no comparison. This hotel is very nicely appointed from reception, bar, restaurant all very nice and typically english country house in style. The rooms are large and very well appointed and the WIFI is also excellent signal no drop off in any of the rooms i have stayed in. Bed very comfy, shower very powerful, loads of secure car parking, off the main road set back. Breakfast is amazing the produce is exceptional, the black pudding the best i have ever had, proper sausage and bacon, free range eggs awesome breakfast. The restaurant again impeccable sandard with exceptional produce mains range from around £12 to £20 for a steak which by the way are incredible. Staff all appear to be excellent very attentive and helpful in all cases. Fabulous hotel if you need somewhere in or around Coventry, i will be stopping again.
It would have been 5 stars if it had a small fitness suite just to burn off those extra calories from the superb food, i guess you cant have everything?.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the Stanford Wing to be in the newer part of the hotel complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theelk45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

the room was superb the staff were excellent its hard to find a minus the breakfast was excellent and evening meal was better the restaurant staff were all very good and the restaurant manager was on another level well done all can`t wait to return for the food

Room Tip: on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirminghamJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We got an offer on this hotel from Secret Escapes and very much enjoyed the cream tea that came free with it! There is no gym, spa or swimming pool so if you are not there for a wedding you need to make your own entertainment. I also asked whether there was any sports TV but was told no! However the grounds are lovely, if you have good weather.
The service was pretty good except for the first days breakfast, where nobody found you a table and we had to send the coffee back because it was so weak, fourth place setting was incomplete and no butter provided.

We ate in their restaurant the first night but found it very expensive for what you got and the bar drinks were very expensive too!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We booked the nearby Coombe Abbey for a medival banquet and wanted to stay close by.

At Ansty Hall we had a great room with a nice view out to the front, the room was clean and very spacious and the staff was very welcoming. We had a great breakfast and also one dinner at Ansty Hall. Definitely delivered on our expectaions and we returned to London rested and refreshed.

Thanks

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lineeee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
2.5 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,917 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
2,227 reviews
18.0 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,209 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Ansty Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Ansty Hall

Property: Macdonald Ansty Hall
Address: Main Road, Coventry CV7 9HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coventry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#5 Family Hotel in Coventry
#6 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Ansty Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Ansty Hall is a grade II listed Georgian mansion dating back to 1678 and set in 8 acres of grounds in the rolling Warwickshire countryside. 62 bedrooms, restaurant, meetings and conferences for up to 140 delegates, corporate activities, weddings, family events, banquets, festive events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Ansty Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Ansty Hall Coventry
Macdonald Ansty Hall Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing