We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
southport
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights as part of a work conference.
The staff are incredible - from reception/ bar/ conference room /restaurant nothing was too much trouble all requests met with a smile and a desire to assist- a credit to the industry.

Restaurant Food of a high standard, my only comment would be that the drinks are expensive. Large Red Wine was £11.00.
Comfortable bed, perhaps the overall decor slightly dated - but in the whole scheme of things a good venue .

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank veeSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio C, General Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, and you found the staff to be excellent. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome back to Macdonald Ansty Hall in the near future, being for business or leisure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    380
    157
    59
    28
See reviews for
220
468
20
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

When you read such varying reviews of the same place I sometimes think I must be in some sort of parallel universe.
Our say was wonderful. The room was an executive double and spotless as was the bathroom. All lights and plumbing worked properly and the water was pipping hot. My only small criticism was the hand wash basin had a small crack in it so needs changing.
We had dinner on the night of arrival. I choose the salmon to start followed by braised ox cheek on horseradish mash potatoes with roasted root vegetables and creamed cabbage. I've never had the ox cheek before and it was delicious, just melted and so sweet and recommended. The pudding was a chocolate assembly that was too rich for me but my wife thought it lovely! She started with the serrano ham with rocket, continued with the cod loin and finished off with the ginger parfait (as well as some of my desert!). Wine was white and should have been served cooler so had too wait a while for the ice in the bucket to do its work. All said a rather superb meal.
Breakfast was a full english after fruits to start. The portion was not too large but that suited me as there was plenty of fresh toast. The meal is cooked fresh too so there is a little wait but worth it. I dislike the 'buffet style' meals where food has been languishing under heat lamps. Noted the plates were very hot to the touch. I tried the smoked haddock for the second day which I didn't enjoy as much but this is no criticism of the food.
Staff were always friendly and efficient and when we asked for places of interest in the vicinity reception printed off information for us. Preeti on the desk was particularly helpful and always had a smile for you.
I've stayed a few of the Macdonalds now, mostly in the north of England, and have enjoyed them all thus far. So I recommend you try it for yourself.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverdale15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio C, General Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your review. As you have experienced, we are very passionate and committed to delivering the highest standards of service, quality and customer care which is shown by the number of guests that are coming back for a return visit, time and time again. We are awaiting for the delivery of the sink unit to replace the cracked one. We look forward to extending you a warm welcome back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here on a recent business trip. All in all, a pleasant stay, good room size, staff friendly and helpful.
My room was in the Stopford Block, a separate annex to the main hotel, so I cannot comment on the quality of the rooms there, but if my room was anything to go by, they should be fine.
Enjoyable stay

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio C, General Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your review. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to offer you a warm welcome back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had a fantastic stay here, the staff are so friendly and made us feel special even with busy wedding both nights of our stay . The room was clean, tidy and quiet. The food was beautiful, the desserts a work of art! There is a nice walk that runs behind the church and back round through the village. A special weekend with great memories!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio C, General Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for your review. As you have experienced, we are very passionate and committed to delivering the highest standards, which is shown by the number of guests that are coming back for a return visit, time and time again. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to offer you a warm welcome back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gtr manchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We got a dinner bed and breakfast deal through secret escapes, after visiting this hotel quite a few years ago having had a great time we booked again, how disappointed were we! We upgraded to a feature room, the only feature was the shower, it was a trickle, table lamps didn't work, and the room was pretty much average. The fun began when we went down for dinner, the dining room was dingy and dirty, the wallpaper was hanging off the walls or covered in food, eventually we were seated to eat, and to cut a very long story short, we had approx 3/4 hour wait between courses, because the staff seemed very inept or lazy, the food was poor, except for dessert which was lovely. Breakfast was pretty much the same, people were being asked to wait at least 20 minutes for a table because the staff weren't clearing and resetting tables, most of the guests were pretty much fed up, on leaving there was a queue of visitors waiting to complain to the deputy manager, so wouldn't really recommend this place unless you have all the time in the world and no taste buds!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pabloGtrManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio C, General Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for your review. I was most concerned to read your comments, has you have previously experienced we are passionate and committed to delivering the highest standards of service, quality and customer care. Please accept my sincere apologise for any shortfalls experienced on this occassion. I have reviewed and will action your feedback. I would be more than happy to discuss your comments further and indeed extend you a warm welcome back to Macdonald Ansty Hall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
220 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Great location, beautiful church - nice staff - bar prices worst than London and Paris combined, bar sizes very poor, food was dire - boil in the bag - absolute rubbish will not eat here again and wont be recommending it ever. We asked for more bread rolls during dinner to be told, by a waiter, that they had none - never in all my numerous years have I heard this - absolute shocker - flabbergasted is not far from the truth - staff moaning about prices whilst also moaning about being on minimum wage - not a happy place - very very disappointed. What a shame cos it could be great

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stockyhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio C, General Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for your review. I was most concerned to read your comments, as the issues raised are certainly not in keeping with the quality of standards and especially of customer care normally associated with Macdonald Ansty hall. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfall experienced on this occasion. If you would like to contact me at the hotel directly, I would be more than happy to discuss, and investigate your comments further, and indeed I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for business the property and grounds are beautiful but the hotel lacked atmosphere, there was no background music in the reception or restaurant.
The dinner menu lacked choice I had a starter and side as my main a it was the only thing I liked and was then very dissapointing however breakfast made up for dinner, freshly and perfectly cooled, lots of choice great end to my stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauratruswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio C, General Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for your review. Your comments are valuble to us as it is only with guests feedback we can improve our standards and offers. I have requested that my Head Chef, review and implement any changes required to the dinner menu. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to offer you a warm welcome back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
2.5 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,710 reviews
7.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
5.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel at Ricoh Arena - Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Ansty Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Ansty Hall

Property: Macdonald Ansty Hall
Address: Main Road, Coventry CV7 9HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coventry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#5 Family Hotel in Coventry
#6 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Ansty Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Ansty Hall is a grade II listed Georgian mansion dating back to 1678 and set in 8 acres of grounds in the rolling Warwickshire countryside. 62 bedrooms, restaurant, meetings and conferences for up to 140 delegates, corporate activities, weddings, family events, banquets, festive events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Ansty Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Ansty Hall Coventry
Macdonald Ansty Hall Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing